We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ridiculous” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Di-Ann

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Di-Ann to your Saves list
Hotel Di-Ann
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raadhuisstraat 27, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #268 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ridiculous”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Reception area smells of urine. Room was full of dust very small had to complain within five mins ,ten plus european children screaming and banging Next door This went on for 4 days Children stood in the corridors making us feel unwelcome .No cleaners just a man who knocks to see if u want your room cleaned. Asked for directions to ann franks house at reception got a one word answer "left" very helpful.the noise is insane into the night dont expect a comfortable stay. Heating did not work! Amsterdam is amazing dont stay here and let it ruin your experience seriously check it out fully before booking not for the faint hearted

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    115
    131
    73
    72
See reviews for
30
169
27
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Diann just for the weekend but it more than fitted our needs! Quiet rooms, ensuite bathroom and breakfast in the morning was all we needed. The added bonus was that our room had a balcony looking over a canal which was lovely. The stairs to get to the reception are quite steep as people have said but it became more of a joke than a hinderence and many a time we laughed walking up them! All in all a great place to stay and would definately book here again!

Room Tip: Close to the train station (10 min walk) and Dam square (5 min)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duisburg, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

+ very Close to damrak and centraal
+ nice and helpful staff (from Egypt) ;-)
+ not loud although located at a main street
+ breakfast is also ok
+ very funny stairway up to reception :-)
+ even good for singles


  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with ehotel.de

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

It was my 21st birthday on 2nd December and my mum and dad kindly paid for me and my boyfriend (aged 23) to go Amsterdam for the weekend.

Staff:
We arrived at the hotel early in the morning as we had a very early morning flight, the young girl on reception was very helpful, telling us about the best clubs, cafe's, restraunts and other places to visit in Amsterdam. Another staff member (male) showed us to our room, he was also very pleasant and polite.

Room:
We had a balcony room which was amazing and we saw some beautiful sights!! I was surprised as we entered the room as I had read some awful reviews on here prior to our stay.

The room was basic, but had everything we needed. The room was very clean, very very warm (i was worried about it being cold as it was december and very cold out there) but it was actually very warm, cosy and comfterble. The bed was clean with clean sheets and was confterble. The maids changed the bedding everyday and freshened the room up whilst we was out, which we were fine with but you can request for them not to enter your room. The bathroom was good, had everything you needed like shampoo, conditioner flannels etc. There was not a Hair dryer in our room, however the reception happily provided us with one (plus adapters as we forgot them too).

Location:
The location was brilliant, we were close to everything and saved money on paying for taxi's traints etc. The locals are lovely and are very helpful.

Overall we had a good holiday and are already planning our second trip to the same hotel for March this year!

hope I have covered everything, sorry we took no pictures!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Location is great. Apart from that, the hotel is dirty (no housekeeping service at all) and the staff is quite impolite. There is a TV in the room which doesn't work, the restroom smells, breakfast is poor.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

the hotel was very close to dam square , the staff were lovely very helpfull and kind . the room was small, but clean , bed comfy .. we would stay again , we could look out of our balcony and see the royal palace ... breakfast very nice ,,,, just be prepared for the stairs not for the faint hearted lol . all in all we loved it

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We arrived at the hotel after a very early morning flight to find an argument in the main reception!!! A group of guests & the reception staff...about the state of their rooms & noise. We get told by the guests don't bother to stay there!!! I'm thinking where else do we stay as it's the MTV shows this weekend in Amsterdam literally every hotel we walked past on the way to the hotel was fully booked.
We came back later after we left our bags in the locker room & explored the city...we were offered 2 rooms as a couple didn't check in...we are thinking this must be because of the situation when we arrived! One room had a balcony which I liked but the noise was a little loud (trams & traffic) we also felt a very cold draft coming through the doors so that put my partner off. We opted for the smaller room & it was in the corner of the building over looking the canal. Rooms are cosy & basic but not worth what you pay for...the only reason we can think of this cost is for the location as 10mins walk from The Dam & 5mins (maybe not even that) walk to Anne Frank's house. Our sink was literally in the shower we could have showered & cleaned ourselves at the same time! My bedside light was hanging off the main headboard & there's no hearing in the rooms. There's a very steep stairs not suitable for young children/elderly people & we couldn't see a lift anywhere...don't carry heavy suitcases!
The breakfast was very basic yogurt, cereal & toast.
I hope to try another hotel if returning to the city, as we can get somewhere more central for the same cost & the quality of the rooms a bit more standard.
Ps. If you have a cat allergy then don't stay here as there's 2 resident cats on the main floor that like to wonder!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Di-Ann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Di-Ann

Address: Raadhuisstraat 27, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #268 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Di-Ann 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Di-Ann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Di Ann

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Di-Ann, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.