We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“di ann review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Di-Ann

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Di-Ann to your Saves list
Hotel Di-Ann
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raadhuisstraat 27, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #270 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
“di ann review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

the hotel was very close to dam square , the staff were lovely very helpfull and kind . the room was small, but clean , bed comfy .. we would stay again , we could look out of our balcony and see the royal palace ... breakfast very nice ,,,, just be prepared for the stairs not for the faint hearted lol . all in all we loved it

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    116
    139
    77
    74
See reviews for
30
177
30
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We arrived at the hotel after a very early morning flight to find an argument in the main reception!!! A group of guests & the reception staff...about the state of their rooms & noise. We get told by the guests don't bother to stay there!!! I'm thinking where else do we stay as it's the MTV shows this weekend in Amsterdam literally every hotel we walked past on the way to the hotel was fully booked.
We came back later after we left our bags in the locker room & explored the city...we were offered 2 rooms as a couple didn't check in...we are thinking this must be because of the situation when we arrived! One room had a balcony which I liked but the noise was a little loud (trams & traffic) we also felt a very cold draft coming through the doors so that put my partner off. We opted for the smaller room & it was in the corner of the building over looking the canal. Rooms are cosy & basic but not worth what you pay for...the only reason we can think of this cost is for the location as 10mins walk from The Dam & 5mins (maybe not even that) walk to Anne Frank's house. Our sink was literally in the shower we could have showered & cleaned ourselves at the same time! My bedside light was hanging off the main headboard & there's no hearing in the rooms. There's a very steep stairs not suitable for young children/elderly people & we couldn't see a lift anywhere...don't carry heavy suitcases!
The breakfast was very basic yogurt, cereal & toast.
I hope to try another hotel if returning to the city, as we can get somewhere more central for the same cost & the quality of the rooms a bit more standard.
Ps. If you have a cat allergy then don't stay here as there's 2 resident cats on the main floor that like to wonder!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Arrived to the hotel to find out they "hadn't" received our booking and because it was a busy weekend there were no rooms left. I was travelling with a group of friends and we had booked 2 rooms. 3 of the girls had their room sorted and was fine, but they said they didn’t have a room for the other 2 of us. The manager got involved, firstly ignoring us whilst we was trying to ask him normal questions such as: Do you not have any rooms left at all? After an hour waiting around, He then finally found a room which was funnily enough NEXT DOOR to my friends room. After giving us the room key, he snatched it out of my brothers hand, started swearing at us and walked away like a child! After a few moments he came back out and gave us the key to our room? After an awful start to the trip we got to our rooms to find no safe in the girls room, but a safe in our room which didn’t work. So we had nowhere to store or keep safe our personal belongings. The second day, one of the staff members walked straight into my friends room without even knocking and disturbed them. This is the morning when the girls are trying to get dressed!! So this random man who’s staff just walked into a room full of girls trying to get changed which i think is disgusting!!

The rooms are small, dirty walls and ceilings, needs a good refurb! Quite loud too, can hear people from above making noise walking around. Also very loud from the road.

Stairs are scarily narrow, not for older people or children.

Pictures of the hotel arent very accurate, as not all rooms have a balcony, not as big as they look etc.

Overall the service my friends and i received was shocking and i would NEVER stay here again.

Don’t recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel. Rooms were functional and not luxurious but acceptable. Space and room decoration was limited. The room balcony was excellent for viewing Amsterdam. The staff were friendly and helpful. Service was limited - I asked for an extra towel and a new light bulb in the room but after these were 'noted', nothing happened! But other services were good. (On this form I am only allowed choose between either 'average' or 'very good'. I would prefer to have the option of also writing 'fair' and/or 'good'.)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

on the second day of our stay, shortly before leaving for the rest of the day, we advised the cleaners that we did not need our room servicing that day. We left the hotel (which the cleaners saw us do) only to return very shortly afterwards to collect something we had forgotten. To our horror, the door was locked from the inside and we could not get in.

one of us left to go and see reception and i stayed by the door. Shortly after my friend had gone to reception the latch turned and the 'cleaners' appeared, somewhat surprised to see me shall we say. after a brief series of lies (they were in the bathroom and couldn't hear us trying to access the door) they made off to their quarters.

Needless to say, we raised it with the hotel manager. to be fair to him, he handled the situation very well. He wanted all the facts and told us to leave it with him. Later in the day we met with one of the cleaners and the manager himself. We were flabbergasted to hear one lie after another from the cleaner and a flat refusal that he had even been in our room. After the meet the hotel manager told us he would be firing the cleaners. However, the next day we saw one of them still working in the hotel.

i can commend the way the manager handled the situation and kept the conversation participants relatively calm when it could have easily been inflamed. however, by this point our stay was ruined and we felt unsafe in the hotel. we were offered nothing by way of compensation. we have stayed in this hotel before for its excellent location, however we WILL NOT stay there again.

i am not naive enough to know these things dont go on in hotels worldwide, but catching someone red-handed who then denies everything beggars belief. we cannot recommend this place after our experience.

Room Tip: choose one off the main road, it gets very noisy early in the morning, and stays so until late at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

On entering our room we saw that it was already occupied... Went back to the desk and were upgraded to a nicer room!
Great location which sort of justifies the price, but be prepared for extra taxes and fees if booking through here!
Be prepared for the dodgy staircase!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We only wanted a place to crash in the evenings as were out all day. It suited our needs. One of the cheaper places around with a private bathroom a stones throw from Dam Sq.

My only issue was I was lead to believe every room was smoking unless a non smoking room is requested but as it turned out; all the rooms were non smoking & they have a hefty fine for disobeying.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Di-Ann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Di-Ann

Address: Raadhuisstraat 27, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #270 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Di-Ann 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Di-Ann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Di Ann

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Di-Ann, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.