We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A central location in Amsterdam” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Di-Ann

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Di-Ann to your Saves list
Hotel Di-Ann
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raadhuisstraat 27, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #281 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
“A central location in Amsterdam”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel. Rooms were functional and not luxurious but acceptable. Space and room decoration was limited. The room balcony was excellent for viewing Amsterdam. The staff were friendly and helpful. Service was limited - I asked for an extra towel and a new light bulb in the room but after these were 'noted', nothing happened! But other services were good. (On this form I am only allowed choose between either 'average' or 'very good'. I would prefer to have the option of also writing 'fair' and/or 'good'.)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    129
    162
    89
    86
See reviews for
35
205
33
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

on the second day of our stay, shortly before leaving for the rest of the day, we advised the cleaners that we did not need our room servicing that day. We left the hotel (which the cleaners saw us do) only to return very shortly afterwards to collect something we had forgotten. To our horror, the door was locked from the inside and we could not get in.

one of us left to go and see reception and i stayed by the door. Shortly after my friend had gone to reception the latch turned and the 'cleaners' appeared, somewhat surprised to see me shall we say. after a brief series of lies (they were in the bathroom and couldn't hear us trying to access the door) they made off to their quarters.

Needless to say, we raised it with the hotel manager. to be fair to him, he handled the situation very well. He wanted all the facts and told us to leave it with him. Later in the day we met with one of the cleaners and the manager himself. We were flabbergasted to hear one lie after another from the cleaner and a flat refusal that he had even been in our room. After the meet the hotel manager told us he would be firing the cleaners. However, the next day we saw one of them still working in the hotel.

i can commend the way the manager handled the situation and kept the conversation participants relatively calm when it could have easily been inflamed. however, by this point our stay was ruined and we felt unsafe in the hotel. we were offered nothing by way of compensation. we have stayed in this hotel before for its excellent location, however we WILL NOT stay there again.

i am not naive enough to know these things dont go on in hotels worldwide, but catching someone red-handed who then denies everything beggars belief. we cannot recommend this place after our experience.

Room Tip: choose one off the main road, it gets very noisy early in the morning, and stays so until late at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

On entering our room we saw that it was already occupied... Went back to the desk and were upgraded to a nicer room!
Great location which sort of justifies the price, but be prepared for extra taxes and fees if booking through here!
Be prepared for the dodgy staircase!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We only wanted a place to crash in the evenings as were out all day. It suited our needs. One of the cheaper places around with a private bathroom a stones throw from Dam Sq.

My only issue was I was lead to believe every room was smoking unless a non smoking room is requested but as it turned out; all the rooms were non smoking & they have a hefty fine for disobeying.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Get ready for a surprise... good location... no bar in hotel.... beakfast weak... beds rock. No room sevice. Language is difficult.

Stairs are an adventure.

Showers do have hot water.
Location is good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

A great location. Went away feeling a lot fitter after the stairs haha, but was all good. Friendly staff. Ok basic breakfast. I would recommend you ask for a room with a balcony, as mine hadn't and was sadly lacking.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

After reading all the mixed reviews my husband and i were nervous about what we might find. We were pleasantly surprised. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Yes the stairs are steep and it was extemely challenging to climb them with luggage but it is amsterdam and most buildings are like this. The room was small but cozy the bed was very comfortable and the room was clean and they cleaned everyday. It is perfectly close to everything. My husband and i walked everywhere with ease. We had a room with a window facing the canal so that was beautiful to see every morning and night. We would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#95 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,298 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#282 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 325 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#250 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#31 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 470 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#275 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 497 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#104 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Di-Ann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Di-Ann

Address: Raadhuisstraat 27, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #281 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Di-Ann 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Di-Ann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Di Ann

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Di-Ann, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.