We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Di-Ann Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Di-Ann

Save Saved
You added Hotel Di-Ann to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Di-Ann
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raadhuisstraat 27, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #263 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
“Di-Ann Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Really friendly and helpful staff. Cosy rooms. Wonderful breakfast and breakfast area. The trams at night are quiet noisy but if you close your door it significantly reduces the noise. The Hotel is nicely situated in that you aren't in the centre of the town. Its about a 7 min walk to the city centre. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    113
    127
    69
    68
See reviews for
28
160
27
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

After arriving at Amsterdam Schiphol I used the Hotels.com app and booked this hotel for two nights last minute. The main reason for choosing this hotel is it has a great location (close to Centraal Railway Station). Other than that this hotel offers very little. The staff was not very friendly or helpful. The room was very tight and compact. The bed was very small and uncomfortable. The main thing to note is there is no elevator in this hotel, normally this wouldn't be too big of a deal but the stairs are very small and very narrow. I travel with only a gatecheck bag and it was difficult getting it up those stairs, beware!! Bottom line- this is an average hotel in a good location. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the lower floors because the stairs are quite treacherous!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I spent 4 nights (May 13-May 17, 2013) in a single room at Hotel DiAnn, on Radhuisstraat.
The hotel occupies the first and second floor of an old, traditional building, 3 min away from Dam Square. Its location was the main factor in choosing it, and since I booked very early I got a premium rate for my single – 55 euro/night, which is not much for Amsterdam.
Since the building is traditional, it does not have an elevator and the stairs are so narrow that my (very large) suitcase was difficult to move; the good thing is that the personnel did help with it up and down on the stairs, since my room was at the second floor. The room was quite tiny (a real single) but enough for my needs. It had a refrigerator, safe deposit box and an inside bathroom with all the usual amenities. Breakfast was typical continental, nothing special. But the breakfast room had a very nice terrace, with splendid views, including to some details of the roof of the building that are difficult to see from downstairs (look at the enigmatic chimaeras) – a terrace that I used for smoking, so I really appreciated it.
Personnel vas very nice and helpful. But the main reason to recommend this hotel is the location; very easy to reach everything in Amsterdam. When returning to Amsterdam I will for sure look if there are still rooms available at DiAnn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We had a wonderful balcony room with great views: To our right was a canal and, beyond it, the Royal Palace; to our left was the beautiful and historic Westerkerk. As others have noted, the location of the Hotel Di-Ann is ideal, especially for exploring the part of Amsterdam that includes Dam Square and the Anne Frank House. The room was on the small side, but the bed was quite comfortable, and the Di-Ann was a great p[lace to retreat to at the end of a long day of sightseeing. The staff was wonderful, and the breakfast room and its offerings were great. The famous stairs -- from the street to the reception lobby -- were daunting, but after the initial shock of carrying heavy luggage up those stairs (we had three weeks' worth of cruise luggage!), the stairs become part of the hotel's charm. If you're traveling light, the stairs will be even more charming! At the end of our visit, we checked out to do some last-minute sightseeing, and the staff arranged for our luggage to be left in the ground floor gift shop associated with the hotel. Overall, we had a wonderful time.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Di Ann is set in a great spot, extremely close to Dam Square right in the centre of the city. As students travelling i found it was perfect for going out and exploring the city and partying.

The rooms however are very very old and while they were kept relatively clean i think the prices are quite expensive. The stairs were pretty serious to get up with bags and id def not recommend if you are elderly or not as able. The staff were friendly and professional and were happy to give us advice on the city and add to our to do list.

Amsterdam is an absolutely stunning city, def vying for one of the most beautiful in europe. Highly recommended to visit, and the canal boats are great fun along with the bar district! Lots to do and if the weather is hot and sunny you can walk all day through the city and wonder at the beauty of the canals and buildings.

Ann Frank;s house is worth a visit as is the Van Gogh museum. Plenty of great little ice cream shops and there is a wonderful indian restaurant a block away from the Di Ann.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Di-Ann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Di-Ann

Address: Raadhuisstraat 27, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #263 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Di-Ann 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel Di-Ann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Di Ann

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Di-Ann, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.