We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Rooms, Nice breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Di-Ann

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Di-Ann to your Saves list
Hotel Di-Ann
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raadhuisstraat 27, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #270 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean Rooms, Nice breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is about a 2 minute walk to the Madame Tussads museum. Nice clean and cosy rooms, Clean bathroom. The rate was inclusive of breakfast. Wifi was provided. Stayed in a room with a balcony which provided a nice view of the place. The stairs were a bit steep though.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    125
    150
    83
    82
See reviews for
33
195
32
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Hotel was fine yep stairs are steep and rooms small but perfect for sleeping I got room with balcony which was very nice to sit out on, breakfast could have been bit more exciteing choice of toast or toast!!!! but would defo stay there again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Our room was a two person room, it was small but all you needed. However the bathroom had a strange stench that smelt of mould but went after we had showered and sprayed deoadrant. The hotel had a pet cat, so if you are not fond of cats i wouldnt stay here as it runs in your rooms and isnt afraid to brush itself on your leg. The hotel staff were okay- there was an Asian woman who was incredibly snotty but the blonde woman was fantastic happy bubbly and very helpful. There was no hairdryer in the room but if you ask at reception they give you one free to use. The location was fantastic walking distance from the Van Gough, the Hieneken museum, Redlight District, Hard Rock Cafe and there is a coffee shop opposite the hotel. The breakfast which is included isnt the best but its free it just had toast peanut butter cheese cereal and yogarts, the coffee they have is pretty good too.

Room Tip: if you pay the extra for a delux you get a balcany or a canal view, i had a balcany the view was fan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Rooms for two, people way too small,lived out of our cases.The picture on your profile did not represent the space we were given.The hotel otherwise was fine.
Yout receptionist,Linka I believe her name was,was exceptional,enthusiastic,efficient,and very helpful in everyway.We hope you appreciate her abilities.

John & Dolores Buckley.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

What's the word for this place… interesting maybe. Don't get me wrong it was a adequate place and had nice people working there. But those stairs Oy Vey! After a confusing walk in the rain from the train station with our suitcases we opened the hotel door to be met by the steepest stairs I have ever seen in my life! And they don't stop there, there is no elevator so it's all steep stairs all the way to your floor. The room was pretty small and felt a bit drafty but there was a heater. It seemed relatively clean. The bed had a pretty saggy mattress which was not the most comfortable. However all that aside there were many positives. The balcony in the room was nice, free wi-fi in the room, breakfast included (nothing fancy) and awesome location! Right amongst the historical buildings and canals, and a few minutes walk to Ann Frank's house and museum. And my favorite part, the CATS! If you are a cat lover you are in luck. After the long walk with my bags up the stairs I was met with an adorable kitty. I sat with her many times while I was staying there and she was the sweetest things ever! There is also a younger kitten running around the hotel. The sweet kitty alone made me love this place! They will store your luggage for 2 euro, well that's what they say, that's what other reviews said but they guy we left them with at the store downstairs told us 3 euro, whatever I guess. I would stay here again use to hang out with the kitties!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

nice hotel for the price and excellent location. close to all the coffee shops. room very small but your barely in it. nice staff and breakfast looked ok although I never ate it. u can smoke in rooms too which is a bonus even thow it says no smoking. I will be staying again on my next trip to Amsterdam

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We booked this hotel as it was the only one that was available on the weekend that we chose to go to Amsterdam. Apparently there was a conference on in the city that weekend and there were very few hotels available where the price was not extortionate. This hotel claims to be a two star and to be honest, it would be lucky to receive a one star if it was located in Ireland. See hotel Positives and Negatives below from our point-of-view:

Positives:
[1] good location, only minutes walk from Dam Square
[2] friendly and helpful staff
[3] relatively clean including bathroom

Negatives:
[1] no lift; access via very steep and narrow stairs - elderly visitors and pregnant women need to be made aware of this
[2] very noisy as the rooms are on the busy street side of the building - difficult to sleep at night
[3] no air conditioning (which is not normally a problem until you NEED the windows open
[4] rooms are very small
[5] beds are like children's beds with adult mattresses on them - very uncomfortable!!
[6] hot water is a joke - you need to be up very early to have a decent shower. You can't even have a lukewarm or cold shower because the water can just stop mid-shower!
[7] No mirror in the room for the ladies
[8] No hair drier in the room for the ladies - however one was available from reception once a deposit of €20 was made

Overall, one of the worst hotels we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Di-Ann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Di-Ann

Address: Raadhuisstraat 27, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #270 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Di-Ann 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Di-Ann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Di Ann

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Di-Ann, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.