We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location fantastic, otherwise pretty average and not cheap!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rusland 17, 1012 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #51 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersGold level
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Location fantastic, otherwise pretty average and not cheap!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

We stayed for two nights as an anniversary treat. The location is absolutely fantastic, really central and from here you can walk to most of the city centre attractions, some pretty canals, the university and coffeshops are a stones throw away - but it's on a relatively quiet side street so not too noisy. The noise we did hear seemed to be from guests running up and down the corridors above us, early in the morning!
We tried room service a couple of times, and one morning rang reception 5 times to get some milk for our tea, but in the end we just gave up. They seem to accommodate lots of coach trips and when everyone arrived/checked out at once it brought them to a standstill.
The room was OK - just OK. We'd gone for an executive standard room, i.e. one level above standard, and the bed was big but that was the only luxurious thing about it. it was pretty shabby, and rather dated... for the money, I would expect far better.
We didn't eat there as we preferred to go out and use a local cafe - and the room service breakfast (which consisted of a bowl of cereal, cup of tea/coffee and juice) was 25 euros!
I think they were charging a luxury price without providing luxury.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    748
    678
    191
    29
    14
See reviews for
209
715
98
267
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, England
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Really enjoyed a recent weekend stay at the Radisson Blu with a group of friends and would definitely like to return if we visited Amsterdam again.
The location of the hotel is great - away from the bustle, yet only a short walk away from everything. Our room was a de luxe on the 5th floor up in the roof and looked out on the street, but we found it very quiet. Our bed was lovely and comfortable and the outside shutters on the velux window in the roof kept out the light, making for a very good night's sleep. All was very clean.
The excellent buffet breakfast was available until at least 11 am and included a wide range of hot and cold food, specialities, breads and pastries and a continuous supply of tea, coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice. The breakfast staff were always very pleasant, extremely helpful and efficient, managing to keep the tables cleared even at the busiest times.
We enjoyed the bar too, which was lively, cosy and atmospheric and found the prices ok considering the hotel's class and location. The service and friendliness of bar staff was again excellent.
The hotel is a bit on the pricey side - but so is Amsterdam - and is rather dated in places, but is very clean and welcoming and a lovely place to come for a treat.
It was the service and the very personable and genuinely helpful staff who made this hotel special for us. Nothing was too much trouble and we really felt they 'went the extra mile' to make our stay pleasurable.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nh
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

This was in a perfect spot for a walking tour. Short taxi from the train station, and 5 min to Dam Square. Coffee shops nearby, but no worries or problems. Quiet nights, the elevator is in a separate room. Close to De Jaren Restaurant, with 2 decks on a nice canal, great food. Booked for free with points so price was not a factor.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

My wife and I just returned from a trip to Amsteram (business for me; leisure for her) where we spent four nights at the Radisson Blu Hotel on Rusland Street. The most outstanding feature about this hotel is its excellent location, nestled between canals and only a couple of blocks from the tram. It is also a short walk to the DAM square area and to many shopping and dining areas nearby. We found it to be superbly convenient.

Since I was on business, I had booked what the hotel calls an "executive" room. It was very nice in every respect, except one, it faced Rusland Street. We had expected the street to be fairly quiet, but it turned out to be quite noisy with trucks, cars and motor bikes coming by at all hours of the day and night. If I were to stay at the Radisson Blu again, I would request a room that does not face the street.

The hotel serves an excellent breakfast (which was included in the price of our room) and serves dinner in the restaurant in the evening. While we did not have dinner there, the menu looked good and there were many people dining each night we were there.

The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to any traveler to Amsterdam (subject to the caveat mentioned above).








S

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanedi, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

We were a bit reluctant to book this hotel after reading some of the reviews on tripadvisor about the tiredness of some of the rooms. In reality there was nothing to worry about! The hotel is a short 5 minute walk from Dam square so is very handy to several tourist and shopping spots around Amsterdam. Check-in was a pleasant experience and very quick. We were allocated a room on the 6th floor facing the hotel entrance. The room was very quiet and spacious - it had a safe, minibar, coffee/tea making facilities, iron, ironing board, marble bathroom with shower over the bath and a heated floor, separate desk area, free in-room wireless internet, good wardrobe space and probably the best pillows and most comfortable bed I've experienced at any hotel. Being on the top floor of the hotel, there were automatic black-out blinds on the skylights. The buffet breakfast was excellent - a great selection of cereals, yoghurts, pastries, breads, cheeses, cold meats, juices (including freshly squeezed orange juice station!), hot breakfast selection (bacon, eggs, sausages, mushrooms, toast, etc). There is a juice bar, coffee shop (the Amsterdam version), beautician, and small Art shop across the road; and a souvenir shop and a hairdresser next door. Our experience at this hotel would make it an easy choice for our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

The Radisson Blu in Amsterdam was the perfect place for our stay there. Just around the corner from coffee shops, great restaurants and within walking distance of great shopping. Canal tours left from a couple of blocks away. They have the most comfortable beds of any hotel I have ever stayed in. Airport transportation gets you there in 20 minutes.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London GB
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

Was on a business trip. I had to work in south east Amsterdam, some 10 metro stops away. The Radisson is very near a good metro station, making it brilliantly convenient. It's in the middle of Amsterdam, so excellent for evening walks and sightseeing. Staff are typical of Holland, friendly but a little curt. But that's a local thing. Room was a little tired in decor, but comfortable and cosy. Breakfast was good, though over-salted (a trend I've noticed in business hotels. No doubt it sells beer). I guess location is the best thing.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam

Address: Rusland 17, 1012 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#46 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Hotel Complex incorporating 17th & 18th-century merchant houses with newer buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Rezidor, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Radisson Amsterdam
Amsterdam Radisson
Radisson Sas Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.