We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rusland 17, 1012 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #57 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent location and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed in for 1 night in this hotel which was located in the city center where many attractions were less than than 5 minutes walk.The service was great and we were provided early check in as per our request and have been able to get our room keys in around 5 minutes. We were extremely amazed and impressed by this quick service. The only little disadvantage is that the room was a little small and there was no complimentary water.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    825
    746
    203
    38
    15
See reviews for
233
789
103
294
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This Radisson,like so many others did not disappoint. Staff were very friendly,polite and helpful. We had booked accomodation only,but for an extra 10 euros each per day, therefore 40 euros, we were upgraded to two deluxe rooms and had breakfast included too. Some might think this expensive, but considering you could eat as much as you wanted this ruled out the need for lunch! The breakfast was great, despite what some have said.....Dutch/continental for those who wanted it plus cereal,fruit,yogurts,bread,bacon,eggs etc.....enough choice for anyone! The rooms were spacious and clean. Such is the Dutch efficiency our rooms were sometimes cleaned by the time we got back from having breakfast.The hotel bar was lovely to have a pre-dinner drink in too. Location wise it was ideal. All in all a very good choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights visiting Amsterdam as a holidaymaker. Things did not start well, as there was a frond desk error when, by mistake, they gave our room keys to another couple (who, by the way, actually entered our room), the security manager resolved the mistake satisfactorily. Other than that their service was very good (even offered us an umbrella on a rainy night), clean hotel and has an excellent location. Rich breakfast offered. Rather expensive. Tax 5% is extra.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Very friendly helpful staff, delicious breakfast and dinner.

Room - we only booked a standard room, but very spacious and well appointed.

Location - central, but quiet.

Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Other tip - explore Amsterdam by bike - it's so cycle friendly. We hired out bikes from Mac Bikes - good value for money and sturdy machines. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I was in Amsterdam for a family reunion, altogether our group spent "16 room-nights" at the Radisson. The hotel is not cheap, but we managed to find a special offer to accommodate the whole family at the Radisson.

The location is very good, close to the Dam square and within reasonable walking distance to major museums. All public transport is 400-500 m away, however, so using a taxi is necessary if you can/will not walk.

The rooms were nice, not too small, well-equipped, beds very good, So all the basics of an excellent hotel were there. When hesitating about the rating, I weighed especially two areas:

The main problem was the breakfast space: it is absolutely too small for a hotel this size. In addition it is awkwardly arranged, with different levels and not very good logistics for the buffet. Sunday morning at nine was a chaos: people had to wait to get a table and the personnel barely coped with the clearing of tables and filling of plates. When the pressure grew untolerable, the lobby and bar were full of breakfast-eating guests.
Weekdays were easier, but the size and awkward shape of the room remained a problem. This prevented to me the rating as "excellent".

The stay was, however, made very enjoyable by the friendly and helpful staff. The lady at the front desk telephone was constantly busy, never hurried, always good-humoured and solved several little issues to us. Service at its best! Thus the rating will be "very good" but I would like to add a "plus".

Room Tip: The rooms towards the inner court do not have traffic noise but no view either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this property on a recent trip to Amsterdam. Going to an event at the RAI and having stayed at a RAI area hotel in the past decided for a more central hotel on this trip. Worked out well - only 15 minutes on the tram (€2.80 single) and much better value and location. Hotel is nicely furnished and very well presented. Ate in the bar - good food and very relaxing environment. Located a few minutes from Dam square, the location is very central. Only gripe was that the price on the Radisson web site was not the best on offer and I paid much less via a broker web site - unlike some chains the hotels own web site does not offer the best prices.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Overall not bad. Very much a business style hotel, good quality fixtures and breakfast was good. Rooms a little small and cramped. Location is very good and just a short stroll to almost everything. My room was a double but was only me staying and it was too cramped. Customer service good and the staff were overall pleasant. Nothing special though.

Room Tip: Try and specify a big room, otherwise you will be cramped!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam

Address: Rusland 17, 1012 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Hotel Complex incorporating 17th & 18th-century merchant houses with newer buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Radisson Amsterdam
Amsterdam Radisson
Radisson Sas Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.