We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Travelocity
and 14 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rusland 17, Amsterdam 1012 CK, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #47 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Expensive but nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Raddison Blu hotel in the centre of Amsterdam is not the cheapest hotel but if you are going to Amsterdam for a romantic or special occasion it's well worth the extra money. Within walking distance of the main railway station and the town centre tram line system it is an ideal base to explore from.
The room are comfortable and the service is excellent, breakfast covers all taste and is plentifull setting you up for the day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,419 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    650
    544
    179
    34
    12
See reviews for
149
570
80
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at the Radisson Blu for 5 days in September, 2013. The location is wonderful and our room was large and clean, although it wasn't fancy and could use a refresh. We had a junior suite which included breakfast and the mini-bar. Breakfast was lovely and included a buffet with a large selection of fresh fruits, vegetables, pastries, and juices. They also have oatmeal, omelets, eggs, sausages, and sliced meats. The staff was generally friendly, although the concierge service was poor and we had to really push for assistance on two occasions. The bed was very comfortable and the linens were nice. They offer free Wi-Fi which worked well.

Our room was on the second floor. It faced the street and there was some noise when revelers would go by, but it wasn’t too bad and we enjoyed the view of the street and the light. If you’re a light sleeper, you may want to request a room on an upper floor or a room that doesn’t face the street. With the exception of the concierge service, our stay was comfortable and the location can’t be beat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel has a great location, walking distance to many things. It's very clean, and the staff is helpful and polite. Our room was a nice size, but the bed was not comfortable at all. I requested a mattress topper, which made it a little better. There are no robes in the room, and the are pretty stingy with coffee, tea, even sugar, although they did leave extra when I managed to catch them and ask. You also only get one bar of soap, although a minor detail... You usually get one for the sink, and one for the shower. The breakfast is adequate, though expensive. Much cheaper to eat outside of the hotel. The bathroom is a nice size, and updated with granite, etc. The blow dryer looked like it was 50 years old, and would take me about an hour to dry my hair, had I used it. A plug is provided for you to bring your own, and I suggest you do.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is one of the best spots to be in town for the RLD, splat in the middle of it but in a quiet little side road, what you'd expect from the Radisson chain and my usual port of call when in Dam. The rooms are smallish but then it's city centre hotel so normal, walking distance from everywhere and anywhere .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlestown
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We were very happy with our stay. Easy check in. Centrally located. Staff very accommodating. Rooms were amazing. Very spacious and comfortable beds. Breakfast buffet very nice. In a safe area and not too close to Red Light District. We were able to walk everywhere from here. We would definately stay here again if we came back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Check in was exceptional, and apart from one gruff concierge every member of the team were exceptional and had a great sense of humour. The room was divine with comfortable beds and a beautiful chair! The restaurant catered extremely well for my gluten and dairy intolerances and the food was very nice. The foyer with its glass roof joining two older buildings was unique and created a light filled lovely space to sit.
This hotel has an excellent location, so close to beautiful restaurants and coffee shops, and very close to tram connections which enabled us to explore. highly recommended!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

When I made the booking at a "Raddison Blu", I expected top-notch service and an exceptional experience.
To my surprise, I didn't find this hotel up to my standards of a 5-star worldwide chain.
For the first time in my life and after touring 15 countries, I had to take my luggage to my room without any offer of help. The rooms are small, and there were no complimentary water bottles!

When I needed a phone charger in my room for 30 minutes only as I was packing my bag, they refused to bring me one to the room even though I expressed the lack of time to go downstairs and leave my phone. They do not go out of their way to fulfill their customers' requests and that's a big turn-off for a frequent traveler like myself.

Breakfast is priced at 35 euros, which is insanely expensive for the limited options they have. You can go to the nearest "regular" cafe and get a pastry and coffee for 5 euros and you're all set for the day.

Other than location, this hotel is not worth my money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam

Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel Amsterdam
Radisson Amsterdam
Amsterdam Radisson
Radisson Sas Amsterdam
Address: Rusland 17, Amsterdam 1012 CK, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Hotel Complex incorporating 17th & 18th-century merchant houses with newer buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Rezidor, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelsClick, Otel and Venere so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.