We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, amazing staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rusland 17, Amsterdam 1012 CK, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #51 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great location, amazing staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed for 3 or 4 nights here. It's a fine hotel and Amsterdam is small enough that it was walking distance to so much. Rooms were clean and nice. I personally found the bed terribly hard but others in our party were fine with it.
What sets the Raddisson apart is how helpful the staff is. We were three generations and all of us were treated with such warmth. At one point, my mother, daughter and I were looking for an early lunch and the restaurant seemed to be only open to a conference. A manager immediately spotted us looking around and offered to serve us a light menu in the bar- which wasn't even open. They regularly prepared something for my 2 year old that was off-menu. There were several days we ended up in the bar earlier than it's posted hours because someone was willing to happily serve us a drink. We felt like anything we would have asked for, we would have received but to not even have to ask for such accommodating service was a treat. Would happily return and recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,526 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    689
    599
    191
    35
    12
See reviews for
167
618
83
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Walpole, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Had 2 very nice nights at this hotel. The inside rooms remind me of a cruise ship - not in size! But in the way that the window view looks onto the interior atrium in the center of the hotel - with nice light from the ceiling of the atrium when your curtains are open. We were on the 6th floor, I believe. Nice room and bathroom - very clean. Staff was very helpful and professional. Good breakfast - with delicious fresh squeezed juices. Good location - walking distance from gorgeous canals, Red Light District, The Jordaan, Anne Frank House, many good restaurants, etc. Their bar was a nice place for an end-of-the-night drink before turning in for the night. Delicious Crème Brulee served here as well!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed 2 nights before our river cruise. Picked this hotel because my aunt had points and we got 1 free night. Great location and quiet, we were on the 5th floor of the main building. Within walking distance to many areas of Amsterdam. The only complaint I have is that I did not book a room that included breakfast and when we went to check in at 1Pm were informed that a room was ready in the annex bldg. across the street (which meant that we would have to walk thru a tunnel to get there) however if we wanted a room in the main bldg. they only had a room available that included breakfast at 20 euro each per day (total of 80 euro) otherwise we would have to wait until 3pm check-in before a room would be ready in the main bldg. My aunt and I are both over 70 and were very tired and did not feel like walking thru a tunnel and did not want to wait 2 hours before we could check in. In all fairness the breakfast served at the hotel was excellent and the variety was amazing. We were in a standard twin bed room so I did not understand why it would be ready if we opted for breakfast and not be ready if we did not opt for breakfast. This is a lovely hotel and we would stay there again and recommend it however, be aware about the breakfast option.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

What a lovely 3 days we had at the Radisson Blu in Amsterdam. From the very friendly, helpful, professional receptionist on our arrival,,the lovely room, we just had a standard room which was called Deluxe on the 3rd floor, it was spacious, clean, and comfortable, the bathroom was great, facilities were excellent, wine glasses, cups, kettle. Fridge, iron and ironing board.

Excellent location within walking distance to so many places and what a choice of restaurants and cafes around including Chinatown. We did not eat at the Hotel so cannot comment in the food but always appeared busy when we returned in the evenings.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and would love to return if ever in Amsterdam again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodmere, New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The rooms was large for European standards, clean and modern. The staff was great. We arrived early before 9:00AM after a cruise and they even had rooms ready for us at that time. The hotel is in the "real" Amsterdam. It was in a quiet area, surrounded by canals. Yet it was also close to everything. Walk just a few blocks and you are in the red light district. HInt, is if you are taking the tram call for directions. The website for the hotel indicates that it is near the Spui stop. But different trams go to different Spui stops and the first time we took the tram, we were further away than we should have been. The hotel is also a little difficult finding. Fortunately, someone actually walked with us to show where the hotel was or we would have had difficulty finding it. But do not let this deter you from staying here as it is an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed 1 night after our River Cruise. Great location, short walk to all major attractions and restaurant. Checked in was prompt amd we got an upgrade. Room was a bit odd as the bathroom is 3 steps down from the bed. Room was quite big with excellent wifi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed for a long weekend in March. Booked last minute online via Booking.com and got a very good price which got better with a 50 Euro upgrade on arrival to a business class room.

Hotel is odd shape with rooms on both sides of the street accessed via an underground walkway, but the rooms were very good. They were also having major Internet problems when we arrived which delayed check in and ultimately check out but the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful throughout our stay and this mitigated these issues.

Breakfast was excellent and really good value. Business facility open to all which allowed us to book and print tickets for attractions such as Anne Franks House etc

Concierge was also excellent as getting us dinner reservations at restaurants we had picked out from GuidePal.

We would happily stay there again

Room Tip: We had not booked breakfast online in advance - it would have been 50 Euros - but the business upgra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam

Address: Rusland 17, Amsterdam 1012 CK, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#44 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Hotel Complex incorporating 17th & 18th-century merchant houses with newer buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Rezidor, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Radisson Amsterdam
Amsterdam Radisson
Radisson Sas Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.