We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“July Trip to Europe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rusland 17, 1012 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
GET AN AMAZING 30% OFF
Ranked #50 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersGold level
Nanoose Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“July Trip to Europe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I found the staff to be very informative and knowledgable about the Amsterdam area. The restaurant was very nice and the Buffet in the morning was well equipped. With your choices of pretty much everything under the sun. If they didn't have it there they the staff would make every effort to get it. The Hotel is situated just off the downtown area which is quieter, but still within walking distance to the Anne Frank house, Van Gogh museum, Red light district, and diamond houses. I highly recommend this hideaway Hotel.

Room Tip: I found the higher rooms to be more elegant
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim L, PA to the General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We are very happy that you’ve found the staff informative and helpful. We encourage our staff to go for the extra miles to help our guests with anything they need. Thank you very much for you recommendation and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    732
    671
    186
    29
    14
See reviews for
208
706
96
259
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The Radisson is in a good location for most tourist activities but is also in a pleasant and quiet area.
When we booked in an Italian couple was before me and paid 150 euros without breakfast. This is far too much for this hotel.

It's a typical room factory, one step up from a Premier Inn.

First the good points;
Clean, good plumbing, quiet, good a/c, excellent pillow menu.

Bad points;
Small room, small bathroom (but adequate).

At the price I paid I would definitely stay again, but I think Amsterdam isn't a cheap city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Me and my partner checked into the Radisson for a weekend in July 2013. I rang in advance to check that we had been allocated a double room after reading some of the reviews on here and we hadn't. Sorted very quickly however and was assured we'd be in a double. Enquired about a room upgrade (I was tempted by the Nespresso machine) but decided EUR40/night wasn't worth it.

On checking in however, we'd got a free upgrade so very pleased about that. Room was pretty spacious, with a good bed (turned out to be two large singles joined together - so not perfect but perfectly comfortable), nespresso machine (woohoo) and decent sized bathroom.

Slightly odd that the hotel was a bit tight on pillows and towels, whilst we could have (and did) request more, I thought spares might be hiding in the wardrobe somewhere but they were not to be found.

The hotel itself is perfectly situated for exploring the Centrum district, red light district, gay areas, canals, and is only 15 minutes perhaps walk from the train station. In a converted canalside building, some of it looks a little dated (the public areas) and our room (and half of the rest of them I think) faced into the lobby, which was rather like a large greenhouse.

Room service was excellent - swift, reasonably priced, and very fresh - even the chips were crisp, which is unusual I find!

Overall very happy with our stay, would definitely choose the Radisson again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim L, PA to the General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your free room upgrade and the Nespresso machine that comes with it. Did you know we have a pillow menu where you can choose the firmness or softness of your pillow? Just use the one touch service and we are always happy to bring you more towels or pillows.We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Radisson Blu on Russtraat in central Amsterdam will satisfy the business and pleasure traveler.

Anything in the central core will be close to Damplatz, which is then close to trams and bicycle rental. The latter is important to commuting in Amsterdam - each person has a bicycle

The Blu has an excellent breakfast buffet and a pleasant bar for the evening

The suites are very reasonable for longer stays, and laundry service is available

Room Tip: invest in a junior suite for a longer stay - it rains in Amsterdam, so you need a plan B for those d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanau, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Located directly in the heart of Amsterdam, this was a very nice hotel to visit. The rooms were relatively big and very clean as well as modern.

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. However, when it came to parking it was really quite expensive and they did not tell us about the parkhouses outside of the city. Which were a much cheaper option. However, after seeing how hectic it was on a Saturday night, we decided to stay with the more expensive option and use the hotel parking service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed for 1 night. Location is excellent and close to most good places in the city. Also its at a walking distance from the Central Station.
Rooms are good but nothing special. Staff is also friendly.
Surrounding areas are not noisy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The Good:
The hotel is in close proximity to the Red Light District, Dam Square, and Central Station, which are great points for getting to other (much nicer) areas of the city. It's very clean, the rooms are spacious, and the staff is friendly and helpful without being imposing.

The Not-So-Good:
I have never, in all my travels, been to a hotel that does not have a full length mirror or a clock in the room. It seems strange to me that someone would put time and effort into decorating a room, and then miss out on these details. Perhaps if I had paid $200 a night I wouldn't have been so frustrated; but after paying an average of $300 a night I would expect more than to have to have my husband take pictures of me so that I could see my outfit, or turn on the television to check the time is. Ultimately, I felt ripped off for the average room at the above average price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam

Address: Rusland 17, 1012 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#45 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Hotel Complex incorporating 17th & 18th-century merchant houses with newer buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Radisson Amsterdam
Amsterdam Radisson
Radisson Sas Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.