We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ideal hotel for a City Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rusland 17, 1012 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #52 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersGold level
Glasgow, Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“An ideal hotel for a City Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in April 2013 for an Amsterdam City Break. We had a Business Class room on the 4th floor which looked great and was extremely comfortable. We didn't have a view but that wasn't something we had prioritised. Room 467 was very quiet; we didnt even hear another guest during our stay, ensuring a good night's sleep for us both. My husband had contacted the hotel in advance to tell them it was my birthday during our stay and I received a small bag of chocolates when we checked in which was unexpected and a nice touch.
We arrived at the hotel an hour and a half before check in - Aprila on Reception couldn't have been more helpful. Although our room wasn't ready she offered us 2 others should we wish to check in there and then - I am 5months pregnant and had travelled by boat from Newcastle so was quite tired. We decided to wait for the room we'd been originally allocated and Aprila was kind enough to suggest some nearby restaurants for lunch. The room was ready as promised on our return. Not every member of staff was as friendly or helpful as Aprila but on the whole our experience was very positive. The location was great; we walked everywhere we wished to visit and quite a scenic part of Amsterdam. This hotel was everything we were looking for during our trip and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Business Class Room 467 - a quiet room, very comfortable with good facilities. It's in the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    678
    191
    29
    14
See reviews for
210
716
98
267
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Radisson Blu is close to the central core of Amsterdam, not far from the chic Jordaan district, and a 20 minute walk from the Rijksmuseum. The rooms - in our section - were small, but very modern and well designed. There is another Radisson Blu building facing a canal which likely has a different level of accommodation. The staff are very competent (went out of their way to get us a Nespresso machine) but not friendly in the North American sense. Breakfast is good in a noisy restaurant room. In general, the hotel is just shy of excellent - an elegant marble bathroom, for instance, will have a junky bathroom scale; the complex shower is excellent, but the bath towels are scratchy. A little more attention to detail and they'd rate an extra star ... but then the rates would go up.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Around the world
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I'll be BLUNT, it's a nice JOINT!
Wife and I stayed in a business suite and had a good time. The room is very nice, modern, and comfortable. The restaurant and bar are on point and serve very good food/drinks. The main downside was that to get to the rooms you had to go down a level, cross an underground lobby to the next building and then go up... that killed it but otherwise nice!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

It is a lovely hotel, well situated for walking everywhere in Amsterdam. Had a wonderful room (business class). But I had emailed for a room with a view, flowers in the room and an early check-in. Never heard back and did NOT receive any of my requests!! Sad that the management did nothing to remedy this....not even the flowers the next day (for which I had expected to pay).
The room was lovely, but the overhead shower lights would go off unexpectedly. It made showering in the darkened room unappealing. The restaurant was great and the food delicious.
The wait staff were very pleasant and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim L, E-commerce & Media Coordinator at Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
<!-- mp_trans_disable_start -->Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We take pride in our “Yes I Can!” culture and do apologize that you did not receive this level of service. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments, so we can continually improve our services. We are very sorry you didn't received any of your request. To discuss your concern further, please contact the front office manager via email: guest.amsterdam@radissonblu.com We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations. <!-- mp_trans_disable_end -->
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SG
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Reached hotel in morning and surprised manager allow me to check in to my superior room with free espresso machine! Additionally the friendly staff guided me directions and where to take trams! Room was superb, high class and beautiful with nice view! Free wifi and the buffet breakfast was really excellent spread and yummy!!

Travelling from amsterdam centraal took around 10 minutes via walking. Walk towards dam and it's diagonally opp and go towards Grand Canal building with 3 flags - Radisson blu hotel is just behind it.

Visited windmill, van gohn museum, flea market, local supermarkets, etc. Love tram alot!! Took it to travel around!

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The Radisson Blue near Nieuwmarket and Town quare is a beautifully charming Hotel with knowledgeable staff who are quite welcoming and helpful. Comfortable rooms overlooking one of the many Canals, the hotel is walking distance to the Hermitage Museum, Town Square, Nieuwmarket Metro and even reasonably walkable to Centraal Train Station. As reviewer Jean writes, the online pictures are not the building you will stay in, unless you pay a serious upgrade fee. Lobby can be updated, but remember, that's not where you sleep! On a down note, Breakfast add on was an absurd 22 Euro. 44 Euro a couple, almost 50% of what we paid for the room. C'mon!!! Get a bite at the patisseries just around the corner.

We grabbed bikes and went everywhere with ease. Enjoy style away from the main hotel areas, making this a romantic setting. Book on line at Trip Advisor or Booking.com to save some Euros. Hotel site a bit pricey. Njoy the Blu, we did

Room Tip: Upper levels good, be sure to ask for a double bed, not two singles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Radisson Blu Amsterdam is located right in the city center less than 10mn walk from Nieuwmarkt tube station. Rusland street is very quiet as well as kloveniers burgwal.
On the pictures of Tripadvisor, the hotel look very nice but in reality it is very disappointed for a 4 stars. To enter the big old building (entrance at 25th Rusland), you need to get in the 17th Rusland. By the time you enter the hotel (modern buiding), the big hall looks very sterile, like a Novotel...
I had booked a business room which is located in the big building. To get in the building you need to go at -1 floor, cross a very sad long room (which is also a boarding room sometimes), at take the elevetor to reach the levels of the old building.
I tought inside was typical but all corridors are very modern as well as the rooms (floor 4, view on the street). Everything is very clean but no charm at all.
The business room is fine, beds are comfortable (SIMMONS mattresses !!). High roof, good feeling of space inside.
Nobody is carrying the luggage from the reception to the room !!
At the reception, they tell you that NESPRESSO is free in the room but only three capsules are available for the all day (3 capsules for a couple??)
Bathroom is clean also but few products available. Only one soap for all the stay. Only one bathrobe and one pair of slipers when we enter the room.
Toilets are in the bathroom but if you are a bit "large", the space between toilet seat and the walls is very small.
Plastic flowers in the rooms, what a shame for the Netherlands !
On Radisson BLu webside they say that th edaily newspaper is every day in the room but I did not see it...
No room service late in the afternoon, which means that if you drink a coffee after lunch in the bedroom, you do not have any more capsules for the rest of the day and the cups remain dirty until the day after.
Breakfast is ok but not exceptional at all... The room for breakfast is a bit small, and the second level at the back, without any widows looks like a school canteen.
I paid 610 euros for two nights but the hotel do not deserve this high price at all, neither its 33th rank on tripadvisor.
Still employees in Radisson Blu are very nice.
I will not be back in this hotel for sure.

Room Tip: Hotel has 252 rooms and many rooms have windows with view on the inside hall !! ask for rooms on st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam

Address: Rusland 17, 1012 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#45 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Hotel Complex incorporating 17th & 18th-century merchant houses with newer buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Rezidor, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Radisson Amsterdam
Amsterdam Radisson
Radisson Sas Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.