We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rusland 17, 1012 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #53 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Great central location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

In an excellent location for central Amsterdam's myriad attractions, this hotel spans two streets and seems to be patched together from several buildings, which makes things interesting if you forget which part you're sleeping in and have to go to the basement and start again! Pleasant, well equipped hotel with decent food, friendly staff and excellent coffee. Very good business location with extensive conference facilities and impeccable service. My room was not particularly large but it was very quiet and the bed was wonderfully comfortable. Not an elegant or romantic hotel choice, but an excellent option for meetings and sightseeing. And the bar area had a nice pubby atmosphere.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    908
    819
    228
    40
    15
See reviews for
259
879
117
313
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Good location (easy to walk to/from Centraal, and quiet) and very nice room (interesting architecture and a skylight). We were upgraded to a business class room, which had complementary Nespresso espresso. Hotel bar drink prices were quite reasonable. All the staff members were helpful and nice. Stayed at the Pulitzer last time, and thought this was conparable in quality. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

After facing an eleven hour flight, it was delightful to see how efficient the noise blocking windows were, providing a good night of sleep. Great rooms, good service and –once again- very quiet.
The Radisson Blu is located in Amsterdan’s heart. Which is within walking distance of the red light district, a lot of attractions and most of the coffee shops.
Definitely would stay there again on a future trip to Amsterdan.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband won a holiday to Amsterdam for 2 nights from Expedia and we chose this hotel to stay in after extensive research. What a choice! It is in such a great location! This is the second time we've been to Amsterdam and the first time we stayed near Leidesplein which is quite a distance from the rest of the central town and we needed to get the bus every time we went back to the hotel. With the Radisson Blu, we walked every where and every thing was 15 mins away max. The hotel is located in a the back streets where it is quiet but you're only 3-5 mins away from the red light district and chinatown. Don't like that put you off though as you're far away enough to not be effective by the sleazyness. We arrived on a Friday, late afternoon and we had pre-notified them that we were there for a special occassion. They upgraded us for free to a deluxe kingsize room and it was lush! Sure, there side panel decorations were scuffed as seen in the traveller photos but things like that happen and yes they should fix it but come on, that's so minor compared to rest of the room and hotel. Concierge were very helpful when we asked for directions or needed something sent up to the room. Everyone was smiling and greeted us in the morning with a "good morning". The Dutch are such lovely people anyway, but the staff at the Radisson really went the extra mile. We lost one of the card keys and I was very apologetic about it, willing to pay for the replacement but the receptionist just said "Oh no, not to worry!" which is so refreshing. I really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely come back again.

Room Tip: Go for a room that's facing inwards if possible as the noise on the street during the weekends c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Good Location. I had a junior suite for my first night which was a nice loftspace room with sloping roof and loft windows, it benefitted from more space and nice white sofas, very contemporary. However it was directly opposite a service elevator and was subject to noise all night and early morning cleaning trolleys. I chose the junior suite as it was only £35 more than the Superior room and was lured by the free mini bar. However all that glitters was not gold, mini bar only contained soft drinks and 2 beers. The shower enclosure flooded due to slowness of the drain which on inspection was probably due to poor cleaning. I moved on the 2nd night to a deluxe (=standard) room and although smaller found it to be probably a better value room. It had a trouserpress which the suite did not and the mini bar (paid) had all the usual spirits. The bed was also more comfortable and the bathroom was exactly the same size but with a better shower than the suite, having an overhead spray as well as a waist high one. The decor of the deluxe room was more old fashioned, lots of dark wood, but I would not agree that rooms were in need of renovation as some have said. I saw my two rooms and my colleagues' which was across the street linked by the underground walkway and all were different styles and clearly created at different times but all were well maintained and appealing to different styles. There was a myriad of room types, starting with deluxe, business class, superior, junior suite and suite. I saw 3/5 and my outake would be that even the deluxe provided a very high standard cf other hotels and that it is probably not worth the additional €100 for a junior suite.
Check in was very slow, they could not find my reservation and they claimed I had mispelt my name during reservation but this was clearly their fault as I had used my booking.com profile which shows it correctly. Breakfast was spread over 2 levels and seemed a strange layout. Lots of the tables were in near darkness. Cooked food was very rubbery, maybe because I did not breakfast until 9am and it had been under the lights a long time. Due to this I asked for a fried egg but the chef served me a strange dish, a quasi omelette, flat like an omelette but not mixed. He seemed to break the yolk deliberately so not quite sure what his intention was. Overall the hotel was fine but could score more points with a little bit more focus on guest attention.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms ending in the 30s as I guess they will all be adjacent the service elevator. Deluxe room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I've been to Amsterdam many times and stayed in most of the major hotels, but not this one, which is fairly new. It's very good. The good impression starts as you arrive. The welcome is warm and the staff (all of them) smile at you. It's small enough to be personal. My room was available at 10.30 when I arrived (on a Fri). Spare toiletries are provided free of charge. The hotel is an interesting mixture of old and new and you often can't see the join. The bedrooms (mine was a "superior double") are smart, spacious and interestingly designed, with lots of wood (beams, floor, buttresses). The bed is set diagonally across one corner. The fittings are high quality (though I never managed to use the espresso machine without spraying hot water over the floor). There was slight whiff of old drains in the bathroom. The hotel is tucked up a side street and the rooms are blissfully quiet, especially at the back, though the central old town location means you are only a stroll from all the major sites, from classical to sleazy. It's ten minutes walk from the main station.The breakfast buffet is pretty good - and works till 11.30 at weekends. They fail the scrambled egg test, of course (most five star hotels do), but the obliging chef will cook to order and then bring it to you himself rather than expect you to wait at the counter for it. There are ample computers available in the lobby, free to residents, complete with printer (big tick). There is a departure board for Schipol Airport flights in the lobby. Impressive.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back (designated "superior") are quieter - though none of them could be descr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
144 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Pretty good hotel, ideal for business and leisure. Lobby is great and it has a great "winter-garden", restaurant, breakfast, bar and seating-area above the receptionist is just great. Had some campari-soda, gin-tonics, coffees at there several times and it was just like "piece on earth". (green, water around, comfi seats).

Apart from that people have been friendly and efficient and it seems that it is common here in Amsterdam to change rooms upon arrival. I talked to also other hotel guests at Radisson Amsterdam or other hotels here in Amsterdam, mentioning that the first room they have got was just rubbish and the second one they got was just fine.

Booked a deluxe-room and got a twin-bed-room, which is not acceptable, entering the first room on the second floor was just like I would step over my own feet and here it comes the dormitory-effect: a twin-room is pretty much like I would share a room, like back at old school. Not to mention that I was staying with Carlson 11 days in Beijing, 2 nights in Dubai Marina and I think I would deserve a little bit respect. In Beijing I could even use 20,000 of my Gold Points and get a lower-room-rate.

Maybe next time I should my Emirates Skywards Gold Card, maybe than it would be more appreciated? Not sure about it, but will try and keep you in the loop, there could be a chance that a flying frequent would be more recognized than their own members.

The fitness center is fine, it is at B1, left side, straight and than up the stairs, you can enter with your room-card. It is just that special I think, compared to all the other ones I have seen in London, New York, Manchester, Dubai, Beijing, Shanghai, etc etc.

Had dinner outside at the Grand Hotel, if you are looking for sea-food and champagne, it is def. the right place, will do a review a little later, don't worry about it. :-)

Around the hotel: the red-light-district and China town, a must to see, hookers standing behind windows in hot-underwear waiting for their clients. I didn't even realize that I was there, suddenly a person at a cross-road came to me and said "this is not a playground" and left, I and my partner have taken this as an opportunity to get in "check that small walk-way" out. Make sure to put your camera down, don't take any photos, the girls behind windows don't appreciate it at all taking photos of them.

If I were you, book a car from and to the airport and if it allows you are flying with Emirates Airline, it is already complimentary. The great thing is that those chauffeur drivers have special arrangements with the city of Amsterdam: they can drive on the bus-lane and on the tram-way and won't need to consider normal traffic rules. I landed at 12.40pm and had the first meeting at 03.00pm, just arrived the hotel at 02.40pm and the meeting just started on time.

Would stay here again, for sure, next time will try any of the frequent flyer cards.

Room Tip: ... go for Deluxe, nothing lower than that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#18 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 601 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#47 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,804 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam

Address: Rusland 17, 1012 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#47 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Hotel Complex incorporating 17th & 18th-century merchant houses with newer buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Radisson Amsterdam
Amsterdam Radisson
Radisson Sas Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.