We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Life changing!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rusland 17, 1012 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #54 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Life changing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Crossroads of the world - elegant hotel in the heart of old Amsterdam. I met my wife to be there and will never forget it!

Excellent clean rooms and good service and good value. Walk out the door and straight into Old Amsterdam - love it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    915
    825
    228
    40
    15
See reviews for
261
885
117
313
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The hotel is very well located in the heart of Amsterdam. It is close to everything I wanted to do in the city. We stayed in a newly renovated business class room and the rooms are worth every penny extra. The hotel is beautiful and well maintained. The best part of the hotel is the staff working there. Kind, friendly and will take the time to answer all your questions. Sam is the absolute best she took great care of us and was so incredibly helpful. I will never stay anywhere else in Amsterdam ever....Thank you everyone for making our stay so wonderful.

Room Tip: Choose a business class room with a canal view....absolutely amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
160 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is great! Location is perfect and the front desk staff is wonderful, cab driver did not unload one of our bags,we did not notice until later,the staff at front desk tracked him Udown and got our luggage back. Walking distance to Dam Square where you pick up trams for the whole city, only thing bad is the king size bed was to big for the duvet cover. Again Jerden,Gregory,and Aprilla are the front desk people who get it done! A great place to stay!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven
Level Contributor
142 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This hotel is very well located in a beatiful part of Amsterdam. Checking in went really smooth. We got our room at 11 am! Excellent staff that sets a mark for hospitality. The room was somewhat older and the decoration was a bit outdated as was the bathroom that could use a little TLC. However, the room offered everything you need. A safe, tea/coffee making option, large flatscreen TV, ample storage space, good working AC etc. Everything was very clean and the beds are comfortabel. Breakfast was perfect. Plenty of choice and again an incredible friendly staff. Thumbs up for all the man and women working in this hotel. You're doing a great job!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
104 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Very pleased with my choice.

This hotel is situated in a quiet part of the central city area and is about a 10 to 15 minute-walk from the main train station, depending on how much luggage you are carrying and whether you have a good sense of direction, as the street network here can be confusing to start with.

Once you get your bearings though, you soon realise that you are at the heart of everything.

The rooms are a good size - so not sure why others have said they are small - and I heard no noise from the adjoining rooms or corridors, even when the hotel was full as it was. My room overlooked the inside atrium and although this did reduce the amount of daylight that entered the windows, it was still very pleasant. The air-conditioning was very good.

There is plenty of storage space in the room and the custom-built mini bar also cleverly houses the kettle, iron, ironing board/trouser press and a chest-style personal safe.

The mattress was quite firm - I would have preferred something slightly softer - but that's just a personal preference and not a criticism. In addition to the pillow type they provide as standard (firm, synthetic and non-allergic), you can request another four types. I might do this the next time as I found the standard type too firm.

The bathroom was only lit by the lights adjoining the mirror, so it was a bit dark over the bath/shower. Water temperature and pressure were good. In my room, there was a slight step up into the bathroom that caught me out most times, so be careful of this if it's the same throughout the hotel. The free bath products were fine and included a small tub of bath salts. The towels could have been softer though.

The buffet breakfast was OK. Generally, I don't find mainland European hotel breakfasts that exciting. Those in the UK and USA are much better. But the selection was good and quality OK.

I did eat in the hotel restaurant for dinner. Excellent personable service and the food was first class.

You can print out boarding passes from the terminals in the lobby and WiFi access is free throughout the hotel. Why other European hotels can't offer this free, I do not know, so well done to the Radisson Blu for getting this right!

Check-in and out was quick and friendly.

In the recent past, I've also stayed at the Mercure (Convent) Hotel. On comparison, I would have no hesitation in staying again at the Radisson Blu on my next visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Family of 8 stayed here for a weekend in July. Excellent rooms. We had business class rooms so we got robe and slippers. Shwer was huge. Bed really comfy and no street noise giving excellent sleeps. Breakfasts were really good with plenty of choice. Not very good with the toast though. Most hotels let you make your own but had to wait for chef at breakfast station to make ours and wasnm't happy about putting it through twice to make it a dcent colour. Fried eggs and omletts are also available on request but is not widely advertised.
Grat central location for lots of cafes, bars and restaurants. Be prepared for high prices eating out. Best we found were the Argentinian Steak Houses doing a meal deal for eleven euros. Most bars charged 5 euros for a pint of beer/lager. Restaurants about 8 euros.
Second time in Amsterdam. Would go back again. Might even consider the same hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Location: very close to thr red light district and easy walking distance to Dam Square and the train station.

Service: we arrived late at night to find that the room we were given smelled like smoke, the alternative was a single. Two rooms later we were able to settle into a double. The hallway on the sixth floor smelled like cheap desinfectant but luckily our final room was on the second floor and was ok. The staff was patient and helpful and resolved our issues but i wish we had not had them in the first place.

The room: adequate size. Had wifi and an ok bathroom, hair dryer and toiletries included. It faced the street but it was very quiet.

This was a run of mill hotel experience. I think for next visit we would like something with more character.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#18 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 603 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#47 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,811 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam

Address: Rusland 17, 1012 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#46 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Hotel Complex incorporating 17th & 18th-century merchant houses with newer buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Rezidor, EasyToBook, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Radisson Amsterdam
Amsterdam Radisson
Radisson Sas Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.