We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovation needed, but still very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rusland 17, 1012 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #50 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersGold level
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Renovation needed, but still very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Hotel is located in the center. Legally it is the same district with Red Light District (De Wallen). But it is in the quite street. You can reach virtually any attraction walking. Tram stop is not far. Location is excelent.
Room are a bit outdated and renovation needed. On the other hand I would like to say that hotel tries to keep them in ideal condition. Everything is clean. I felt cofortable in this room.
Staff is very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast is very good. You can ask chief to cook omlette especially for you. This is free of charge.

Room Tip: There are a lot of room with the view to internal winter garden. Avoid rooms 111, 113 and maybe 11...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    642
    186
    29
    14
See reviews for
200
689
93
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belle Mead, New Jersey
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel on a recent trip to Amsterdam. The rooms are modern, elegant, comfortable and spacious. The hotel itself was very nice--several story lobby, bar, restaurant, and fitness center. The location is right in the middle of everything, within walking distance of the main tourist attractions. The breakfast was particularly outstanding--they offered a wide selection of cereals, meats, eggs, and fruits.

My only regret is that I couldn't stay there longer!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Stayed here a few months ago while on a weekend trip to Amsterdam. I know Amsterdam quite well as I worked here a fair bit over the years. The hotels can all be much the same (relatively) poorish standard in this city, so its important to inform of a gem whence one is found :-).

I woudl definitely recommend this hotel. Its close to the centre, its clean, the staff are nice, its close to the shopping precinct and generally I had no problems. (Even got an upgrade).

If you are thinking of visiting this city, I would seriously consider this hotel - its quite good value and has everything you need to enjoy your visit. Everything interesting is within walking distance (more or less).

Enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Stayed for a weekend break in Amsterdam. We wanted a nice hotel with a central location and this was perfect. We received a very warm and professional welcome on arrival and I must say that all the staff were very friendly and helpful - from the room staff to the bar to reception.

Our room (221) overlooked a small street behind the hotel. It was a good size and very clean. The bathroom was fine (nice underfloor heating) - just watch out for the step into the bathroom - we both stubbed our toes on it and ouch! Still, we learned quickly! Bed a little on the soft side for our tastes but actually a comfy sleep.

The continental breakfast was very nice - that was the only meal we took in the hotel as there are lots of great places to eat in Amsterdam and you want to explore. We did visit the Pastorie Bar both evenings before going out - lovely atmosphere and excellent service again.

Would definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derry
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Radisson Blu for four nights with my girlfriend at the end of janurary. The hotel is ideally located within short walking distance of all central attractions in the city including dam square and central statiom yet still very quiet and relaxing. The hotel and its rooms are beautiful with good amenities and are well maintained. The hotel staff are very helpful and friendly. We opted to pay the little extra to avail of the breakfast buffet that was on offer every morning and were not disappointed. The breakfast room itself had a very nice appearance and was very efficiently run by the staff. The selection of both hot and cold food on offer was vast and all very tasty. A fantastic hotel well worthy of its 5star ***** rating!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Before going on a river cruise, we spent 3 extra days in Amsterdam at the Radisson Blu. If you like American style hotels, this one is for you. The rooms are quite large, very clean, & the usual amenities that one would expect from the Radisson chain.
The location is in the inner ring of canals that circle the old part of the city & therefore a quick walk to the city center. The hotel has a very nice bar as well as a restaurant (but somewhat expensive).
One word of caution! the hotel is located on both sides of the street. However, there is only one lobby. In order for us to get to our room we had to take an elevator down to the basement. Then we had to walk thru a tunnel that went under the street & take another elevator up to our room. Because of security, there was no way else for us to leave the building but by this route.
If you decide to stay here, I suggest that you ask to be roomed on the side of the hotel that has the lobby so you won't waste so much time getting in & out of the hotel.

Room Tip: Be sure your room is in the lobby part of the hotel; not across the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Enjoyable stay using the bar facilities on a two night stay. The food in the bar was promptly served and just whast I wanted. The hotel was clean, very presentable and I'd go back for work or pleasure. It would have got four Stars, but my room was a little cooler than I'd like.

Room Tip: Very little noise on the thrid floor, even in the central column of the hotel centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam

Address: Rusland 17, 1012 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#47 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Hotel Complex incorporating 17th & 18th-century merchant houses with newer buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Radisson Amsterdam
Amsterdam Radisson
Radisson Sas Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.