We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Bag ... good and bad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rusland 17, 1012 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #52 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersGold level
London
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Mixed Bag ... good and bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Overall this hotel is superb. The rooms are very clean and tidy and the bar is a real treat. I also found the staff on-the-whole are lovely. Though, when questioned about what was going on on New Year's Eve the concierge lacked the insightful knowledge and had distinct disinterest in helping. Also, I found the cleaner knocking on my door at 7:30 a.m. to clean which was simply not good enough. The restaurant is expensive, and apart from New Year's Eve when it was full it did seem remarjkably quiet. I think the reason for this was that the hotel is located right in the heart of the city centre and guests prefer to eat out. I know I found it saved money to eat at one of the restaurants off Dam Square. However, the bar is such a surprise: the bar staff were polite, friendly and welcoming. The style of the hotel is unusual but stunning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks into the resort rather than onto the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    751
    678
    191
    29
    14
See reviews for
210
716
98
268
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011 via mobile

Near everything but on a quiet street, so you're not bogged down by tourists. Clean, nice rooms. Beautiful bar with good food. I will stay here next time.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

We had an excellent stay in the Radisson Blu. The staff are the key to this excellent hotel; they cannot do enough for you. Rooms were very comfortable and the complementary toileteries were lovely. We asked for three rooms together in a quite area (322/323/324) and that is exaclty what we had. The bar was lovely and we had some lovely cocktail (expensive! but worth it) The only criticism we had was - the hot food (scramble egg, bacon etc) at breakfast was only warm - but I'm sure the staff would have made you a fresh batch if you had asked. The rest of the breakfast menu was excellent. Thanks very much - we will definately stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room you cannot go wrong with the rooms we were allocate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011 via mobile

Excellent location - 10 min from central station and 5 from Dam square. The junior suites are beatiful. Have been brilliantly renovated. Ours had stairs in them leading to a small sitting area with flat screen TV , DVD, Bose tuner with IPOD connection, free WIFI and a great free minibar (perhaps because of Christmas). Breakfast was great. Staff was nice. Small
Fittness room but OK. Wii certainly come again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011 via mobile

Hotel is well-located within easy walking distance of key attractions and points of interest in Amsterdam, but far enough away from Dam Square and other areas where tourists gather to avoid excessive noise. In terms of features, the rooms are modern, well-sized and well-appointed. The staff have always been most helpful, and the in-house restaurant serves a wide range of good quality food, priced to suit the business traveller or tourist. For a taxi arranged by the hotel, the fare to Schipol Airport is fixed at €43, and takes about 20 to 30 minutes.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in a very balmy November. As mentioned in other reviews the hotel was only a 15 minute walk from Central Station and in a very good location for Dam Square and the Red Light District. Many attractions are easy to walk to but the rest are just a short tram ride away. We were given a room overlooking the canal but after reading other reviews about the noise at night I asked if we could be moved to a top floor room which overlooked the city - this was done with no problem and was extremely peaceful. We had a superior room which was beautifuland very large and we have never had a better breakfast anywhere in the world.

Room Tip: Just request high floor away from the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
291 reviews 291 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
342 helpful votes 342 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Stayed in the Radisson Blu in August for business. The hotel is in a great location, there are plenty of places to eat nearby & is only 15 mins from Schipol airport & a 5 minute walk to Dam Square. The rooms are well presented, very clean & offer all you need for a buisness trip.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam

Address: Rusland 17, 1012 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#45 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Hotel Complex incorporating 17th & 18th-century merchant houses with newer buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Rezidor, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Radisson Amsterdam
Amsterdam Radisson
Radisson Sas Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.