We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel by the Red Light District and Central Station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rusland 17, 1012 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Be my valentine: -30%
Ranked #56 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great hotel by the Red Light District and Central Station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011 via mobile

This hotel is nicely tucked away in the city centre. You can easily walk to Amsterdam Central or the Red Light District within 10-15 minutes. If you don't want to walk from the train station a taxi costs 15 euros. The airport is about 30 minutes away and a taxi costs 43 euros. The front desk will arrange a private taxi for you. There are tram and bus stops near the hotel but you must walk towards the train station to reach them. The transportation system for the trams, buses, etc is called GVS and you can buy a daily unlimited pass for 11 euros. There is a GVS office at the train station. There are plenty of bars and restaurants around the hotel. Most of the restaurants sell Asian cuisine. I highly recommend the "Wok to Walk" near the district. It has great stirfry options. There are also burger, fries, and pizza places around. We did a lot of walking by the hotel and felt completely safe.

The hotel was clean and is completely non-smoking. If you smoke they charge a fee of 200 euros to your card. I liked the fresh smoke free smell of the hotel. They also offer a superior breakfast for 25 euros per person at their restaurant and they have a nice bar in the lobby. I did not use either service but glad it was available.

The gift shop attached to the hotel sells converters, souvenirs, and items you may have left at home for a reasonable price.

Overall I would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    785
    713
    199
    34
    14
See reviews for
218
754
101
278
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

I have stayed in the hotel over the weekend with my friends. It is located in the middle of the city center and that is extremely convenient. It is a nice hotel, newly furnished (so it seems). We didn't spent much time there as we were sightseeing but we had a good night's sleep and fabulous breakfast. The possibility of leaving our bags the next morning after check out at the concierge desk came very handy.
I will not hesitate to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, England
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

i booked an "Executive Room" for a long weekend in Amsterdam. The room itself was large, airy, and nicely appointed. Unfortunately the layout of the hotel meant these larger rooms were all on the front of the hotel (view is nice of the old buildings opposite - but i think it is slightly naughty to always show the conferencing part of the hotel on the website pictures as this has a lovely aspect out onto the canal, whereas the hotel itself is on the side street). But the rooms suffer badly from noise from the street outside. They are obviously aware of this as they have screwed extra plastic panes onto the window, but this doesnt stop the noise from drunken/high groups of lads running up and down the street from around 3am to 5am shouting to each other. This wouldnt just be this hotels problem and if i were to return to Amsterdam, i would probably stay a little further out of the city, pay A LOT less for the room, but then have the expenses of taxis back and forth.

Room Tip: safe money by booking a standard room looking into attrium and without a street view, that way i thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We arrived on a weekend for a three day stay when there was a soccer game on the Saturday night. Normally Amersterdam is New York City on drugs but this weekend was extra special. The normally pscho bicyclists seem even more intent on mowing down another tourist. So the Rad was a beacon of serenity and civilization.

At first glance, the hotel seems to be four different buildings, one of which has a distinct lean to it. But this is a facade and inside is a very modern and elegant hotel. The construction must have been very complicated to incorporate the old with the new. The bar is actually another building inside the main structure. It was the Rector's residence and now serves as the bar and reception area was his garden.

Superior service is given from the curb to your room with and very good reception. Our room faced the street but there are rooms that face onto the atrium.

Flat screen tv (which we rarely used), very expensive mini-bar (never used), coffee, safe, iron and ironing board and desk. There is more storage in this room than any hotel or cruise ship we have ever been on. An extremely well-lit bathroom has a heated floor but there is a raised lip when you enter the bathroom on which you could stub your toe. The restaurant had one of the better breakfasts we had in Europe. Good staff and although it is mostly self-serve, the coffee and follow-up service is very good.

This has all of the flavours of a boutique hotel rather than a large chain. We appreciated being on a side street away from the zoo on the more popular thoughfares and somewhat removed by the kamakzi bicyclists.

This would be our choice if we ever get back to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Watch your toes on the raised lip entering the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

This is a very nice hotel in a great location. Very nice rooms, great breakfast. Perfect if you have business in the area. The price is high enough for me to look for other options if I'm paying for it myself.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wash dc
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Well-located in wonderful Old Amsterdam, this first-class hotel offered all the best components- comfortable room and bath, helpful, friendly staff and a location that was unbeatable. You really can walk almost everywhere from here!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011 via mobile

In the heart of the city. Very nice rooms close to evert

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam

Address: Rusland 17, 1012 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#46 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Hotel Complex incorporating 17th & 18th-century merchant houses with newer buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Radisson Amsterdam
Amsterdam Radisson
Radisson Sas Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.