We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rusland 17, Amsterdam 1012 CK, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #47 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Molokai, Hawaii
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Great location, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

When I am in Amsterdam again I will definitely stay at Radisson Blu. It is perfectly located in the city so that it is easy to walk everywhere. The food in the restaurant was excellent. All service was excellent. It is not the cheapest bed in town, but it was well worth what they charged. Good place. I recommend it highly. My only issue was getting to the hotel--which is not easy to find. It took well over an hour from the airport on the hotel shuttle which stopped everywhere before getting to the Radisson. If you want a better option, take the train (15 minutes from the airport) and walk about 10-15 minutes to the hotel. Make sure you have a map as Amsterdam's streets are a bit confusing.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    645
    538
    178
    34
    12
See reviews for
145
565
80
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

We stayed here for 3 days in April and our overall experience was very positive. Firstly the location… this is really good compromise between business and tourism, as it’s easily accessible from Centraal Station – 10/15 minutes’ walk – and 5/10 minutes’ walk to popular places such as the RLD, Nieuwmarkt or Rembrandtplein. As the hotel is on a quiet side street, you don’t suffer the usual Amsterdam noise problems – even with windows open at night.

Check-in was easy and staff very friendly. But be aware, they really push room upgrades on you. We declined the upgraded room at 85 euro per night and I am glad we did. Our room was reasonably spacious by Amsterdam standards and came equipped with a proper working desk, in-room safe, AC and all the usual stuff. WiFi is free in rooms and communal areas and was good quality access at all times. The restaurant is very very expensive for breakfast, so we – like the majority of guests I suspect – opted to eat elsewhere.

Front desk staff were very helpful and had good advice. One of them recommended an Indonesian restaurant “Indrapura” on Rembrandtplein which was specular.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

We stayed here with another couple for a long week-end. The hotel is fine as it's in a quiet side street away the the bustle of Amsterdam and provides everything we needed, but perhaps in an impersonal business hotel way. We perhaps should have been more prepared but it is close to the Red Light District!! - this part of Amsterdam is tacky and seedy!!!!
One aspect that has been commented upon by other reviews is that of all the extra's and add ons. We are very experienced travellers and have stayed in a lot of higher rated hotesls but found the Radisson excessively expensive for anything other the basic room ... breakfact at 25 Euro's each and 4 drinks (2 medium beers and 2 Gin and Tonics) for 37 Euro's is simply excessive in our opinion.
In summary a good standard of business hotel catering for the traveller on an expense account. As a normal traveller we felt ripped off.

We will not return to the Radisson again and would look for somewher else in a different location away from the area with a more realistic charging policy..

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

We stayed for one week in mid-March 2011. We have stayed in many european hotels, and this is now our favorite: large rooms, very quiet and clean, and very friendly staff. The continental breakfast was all we could hope for: good, high quality food, large selection. We arrived early, yet we were given one room immediately, and a second room a few hours later. We were within easy walking distance of shopping and restaurants, and a short trolly ride to the main museums. Free internet, desk big enough for some work. Modern furnishings.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

Best bussiness class hotel in Amsterdam. Very convienent to airport and meeting rooms are best in class. I found all the front desk staff and banquet staff to be very friendly and helpful. In fact, most of them went the extra mile.


Some of the highlights of the visit were the clean toilets, good food for breakfast, the beautiful lighting in the banquet hall, and lovely chair covers and decor in the hall. In total hotel rooms were spacious and very clean.


We recommend this hotel to anyone who is having a offcial meeting or just needs a very nice economical place to stay. I was very impressed and will be staying there the next time

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

We have had wonderful weekend in Amsterdam not without help of Radisson. It is located in two blocks from Red Lights district in the heart of Amsterdam. Despite of its central location it is very quiet and peaceful place to stay - small street between channels, several coffeeshops are in 50 steps away.
We've been upgraded to newly renovated (last Nov) Business Class room with Nespresso machine and breakfasts included for 70EUR per nite which was apparently a good deal because the room we had was really stylish, comfortable and large enough for family with 14 month kid.
Breakfast buffet is very good especially in terms of bakery. Restaurant is OK - very good food but not so much excited by it. Be careful with minibars - they are connected on-line to hotel billing system, so when our junior has opened fridge to play with cans and bottles we've got all them stated in the bill on check-out. But it was not a problem to remove those expenses from the list as hotel personnel is very friendly.
And the best thing we had is free late check-out which helped us a lot on Sunday afternoon before going to airport to get 8pm flight.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

We were staying in this hotel for the third time and it was always great. First, the location is the best you can dream of, among all the picturesque canals, very easy to get virtually anywhere. Second, the hotel itself is very stylish, we got a newly renovated room this time (see photos), which was just lovely, but even the old rooms, where we stayed before, were very nice. Third, the breakfast was always enjoyable, simply five-star service and five-star food. All in all, we highly recommend this hotel and am sure we will be staying there again on our next trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam

Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel Amsterdam
Radisson Amsterdam
Amsterdam Radisson
Radisson Sas Amsterdam
Address: Rusland 17, Amsterdam 1012 CK, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Hotel Complex incorporating 17th & 18th-century merchant houses with newer buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Rezidor, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Otel and Venere so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.