We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings about Bank Mansion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Banks Mansion to your Saves list
Banks Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Rome
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings about Bank Mansion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2006

I have mixed feelings regarding this Hotel. Pros: great position nice friendly area with drinks and food included in the rate and good breakfast. Cons: rooms are really small and I think that if you promote your rooms as deluxe ( or at lest these I booked ) you deserve something larger. First room was on the ground floor ( # 8 ) and was so small that I still think it was a single room, with a ridiculous small bathroom, beside this was right on the sidewalk. After a little discussion the receptionist mouved us to # 109 was just a little better with a small bathroom and but at least was on the first floor.
Front desk people were really kind but a luxury hotel like this really need a good concierge that can give you the right advice.
So if you go there plan ahed your trip for restaurants and nightlife and don't pay in advance or you can have a very small room on the ground floor.

  • Liked — Common area, feeling home
  • Disliked — Small rooms and queen beds ( NOT KING )
  • Tips/Secrets — Avoid ground floor rooms at the regular rate
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Blackjack1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
nebraska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2006

We stayed at the Banks Mansion after a 9 day Baltic cruise. We were spoiled from the service on the ship and Banks Mansion did not disappoint.
Check in was easy. We arrived at the hotel around 10AM. Our rooms were not ready but they happily stored our many pieces of luggage while we toured Amsterdam. Arrived back around 2PM and not only were our rooms ready but our luggage was already in them!
Rooms were modern with fabulous sound systems and flat screen TV's. Air conditioning was working well and our room was actually "cold".
Service at the front desk, bar area and breakfast was wonderful. The bar has many different options (alcoholic and non) and food choices too. Keep in mind that this hotel is truly "all inclusive". Even the internet access was complimentary.
Great location and within walking distance to most everything.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to any traveler looking for a 3-4 star experience. The only thing missing is room service. Not a problem here. Coffee and light bites are always available. Great restaurants are less than 5 minute walk away.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank lrf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, Kent
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2006

I booked this hotel on the strength of the reviews on Tripadvisor and was not disappointed. My friend and I stayed at the hotel for a week in the middle of August. The staff were consistently helpful and friendly and were happy to recommend restaurants and make reservations whenever needed. The whole "at home" concept is great and the selection of snacks and drinks available could not be faulted. Breakfast was also varied and plentiful. My only slight criticism is that there do not seem to be any true twin rooms in the hotel - the best we could do was to inch our two single beds apart every night which was not easy since they were held together by a top cover; however, I would still have no hesitation in booking into this hotel again if I were spending time in Amsterdam.

  • Liked — The free coffee, drinks and snacks
  • Disliked — No true twin room
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Ali83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2006

What can Isay that has not already been said. My husband and I stayed at the Banks Mansion over August Bank Holiday. We upgraded to canal view room which was well worth it. As soon as we arrived we were impressed by the building, the cleanliness of the hotel, how smart and how helpful the staff are. A special thanks to Nina who made us feel so welcome, and always had a smile for everyone. All staff lovely but Nina stood out from the rest. Our room was large by european standards, spotless and as mentioned by others had very well stocked mini bar. The breakfast room was lovely with a good selection of foods, my husband enjoyed his freshly made omelettes very much. Once again everything was spotless. Amsterdam is a lovely place to visit with very friendly helpful people. So easy to get around and we always felt safe. If you are making your way from the station to the hotel by tram make a note to get tram number 24, 25 and I think 16 also goes there. the hotel is a couple of minutes walk from the tram stop. Ask for Herengracht Canal. Thank you Banks Mansion for making our stay a wonderful one. Lorraine and David.

  • Liked — everything
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank lorrieuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2006

Stayed at Banks Mansion for 3 nights on 25th August 06, for mine & husband's 10th wedding anniversary (without our kids hurray!! - thanks mum and dad for looking after them!).

Was very excited about staying at the hotel, especially after reading so many positive reviews on trip advisor. Arrived after a short delay on our flight at around 7 pm, we were greeted by 'Nina' on Reception, who was very friendly. We were given room 201 which had a view overlooking the Herengracht canal, and our window was directly opposite the Mayor of Amsterdam's house!! Lovely room, large bed with a chair/footstool at the side. Nice shower-room in art-deco style with a lovely big shower cubicle. The shower leaked onto the floor each time so we had to make good use of the bath mat, but it wasnt worth complaining about! Loved the plasma tv on the wall, and the dvd player. Also enjoyed the free decanters of drink - gin, brandy and whiskey. We made it to breakfast 2 of our 3 mornings, very nice but found the girl who made the omelettes/french toast etc a bit stroppy. I think she was just a bit stressed as she had been left alone by her colleagues, but even so she was a bit rude! (I only asked if there was another loaf of bread as when we arrived in the breakfast room there was none!). (on Sundays the breakfast room is open until 11, we had arrived at approx. 10:20 - so obviously we expected to have bread available)! However, dont let this put you off, the hotel is great in general!

We made good use of the 'living area' where they provide free coffee and pastries in the mornings, alcoholic drinks (more or less everything you can think of) and nuts/doritos/dips etc in the afternoon/evening. Oh, and free use of the internet if you need it.

The hotel was in an excellent location, everything we were interested in seeing was within a 10 minute walk.

We had a lovely meal (probably the nicest meal we've ever had - and we've eaten in a fair few restaurants!), at Casa di David which is located on the Singel, a 7 minute walk from Banks Mansion. To start we shared bruschetta with mozzarella and pesto - delicious. My husband then had a plain old spaghetti bolognaise - but said it was the best he'd ever eaten! I had kebabs of king prawn & poached salmon, on a bed of green beans with parmesan dressing - gorrrrgeous! This was served with saute potatoes. The food was lovely, the setting lovely, waiters very friendly, lovely atmosphere. (by the way we got Nina at Banks Mansion to reserve us a table as we'd tried to get in on the Friday night but couldnt).

We also ate lunch at Cafe de Kroon in Rembrandtplein, just a snack, but it was a lovely sunny day and nice to people-watch for an hour or so!

We also tried a 'coffee shop'. We stayed away from the tourist-y ones, and went to a more 'locals' type coffee shop. Had a great atmosphere, with funky dance music playing.

Had a wander through the Red Light District - what an eye-opener!!!

Also did a canal boat tour, during the day, this was really enjoyable too.

We spent one morning shopping in Kalverstraat - a few nice clothes shops (some designer, some high street), everything a bit cheaper than the UK.

All in all, will definitely go back to Amsterdam one day, and will stay at Banks Mansion!

Helpful?
7 Thank Joteddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2006

Stayed here for five days starting August 19th. Loved the friendly staff, great breakfast and location. The free mini bar is ok but doesn't really offset the musty room that stank of cigarette smoke, the dirty chairs in the lobby, and the not quite sparkling clean bathroom.

Although the Banks claims four star status, this is a three star hotel at best.

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — cigarette smell of our room
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jocon111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2006

The reviews on this site are excellent and almost put you in a mind to be hyper critical. We couldn't be. All hotels should be like this: generous, welcoming and professional. We enoyed our stay here and we are determined to return to the hotel and to Amsterdam.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank JKTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,033 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#12 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,091 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#15 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing