We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel experience while not staying at the Banks Mansion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Banks Mansion to your Saves list
Banks Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Los Angeles
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best hotel experience while not staying at the Banks Mansion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

I wanted my parents to come to love Amsterdam as much as I did when I was there many years ago. They are not frequent travlers having left the USA only twice in the last 20 years. I booked the Banks Mansion based on reviews from Tripadvisor.com for a 4 day weekend holiday. I have never stayed at the Banks hotel as I have become a "slave to the HiltonHonors" program having elite status blah, blah, blah... To complicate matters I was/am an overly worried son fearing my parents would get lost in the shuffle of a busy boutique hotel catering to more prestiguous guests and venues. I was very wrong to be so concered, as my mother and father were in very good hands at the Banks.

My parents have not stopped talking about this hotel experience since they got home; "Beautiful hotel", "fall-all-over-you-service", "warm and friendly", "delicious breakfast", "great view of the canal"(4th floor room), "comfortable room", were just some of the many raves my parents had. I know they arrived from JFK to AMS in the morning and the reception was able to get them to thier room straight away.

Aside from the hotel itself, I was eased by the fact my parents would have a "wonderful" breakfast each day as well as having "snacks" available to them should they want. The other huge comfort for me was that I was able to work with a guest reservationist named Sarah Post, for without her services I would be lost. Sarah, helped put my mind at ease knowing my parents would be well taken care of. She helped coordinate deliverinng fresh fruit and flowers to my parents every day of thier stay (a charge for this, but well worth it). Sarah also helped recommend tours and activites my parents would enjoy. Sarah and the rest of the hotel staff, put my mind at ease and helped make this a wonderful vacation for my mom and dad, as well as a great gift from me. My parents had the "trip of a lifetime" and I get the credit!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,075
    275
    53
    23
    16
See reviews for
136
784
85
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

We stayed at the Banks Mansion in September. It's right on the Herengracht. We requested a canal view room (which costs more), and had a great view of canal and street life. The most unique and value-added aspect of the hotel is that drinks in the room (they have decanters of gin, scotch, and other liquors and bottles of beer) and in the lobby lounge area all free of charge. Rooms were well appointed with modern decor. The room sizes were small by US standards, but typical for most European cities. The location near the Rembrandplein was excellent. The room cost over 250 Euros, at the current exchange rate, that was well over $300, so it's a pricey hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for 5 days for our honeymoon. Right off the bat we were impressed. A very nice young man walked us to our room and helped us with our luggage and showed us around the lobby. The room was small, but it was so nice. The bathroom was huge! The tub and shower were great and it was all very clean. The best thing about the Banks Mansion was that everything was complementary. The mini bar in your room, free! No watching what you take, if you're thursty, drink something! The breakfast was good and there was someone to make a few things if you asked. They had a little mini bar with all kinds of juices, sodas, beers, coffee there for you if you wanted. In the afternoons they had snacks, which was nice to come back to if you wanted to take a break after your morning travels. Just stop off at the hotel, pick up a drink and a snack and go back out! The location is great, the Herengracht canal is incredibly beautiful, and it's within walking distance to the Anne Frank House, Rijksmesuem and Van Gough (spell?) and most of Amsterdam. It's right in the middle of it all!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lothian
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

Lovely clean & modern rooms, maybe a bit compact but furnished to a good sandard.

Free bar & snacks served in a relaxing lounge & nice & easy to reach on the Metro & trams.

Friendly staff too!

;-)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balkans
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

The hotel is centrally located just off Herengracht. Its an easy tram ride directly from Central Station on trams 16, 24 or 25a.
Hotel staff are extremely friendly, efficient and eager to please.
The Room was comfortable but very small.
The bathroom was very good with a nice full size shower, there was however not too much space for toiletries (shelving etc).
There was a choice of pillow type which was a nice touch and the bed was comfortable.
There was complimentary dicaners in the rooms containing Gin, Scotch and Brandy which was a nice touch. Also the Mini-bar was inclusive in the price and restocked regularly.
Downstairs in the lobby / Living area there was a nice open fireplace and comfortable seating. There was also a complimentary help yourself bar with sweets, nibbles and coffee.
It was disappointing that WiFi was an extra cost in the room but there were two computers and a printer for guests to use in the lobby.
Breakfast was good and the omelets/ french toast were cooked to perfection.
I would certainly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

Located within the Canal Zone, Banks Mansion is an excellent vacatoin stay in Amsterdam. The staff at the front desk are helpful and very cheerful. The rooms are very modern, albeit a bit small. We did not pay to upgrade to a canal view room. I'm not sure it's worth the extra money unless view is of paramount importance. The included breakfast includes both the usual cold dishes as well as cooked-to-order eggs, french toast, and dutch pancakes. The lounge of "Living" as they call it is verz cozy, providing free wine, beer, liqueurs around the clock. At 5:30 they put out a nice spread of cheese, meats, and bread. If you don't like to drink with others, the in-room minibar is well stocked and also free. The lounge also has two computers with free internet service.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

Based upon reviews of this hotel in Trip Advisor we decided to give it a shot. Overall impression was that it is an average hotel located in an average location for Amsterdam.

On the plus side, the breakfast buffet is above average and the lobby is nice.On the less than plus side, we stayed on the 3rd floor with a view of the canal and found the room to be quite small (yes, even by the oft-quoted "European" standard) and well past due for a refresh.

The receptions staff is very much hit or miss, with the average being mostly efficient but certainly less than warm.

The hotel has a view of a somewhat commercial section of one of the canals and is located on the corner of a busy street with a tram running down it. The tram is conveniently located in that sense, but do not even consider a room on the ground floor as people on the sidewalk could look down into your room through the window.

Although we did not stay in any other hotel in Amsterdam to form a relative comparison, I believe there are better places to stay and would try something else on a return trip.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banks Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.