We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent choice and an excellent value!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Banks Mansion to your Saves list
Banks Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Chevy Chase, MD
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“An excellent choice and an excellent value!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2005

I agree with the reviewers who liked Banks Mansion. It is an excellent value - we got a relatively low rate directly though the hotel, and were very happy with a canal view room that was quiet if the windows were closed. We found the staff very helpful and nice, the room was narrow but decent in size and very nice in decor and furnishings (art deco look, with a big bathroom), particularly for Europe where narrow and eclectic rooms are typical even in more expensive hotels. The room was charming, if you like contemporary and spare European sensibilities.

There were a lot of amenities included with the room (free in-room mini-bar, free alcohol in room and in lobby, inlcuding bottled beer and soft drinks, free snacks, complimentary breakfast which did include custom egg and waffle making, etc.) -- all of which was quite excellent and unique in our experience for any contemporary hotel in the US or Europe -- they are simply not out to strip you of every dime you bring in this place. With the decent nightly rate (180E for the two of us), for a canal view room and all of the amenities, we thought it was an excellent value.

The hotel is extremely well located, in the central part of the canal belt near the Amstel River, the Rembrandtpelin and the flower market, yet its not too inner city (where it can get a little sleazy). It was a 5 minute or less walk to the Joordan, the Spui, Dam Square, Leidseplein and the Museum area. It's very close to Tempo Doloe and other excellent Indonesian restuarants, several of our favorite coffee shops (Damkring, Rokerij and Tweede Kamer), 2 or 3 trolley lines within a block of the front door, so it is ultra-convenient.

This is a relaxed hotel with a relaxed attitude in an excellent location. We have stayed in hotels in Amsrterdam where we felt ever so slightly unwelcome, but not here. I guess I can understand how some people might find it underwhelming, but we really liked the combination of location, value and amenities. We will definitely stay here again when we come to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,080
    276
    53
    23
    16
See reviews for
136
789
85
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2005

I'm just back from a fab weekend in Amsterdam at a newish 4* hotel called Banks Mansion - it was very much to be recommended (with amazing free bar in the lounge and free booze in the room). We booked through lastminute and the rate was about GBP330 including breakfast, tax and service for 2 nights.

Amsterdam was especially pretty decked out in Xmas decorations. Went to the Rijksmuseum (very good although part of collection was in storage due to building renovations), Van Gogh museum (excellent and you can buy your tickets at the hotel desk), Anne Frank house (interesting in a macabre way), and walked through the flower market (pretty) and red light district (strange!).

We found several good restaurants, mainly informal places in the neighborhood where we were staying (Grachtengordel south) such as the Piet de Leeuw steakhouse which is a couple of blocks from the hotel, and one on Egelentiersstraat in Jordaan that was great because it had live music - called Claes Claesz.

I also recommend the newly published (July 2005) Rough Guide to Amsterdam.

I'll definitely be going back to Banks Mansion.

Have a great trip!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2005

Stayed at hotel for husbands 40th birthday ,were given a room overlooking canal on 1st floor ,some noise but nothing to stop you sleeping,breakfast is excellent something for everyone ,this is a great place to stay in an expensive city as in cafes its 10/15 euros for breakfast,the rooms are a 4star,all in all I would give this hotel 9/10.Enjoy!!!.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2005

My husband and I stayed here Dec 2nd & 3rd 2005. This was a really great choice of hotel - literally 5 mins walk from great shopping in Kalver-straat and Flower Market, 10 mins from Dam Square, with the option of heading down to the Jordann in the evening for bars/food etc., if you don't fancy the centre of town. We had a deluxe double, which although slightly dark at back of hotel, was immaculately appointed, huge bathroom, fab shower, minibar well stocked, and any drink you didn't have in your room was readily available in the free drinks area in the lobby. The self-service lounge/lobby area is a fab idea, and you can even get a cappucino and danish in the morning if you miss breakfast! If you've never been to Amsterdam before make a canal cruise and a trip to La Place Mangerie for food [5 mins from hotel; but closes @8pm], must-do's as part of your stay. There's also a good chinese directly across the road. We have already been raving about this hotel to our friends as the place in Amsterdam to stay and worth the cost.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2005

stayed in banks mansion for a few days and did not want to leave, the rooms are comfortable and very clean, the bath room was lovely and the staff are extreemely friendly, i was delighted to find out that all drinks in the room and in the lounge downstairs were included within the room price! would not think of staying anywhere else when i visit amsterdam!

  • Stayed August 2003
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2005

Needing a place to stay, in the tad-expensive Amsterdam, the previous reviews of this hotel convinced us to reserve our room. Lucky we did! Very central, very clean, very comfortable, and very inclusive. I can only confirm what has been told before: Bed with pillow choices, free minibar, GRREAT rain-shower, delicious and plenty breakfast, and the very welcoming lobby drinks & snacks. Also, the luxury of an elevator, against the steep staircases of Amsterdam, is the killing blow! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2005

I am a regular in Amsterdam, and I recently spent a week on business there and stayed at the Banks Mansion. As mentioned elsewhere, the location is superb - convenient for the museums and Leidesplein in particluar. The shower is absolutely spot on, and the free bar/snacks are a great idea. The only minor flaw is that the hotel is on quite a busy street so you can hear traffic. Overall excellent, would recommend to any visitor. PS Take some CDs and take advantage of listening to music in the shower!

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banks Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.