We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Banks Mansion to your Saves list
Banks Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Everything superb! Friendly helpful staff. The inclusive bar was so good after a busy day sightseeing. Bed comfortable and room not too hot.
I can't find the words really to describe how good the hotel is.
Expensive but worth every penny.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,161
    304
    55
    23
    17
See reviews for
151
860
86
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Banks Mansion is a beautiful hotel. The rooms are lovely, the staff are so friendly and helpful, and couldn't do enough for you. The lounge area is nice and comfortable, and the all inclusive bar is great. There's a good choice of spirits, beers and soft drinks. Every room has decanters of spirits and a mini bar with soft drinks. Each day a cheese selection is served in the bar at 5pm which is delicious.

The breakfast is also lovely, the cook will make you any egg dishes you choose, the omelettes are lovely.

The hotel is very central and you can walk to most places. We got the train from the airport and then the tram from central station. You can walk from the station, but it was very busy so we didn't feel like dragging our suitcases through the crowds.

The rooms are lovely, we had a canal view on the 4th floor, and it was very quiet.

All in all a great choice of hotel, we will stay here again when we next visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This place was just as good as all the reviews we read claimed and SO MUCH better. The hotel is in a great location, near the flower market. You can walk to any of the main attractions from here within 15 minutes. We also loved the breakfast buffet every morning, and they leave out amazing snacks throughout the day. They also have a variety of waters and soda, and alcohol, and we are already missing the amazing coffee machine they have with the most wonderful cappuccinos and hot chocolates! We would come back every afternoon to take advantage of the complimentary prosecco/wine and cheese/meat station the hotel would get from the local market. The staff was so friendly and would help you find anything you needed. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Amsterdam. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor and the room was great, no noise like some of the other reviews we read.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed at Banks Mansion very recently and all I can say is that it is an exceptional hotel. Why? Because I have been fortunate enough to stay at some of the very best five-star/luxury hotels all over Europe and the USA, but the service at this hotel outdid all of them! Every member of staff, without exception, was charming, friendly, welcoming, super-efficient and basically could not do enough for us. This began as we checked in and continued throughout our stay. We arrived relatively early (around 10.30am) and were told that although our room had been allocated, it was not yet ready. We had had no opportunity to have breakfast en route, so we took a couple of armchairs by the fire in the lovely Art Deco style sitting room and by the time we had had two delicious cappuccinos each, the charming receptionist came over to tell us our room was now ready, so we were able to check in before 12 noon. The hotel had gone out of its way to have our room prepared early, even though official check in time is not until 2pm. Impressive. The room was extremely comfortable, again decorated in Art Deco style and immaculately clean. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the black and white Art Deco bathroom was very large with very good fittings and a power shower with a large "rain" shower head, as well as an enormous, inviting bath tub. The complimentary mini bar and cut crystal decanters of gin, whisky and cognac in every room are indeed a lovely touch. The entire "all inclusive" concept, with the complimentary bar and coffee - and wine and cheese after 5pm - downstairs in the sitting room is a brilliant concept, as it does make the guests feel completely at home and makes for a relaxing, friendly atmosphere, where the formal rigmarole of having to order drinks, coffee and so on has been dispensed with entirely. Guests start to chat with one another as they relax over coffee or a drink. The lovely mansion on the canal really does feel like a true home from home! Breakfast was excellent and, again, the lovely informal yet practical concept of having a specially trained cook making eggs, omelettes and pancakes to order at a vast kitchen range adds to the feeling of homeliness......and, obviously, provides guests with super, perfectly prepared fresh eggs or pancakes for breakfast, along with a great range of other breakfast goodies from which to choose on the varied buffet. The croissants were also superb and easily matched anything I have ever had in France.....and the home made jams were fantastic. But, truly, what makes this hotel so great is the service. Every member of staff we happened to encounter could not have done more for us, and even those who were just passing by - a man cleaning the guest rooms upstairs, another man acting as a porter and carrying other guests' luggage, all greeted us with huge smiles and wishes us a pleasant day as they passed by. You will not find this level of service nor this quality of staff in many places today. A special mention goes to Willem, who checked us out, took care of our luggage and arranged for a taxi exactly when we needed it. But all the staff were simply excellent. We had a truly delightful stay and prior commitments in the UK and France were the only reason we did not book to return to Banks Mansion the very next week! But we will be back very soon and very often. The location of the hotel could not be better, the food is excellent and the service is extraordinary. A heartfelt "Thank You" to everyone for making our stay so very special and memorable. And just as an afterthought - after reading a complaint in a previous review by a guest with regard to the Banks Mansion non-smoking policy - from our perspective, we hate any hotel which allows smoking in the rooms, because entering a room permeated with the stale smell of cigarette smoke in it is simply a horrible experience for any guest......so, well done, Banks Mansion, with regard to your strict enforcement of your non-smoking policy too! Our stay was just prefect. We shall never stay anywhere else in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

This is my first visit to the Netherlands. I took a red eye flight from Asia to AMS arrived at 6 am on a quiet Sunday. On arrival I was told theres no room available but asked to sign a paper to confirm room rate, of which i signed without second guess the rate was wrong. Before I left, I found the original confirmation email from blackberry, then i shown it to the receptionist where she was kind enough to reprint the correct rate am was told the earlier paper will be voided.

For travellers first to this hotel please be warned about their smoking policy. They police you and would force charge a penalty of EUR250 without warning or allowing you to question. There on the paper when you signed the hotel rate, a line at the bottom displayed such policy.

We were informed by a male Receptionist that a penalty is charged to my card as the cleaner suspected we smoked in the room. The fact is we bought cigarettes from dutyfree, with a joint placed on the desk. My husband went outside to balcony to smoke a cigarette with doors closed.

For the benefits of future visitors, be warned they are very strict to smoking policy. No warning will be given at point of check in, no matter how jetlagged you are. A hard cold message is given to me simply by waiving the paper which I signed (strictly speaking I was told it should be voided) without a chance allowed to explain.

I would much appreciate if the hotel staff can bring up this policy at check in, have customers pre-warned. it can certainty be avoided for a bad customer experience, particular when we were just walking out to celebrate my husband's birthday, a special night ruined.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Ann C,

First of all I would like to welcome you for your first visit to beautiful Amsterdam. Our Guest Relation Officers will be more than happy to help you find all the famous tourist attractions of Amsterdam or ‘hidden secrets’, most of them within walking distance of the hotel.

I am sorry to hear that you do not agree with our smoking policy. We have several places where we point out that smoking is not allowed at our hotel. We are really strict to the hotel policies since we would like to treat all of our guest the same and make them feel at home (with a nice fresh Banks Mansion scent).

It would be a pleasure to talk with each other in person this afternoon since you are still at our hotel and we would love to make your stay as great as possible.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol England
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed for 4 nights and booked a room overlooking the canal.
The room was lovely with a comfortable bed and had a spacious bathroom. Our room was on the fourth floor and it had a lovely view of the canal, it was quite and we did not hear any noise from outside or in.
The staff were very friendly , efficient and always ready to help.
Breakfast was delicious with pancakes, omelettes and French toast cooked to order. We really enjoyed the omelettes, they were superb.
The living room was fantastic and a great way to talk to fellow guests, complementary drinks were a pleasant surprise.
The hotel is very central and most tourist attractions were well under 30 minutes walk away.
We booked this hotel on their website and when we checked out we received a typical Dutch gift. Hope to return to this hotel when next in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Fourth floor very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

stayed at banks mansion in march 2015, for 2 nights, booked this hotel after reading the good reviews on trip advisor.
great location, very friendly front desk staff, make you feel very welcome indeed. we had rooms 207 and 208. the latter was the better room, bigger but even though i booked 2 rooms both at the same price at time of booking, when i checked out i paid more for the bigger one, but was not advised of this from the hotel staff.
great breakfast kitchen, newspapers, lots of choice, and the all inclusive drinks were a bonus in the evening, as travelling with my 2 daughters and did not want to go out in the evening, as too tired with walking all day. apart from the price confusion, all in all i was glad i booked this hotel, it worked out better than i thought it was going to be. canal views from the rooms, near the flower market, and rembrandt square, with lots of restaurants and bars, just 5 minutes walk. easy to get around from this location, and the tram goes right past if you need it, would recommend to stay here, really clean and warm and cosy..

Room Tip: 208 was big with canal views, but single beds.two big windows looking on to the canal. 207 was a big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banks Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.