We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't go wrong” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Banks Mansion to your Saves list
Banks Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“You can't go wrong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We love all inclusives and this is awesome. The breakfasts are incredible, the staff helps you in every way and the rooms are cool as well . The location is great with Rembrandt plain 2 blocks away, the flower mkt one block and countless restaurants abound. No question, we will stay here next time!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,017
    261
    51
    22
    16
See reviews for
130
733
83
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Recently styaed here whilst at a conference inAmsterdam.Really friendly staff, great afternoon happy hour provisons- nice wine, cheeses, meats etc.Minibar in the room as part of tariff.Excellent breakfast and a great location in cewntral old Amsterdam near Rembrandt plein.Easy for trams and plenty of good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia, pa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel for one night. Pro: free drinks in lobby and in your room. Nice friendly staff. Location is great. Cons: small, darkly furnished hotel rooms. Crowded lobby/living room area when wine and cheese is served. Overall pleasant but didn't live up to the rave reviews I read here

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband stayed at this hotel for 8 nights. We absolutely loved the location, view of the canal, and morning breakfast. We have no complaints at all and recommend this hotel 100%. It's a smaller hotel, but I think that's typical for Amsterdam. I love the fact they offer drinks and a wine and cheese hour. Thank you, Banks Mansion! We loved our stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Travelingjamie,

Thank you for this great review!

We absolutely loved to read all the kind words you wrote.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

For our first trip to Amsterdam, we stayed at Banks Mansion. We highly recommend this hotel. The staff was so helpful, so friendly. The hotel is lovely. The evening wine a cheese is very nice and the breakfast is quite good. We had a corner room which was large and very comfortable. The area is fun and you can walk everywhere from this location. Very close to a tram stop at Rembrandt Square. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Petricer,

Thank you very much for this wonderful review and for recommending us to all Tripadvisor readers.

Of course we would love to welcome you and all the readers in the future. To make sure they will experience the Banks Mansion Hotel as good as you did we offer special deals on our website. This way you always receive the best rate.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirupati, India
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is on one canals and a very busy street.It is walkable to many landmarks.Just next to rembrandt square which is a very active and vibrant at night.It is close to many good restraunts. The hotel staff are willing to suggest restaurants and make reservations.the front desk manager William was very knowledgeable.He suggested we buy vangogh museum tickets so as not to wait in a long queue.The free water,beer and soft drinks in the lobby is a nice idea which I think all the other hotels should follow instead of overcharging for them.The breakfast in the basement room was good too.
We had a canal facing room in which the window opens,but the way it was placed was uncomfortably so you cannot open it fully.The rooms are very small.The bed is comfortable.The carpets and the furnishings are old and dated and look dirty.The carpet was not vacuumed at all and felt dirty.The shower has no water pressure and looks dated too.The lift is very slow.
All said and done I enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: Choose an executive room as they look bigger. The deluxe rooms are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Bhavana m,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review.

It is always good to read positive comments mixed with some feedback. We try to keep the carpet as crisp as possible but next to that we are pleased to inform you that we are working on brand new carpet in the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back in the future (maybe to experience the new carpet). To make sure you will receive the best available rate I advice you to always book via our website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wonderful Hotel. Staff very friendly (like family), location great, rooms clean and comfortable. Free breakfast was good and hearty. Free mini bar and cheese great after a long day of touring. Very convenient and walking distance to just about everything. Could not ask for a better place to stay in Amsterdam. Home away from home!!!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Karheff,

What lovely review, thank you!

We are trying our best to create the home away from home feeling.
this is, therefore, the slogan of Banks Mansion! And so it is a great pleasure to read that you experienced this the right way.

Let’s stay connected and like us on Facebook!

We are hoping to welcome you back one day in the future and for this we recommend to book via our own website so you can see our special offers.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banks Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.