We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We came back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Banks Mansion to your Saves list
Banks Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“We came back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Hard for us to imagine staying anywhere else in Amsterdam, after staying at this hotel before. The lesson we learned this time was about room selection- last time we had a lovely room with a large window and view of the canal and street. This time we were in a room at the back of the hotel with just a small square window at the top of the wall that caused the room to be much too dark- I would certainly request a different room is the future.

We traveled this year with a daughter who has a dairy allergy, making meals a bit of a challenge when we travel. The woman who prepared breakfast each morning ( I think her name is Ola) went out of her to way to rinse her skillet and bowl each morning to make eggs for my daughter (in oil) with no trace of butter or milk. She seemed perfectly happy to accommodate us, and gave us another reason to love the service from this hotel.

Last year four of us took a taxi to the hotel from the airport ( charged 73 euro for 4 people, but only 45 euro to return). This year we took the Connexxion Shuttle which was easy and less costly.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear (returning) guest,

Thank you for this wonderful review and for being a fan of Banks Mansion!

Do you already like us on Facebook? We are planning on a give-away when we reach 750 likes and we are already at 729 likes!

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,130
    299
    54
    23
    16
See reviews for
147
831
86
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

The rooms a little small but that's expected in Amsterdam.  Location ideal for all attractions. Breakfast has a good range and all inclusive drinks/snacks is great,  especially as it includes spirits.  All staff very friendly and helpful and room was well stocked with toiletries and minibar (all included in room rate). I highly recommend this hotel to travelers to Amsterdam. 

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing this wonderful review. We are delighted to hear to you have enjoyed your stay at the Banks Mansion and recommend our hotel to all Amsterdam-travellers.

To make sure they also have the time of their life in Amsterdam and at the Banks Mansion I have a great tip for them. When they book via our own website and use the discount code FEELHOME they will receive a discount!

We hope to welcome you again in the future for again a wonderful stay.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Had a wonderful 2 night stay at this centrally located hotel. All the staff were extremely helpful. The location was great for us as it was within walking distance of many of the city sites that we wanted to take in (canal trip, museum tours). We did not have a canal side view we were on the main floor (room 007) facing a main road. We anticipated a noisy stay (traffic noises etc.) it was not. I would certainly go back for a longer stay. The breakfast included was great – many tasty things (bacon, eggs, French toast, pancakes, yougurt, etc.) to choose from.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for this wonderful review. Although we are in the city centre the Banks Mansion and its rooms are a tranquility of peace. Good to read you have experienced it this way.

By the way, do you already like us on Facebook? There we share all our love for Amsterdam with our fans. (And we also host give-aways and other fun stuff)

We hope to welcome you again in the future,

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

In this hotel the guest is number one. So they ask if you had a good trip, was the restaurant OK etc. Very very friendly staff. Rooms are clean and all the neccesary thnings are available.
Beds are very good.Location perfect, right in the centre of Amsterdam. View on the canal, beautiful, and although our room was at the busy Vijzelstraat we did'nt even hear the traffic, not even the tram coming by. Special in this hotel is that all the drinks in the minibar and in the so called Living Room (lounge) were free from charge. Also little snacks, everything free. Also free Wifi: fast and reliable.
We had an upgrade (sort of superior room), 35 sq.m. but there was a large hallway so the room looked not that big. I had a look in the standard room and it made not much difference. So that's a tip.
We had a technical problem with the shower, which was not solved within the two days, so we couldnt use it. That is not good, but the manager promised to do something for us when we come back.

Room Tip: Just take a standard room, it's big enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We like the fact that you loved all the things that makes Banks Mansion a special hotel. This makes it even more pitifully that you had a problem and it is not solved correctly.

I find it good to hear that you have spoken to the manager about this so we can work on it and make sure that you will receive what you deserve the next time you will visit us.

I am looking forward to welcome you next time and please do contact the manager to make sure everything will be at its best.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

But dangerous. Stay here and you will wont be able to bring yourself to go anywhere else - when in Amsterdam.
The location is excellent. friendliness & helpfulness of staff 1st class. Ambience amazing. Try it.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for all the big compliments in this review. It is a great way to start our morning!

By the way, do you already like us on Facebook? We are planning on a give-away when we reach the 750 likes (and are already on 728). Will you be the lucky winner?

We hope to welcome you in the future.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Pleasant stay. Slept well even with room on the busy canal bank side. Nice view. Seems they figured out how to insulate the room windows with double doors. Not luxurious room but very comfortable. Nice touches included complimentary drinks and snacks on arrival, breakfast cooked to order, singing duo at breakfast and crystal decanters in the room with choices of whisky, Gin or Cognac. Staff competent, pleasant and helpful. Room clean, bathroom spotless and linen crisp. Pillows nice too.

Room Tip: Take the stairs instead of the lift - you need to be fit but will beat the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for all these kind words and compliments.

We hope to welcome you (and all Tripadvisor readers) in the future. To make sure everybody receives the best available rate we offer special offers on our website only. By booking these special offers you make sure you never pay to much.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

The location was perfect; the staff very helpful and friendly; the breakfast delicious and lots of choice and the room very clean and an especially comfortable bed which is a must for my best rating. The inclusion of complimentary bar and snacks was most unexpected and appreciated. It made the sitting area very friendly and welcoming versus sitting in your room which also had complimentary drinks. I would stay here again!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for giving us a wonderful morning with this great review!

The inclusion of complimentary bar and snacks is a great suprise right? We hope you have loved your stay to the fullest.

By the way, do you already like us on Facebook? There we share all our love for Amsterdam with our fans. (And we also host give-aways and other fun stuff)

We hope to welcome you again in the future,

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banks Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.