We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Save Saved
You added Banks Mansion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banks Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Brisbane, Queensland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Just superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

This review is very late in coming but we stayed here over the Kings Day weekend. What an amazing event to witness. It's like St Patricks Day on steroids! Anyway the staff were brilliant and contended well with a few complainers who didn't like the music and partying going on. The location is right on the canal and very central - hence on days like Kings Day you are going to be in the thick of it. Which suited us just fine! But hats off to the staff for the respectful way they handled everyone - they certainly had some interesting challenges (including a gentleman who had visited a coffee shop and now his wife was very concerned and suggesting calling an ambulance!!!)
Anyway the hotel is classic, the rooms a little small but well thought out and everything fitted in fine. Bed was very comfy and we enjoyed the 'all inclusive' aspect of the stay. Breakfast was great, the omelettes the best of my Europe trip!
The Rijks Museum is close by and requires at least half a day. Buy your Anne Franks Haus tickets on line if you can....

Room Tip: A view of the canal is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,296 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    966
    243
    49
    22
    16
See reviews for
120
695
80
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
EXETER UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel is already a favourite of Tripadvisor reporters - and deservedly so. It is well situated, well appointed and well run. The staff are exceptionally good, not just on arrival but throughout the stay - and of course we take it for granted that they all speak impeccable english. The only criticisms in various reviews seem to be (a) that the breakfasts are dull (b) that the rooms are small; (c) that the lounge/reception area is often full and (d) that the minibars are not better stocked. As to (a) there are an equal number of plaudits and for myself I have to say I have had very many worse hotel breakfasts, more often than not alas in the USA; as to (b) perhaps I was fortunate to have a spacious room with good views; as to (c) the free drinks, cheese, newspapers on offer in this area mean that it is inevitably popular and (d) is simply nitpicking since the wide choice of beverages downstairs more than compensates for the limitations upstairs. If I had a concern at all it would be that one opens a bedroom window at ones peril since the mosquitoes from the canal are vicious - but one can hardly blame the hotel for that!

Room Tip: A room on a higher floor overlooking the canal seems the obvious choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey/Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I recently returned from a family vacation in Amsterdam. The five of us stayed in two adjacent rooms at the Banks Mansion. Our experience was uniformly positive and I doubt I will even look at another hotel when planning my next trip to Amsterdam.

Location: Very central on Herengracht at Vijzelgracht. 10 minutes walk to major museums, Jewish quarter, Nautical Museum, De Pijp. 15 minutes walk to Central Station. 20 minutes walk to Anne Frank House. In a week we never needed to use public transportation - we walked everywhere.

Physical plant: The property is immaculate. It appears recently renovated and has art nouveau touches that enhance the look and feel of the place without showing off. The hotel calls its lobby a "living room" and it really does emulate an apartment living room. It's not large and there is no conventional lobby bar, so this is a great use of public space. The guest rooms are generous in size, especially by European standards. The bathrooms are not large but are intelligently laid out. They would not look out of place in an apartment. Fixtures are high end and both towels and bath products are plentiful and of high quality. The decor of the rooms and baths is modern and tasteful. A/C blows as cold as you can stand. Although the hotel is a screaming bargain there are no cut corners to be found anywhere.

Amenities: The hotel is unique among city hotels I have visited (or even heard of) in that virtually everything is included in the room rate. Not just wi-fi and breakfast but in-room movies, snacks and drinks (including beer, wine and spirits) in the well stocked lobby and even the minibar. Each room even has glass decanters with Scotch, Gin and Cognac, which housekeeping tops up as needed. Breakfast is very good and includes an egg/pancake station as well as the usual breads, meats and cheeses. There is a Nespresso Pixie in every room.

Service: I was able to query availability by email and received a prompt response in excellent English. I had a further question and spoke with a manager on the phone. She not only addressed my concern, she emailed me screen caps of her reservation system to show that the problem was resolved. At the hotel, service was uniformly helpful, knowledgeable and extremely friendly. The morning of our departure one of the desk staff reminded us of the time window for our airport shuttle (it could leave 15 minutes before or after the time we booked). When we started to approach the end of the window he volunteered to call the shuttle company to make sure they were on their way.

Value: Unbelievable value. Our trip came together at the last minute and only a few hotels had two rooms available. Our choice came down to the Banks or the nearby Ambassade, which is another 4* that looked great and has a very responsive reservations team. However, the Ambassade's room rates were considerably higher than the Banks' and did not include breakfast (@ EUR 15 pp). No knock at all on the Ambassade, but I am very glad we chose the Banks.

Things to improve: The only thing I can think of is that it would be nice to have more than two Nespresso capsules in the room. I'm sure they would have provided more if I had asked but it would be great to have a few more on hand. If that sounds like a minor criticism, it is. This is a really excellent hotel.

Overall: Top marks in every category. The "full service" concept just makes a good hotel better. I don't see the point of a 5* hotel when traveling with my kids, but I can't imagine the additional star could greatly improve on what the Banks provides. I realize that standards are high in Amsterdam and that many hotels offer high quality property, service and amenities. Nevertheless, this was an outstanding hotel experience and an exceptional value.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the street have larger windows than those in back. Street noise not an issue except...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Esther the hotel manager - well done job by you....we got in at midday and had a room ready for us within 10 minutes.

the free drinks including alcohol and reasonable wine and spirits in the room and at the lobby in a great service, as is the great breakfast. Fantastic Wi Fi

the rooms are good clean and newly renovated in Art Deco style.

we would return

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear guest,

Thank you for the compliment, but of course I could not have done it without my team!

We would love to stay in contact with you via our Facebook. We are planning on a give-away when we reach the 750 likes. Will you be the lucky winner?

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I had a lovely stay at Banks Mansion in August 2014. They staff were very friendly and welcoming as soon as we arrived, and they were helpful with any queries we had re: where to eat, directions etc. The hotel itself was great, and the room was a decent size with a lovely bathroom. The bar area has a selection of guide books available, a computer and ipads for use. The cheese at 5 o'clock each evening was a nice touch and the breakfasts were great- especially the omelettes made to order. The hotel is in a great location by the canal, and within walking distance to bars and restaurants, and Dam Square. If I return to Amsterdam I will definitely try to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear guest,

Lovely stay, Highly recommended! The title of you review is already a pleasure to read. Thank you very much.

We hope to welcome you again in the future. Did you know that we offer special-deals on our website and we always reward direct bookings. Please take a look on our website when you consider booking at us.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had seen great reviews and the hotel was recommended by our travel agent. Welcoming staff were great as expected. We were too early for check in and a welcome coffee/tea was available and advice about where to go while they stored our luggage. On check in we discovered the room was set up for one person only, ie one bathrobe, one towel, one soap, etc only. We asked for two towels and when we returned in the evening this hadn't happened. We had to wait until staff member returned from dinner and then got one bath towel, asked for soap and got it. The hotel is old and looking tatty and unloved. Although our room was a decent size the layout meant that storage for two suitcases was problematic. There were stains on the armchair in our room. In room free mini bar is good and staff replenishing it asked if there was anything else we wanted. Gin, Whisky and one other spirit were available in decanters but we did not use any of these. Query whether it would be wise to do so since one is not sure what may be in decanters that, presumably, are not emptied after each guest? Evening snacks and wine are appreciated but hygiene is a factor - loaf of bread is left there for people to slice for themselves, without a cloth being provided for protection if the loaf while it is being cut - potential for many germs on the loaf of bread after each guest has cut their slice? The young man checking us in urged us to ensure we were there for Friday evening snacks because there would be some thing special at 6pm. At 6.30 pm a staff member circulated with a small plate of deep fried balls of something - I think everyone present got one but maybe not! On a good note, the breakfast was good, eggs were prepared as you preferred them and there was a good spread. We paid more than the advertised price for this hotel and note that it was more expensive than other hotels that have excellent reviews on this site. Overall disappointing - the place has potential but needs a bit of attention if it wishes to remain competitive.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for giving us precious feedback on your stay. Of course we do not like reading that your visit was a dissappointment, but by the fact that we can read it we can also make sure it will not happen again.

Again, we where sorry to hear that you did not enjoyed your stay as much as many other did. Your feedback is taken highly serious and we take action on it.

We hope that we may welcome you once again in the future.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Ditto all past reviews. We stayed at the Andaz, the first 3 nights and while it was lovely, The Banks beats it in every important detail to us. The room cost substantially less at The Banks and the "all inclusive" treats previously mentioned make it a bargain for those of us that are too mature for budget rooms. We will stay here again when we return in September.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view or a bathtub. Seems I had to chose so this time I picked the view, next time, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear guest,

Thank you for this great review. We already liked the fact that you switched from the Andaz to us, but we like it even more that you found the Banks Mansion a better hotel.

We would love to stay in contact with you via Facebook. We are planning on a give-away when we reach the 750 likes. Will you be the winner?

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banks Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.