We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel - Great Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Banks Mansion to your Saves list
Banks Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
New Jersey/Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel - Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I recently returned from a family vacation in Amsterdam. The five of us stayed in two adjacent rooms at the Banks Mansion. Our experience was uniformly positive and I doubt I will even look at another hotel when planning my next trip to Amsterdam.

Location: Very central on Herengracht at Vijzelgracht. 10 minutes walk to major museums, Jewish quarter, Nautical Museum, De Pijp. 15 minutes walk to Central Station. 20 minutes walk to Anne Frank House. In a week we never needed to use public transportation - we walked everywhere.

Physical plant: The property is immaculate. It appears recently renovated and has art nouveau touches that enhance the look and feel of the place without showing off. The hotel calls its lobby a "living room" and it really does emulate an apartment living room. It's not large and there is no conventional lobby bar, so this is a great use of public space. The guest rooms are generous in size, especially by European standards. The bathrooms are not large but are intelligently laid out. They would not look out of place in an apartment. Fixtures are high end and both towels and bath products are plentiful and of high quality. The decor of the rooms and baths is modern and tasteful. A/C blows as cold as you can stand. Although the hotel is a screaming bargain there are no cut corners to be found anywhere.

Amenities: The hotel is unique among city hotels I have visited (or even heard of) in that virtually everything is included in the room rate. Not just wi-fi and breakfast but in-room movies, snacks and drinks (including beer, wine and spirits) in the well stocked lobby and even the minibar. Each room even has glass decanters with Scotch, Gin and Cognac, which housekeeping tops up as needed. Breakfast is very good and includes an egg/pancake station as well as the usual breads, meats and cheeses. There is a Nespresso Pixie in every room.

Service: I was able to query availability by email and received a prompt response in excellent English. I had a further question and spoke with a manager on the phone. She not only addressed my concern, she emailed me screen caps of her reservation system to show that the problem was resolved. At the hotel, service was uniformly helpful, knowledgeable and extremely friendly. The morning of our departure one of the desk staff reminded us of the time window for our airport shuttle (it could leave 15 minutes before or after the time we booked). When we started to approach the end of the window he volunteered to call the shuttle company to make sure they were on their way.

Value: Unbelievable value. Our trip came together at the last minute and only a few hotels had two rooms available. Our choice came down to the Banks or the nearby Ambassade, which is another 4* that looked great and has a very responsive reservations team. However, the Ambassade's room rates were considerably higher than the Banks' and did not include breakfast (@ EUR 15 pp). No knock at all on the Ambassade, but I am very glad we chose the Banks.

Things to improve: The only thing I can think of is that it would be nice to have more than two Nespresso capsules in the room. I'm sure they would have provided more if I had asked but it would be great to have a few more on hand. If that sounds like a minor criticism, it is. This is a really excellent hotel.

Overall: Top marks in every category. The "full service" concept just makes a good hotel better. I don't see the point of a 5* hotel when traveling with my kids, but I can't imagine the additional star could greatly improve on what the Banks provides. I realize that standards are high in Amsterdam and that many hotels offer high quality property, service and amenities. Nevertheless, this was an outstanding hotel experience and an exceptional value.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the street have larger windows than those in back. Street noise not an issue except...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for this wonderful review. I believe your review is a must read for everybody who is interested in staying at Banks Mansion.

We are a unique hotel and we offer a unique experience for everybody who wants to stay in Amsterdam and have a worry free time. I tought your review was perfect, but if I could one thing it would be our special offers on our own website exclusive. These deals even make a stay at Banks Mansion more beneficial.

We hope to welcome you again in the future. May you want to stay with us again always check our website for the best available rates and special offers.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,073
    275
    53
    23
    16
See reviews for
135
784
85
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Esther the hotel manager - well done job by you....we got in at midday and had a room ready for us within 10 minutes.

the free drinks including alcohol and reasonable wine and spirits in the room and at the lobby in a great service, as is the great breakfast. Fantastic Wi Fi

the rooms are good clean and newly renovated in Art Deco style.

we would return

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for the compliment, but of course I could not have done it without my team!

We would love to stay in contact with you via our Facebook. We are planning on a give-away when we reach the 750 likes. Will you be the lucky winner?

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I had a lovely stay at Banks Mansion in August 2014. They staff were very friendly and welcoming as soon as we arrived, and they were helpful with any queries we had re: where to eat, directions etc. The hotel itself was great, and the room was a decent size with a lovely bathroom. The bar area has a selection of guide books available, a computer and ipads for use. The cheese at 5 o'clock each evening was a nice touch and the breakfasts were great- especially the omelettes made to order. The hotel is in a great location by the canal, and within walking distance to bars and restaurants, and Dam Square. If I return to Amsterdam I will definitely try to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear guest,

Lovely stay, Highly recommended! The title of you review is already a pleasure to read. Thank you very much.

We hope to welcome you again in the future. Did you know that we offer special-deals on our website and we always reward direct bookings. Please take a look on our website when you consider booking at us.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We had seen great reviews and the hotel was recommended by our travel agent. Welcoming staff were great as expected. We were too early for check in and a welcome coffee/tea was available and advice about where to go while they stored our luggage. On check in we discovered the room was set up for one person only, ie one bathrobe, one towel, one soap, etc only. We asked for two towels and when we returned in the evening this hadn't happened. We had to wait until staff member returned from dinner and then got one bath towel, asked for soap and got it. The hotel is old and looking tatty and unloved. Although our room was a decent size the layout meant that storage for two suitcases was problematic. There were stains on the armchair in our room. In room free mini bar is good and staff replenishing it asked if there was anything else we wanted. Gin, Whisky and one other spirit were available in decanters but we did not use any of these. Query whether it would be wise to do so since one is not sure what may be in decanters that, presumably, are not emptied after each guest? Evening snacks and wine are appreciated but hygiene is a factor - loaf of bread is left there for people to slice for themselves, without a cloth being provided for protection if the loaf while it is being cut - potential for many germs on the loaf of bread after each guest has cut their slice? The young man checking us in urged us to ensure we were there for Friday evening snacks because there would be some thing special at 6pm. At 6.30 pm a staff member circulated with a small plate of deep fried balls of something - I think everyone present got one but maybe not! On a good note, the breakfast was good, eggs were prepared as you preferred them and there was a good spread. We paid more than the advertised price for this hotel and note that it was more expensive than other hotels that have excellent reviews on this site. Overall disappointing - the place has potential but needs a bit of attention if it wishes to remain competitive.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for giving us precious feedback on your stay. Of course we do not like reading that your visit was a dissappointment, but by the fact that we can read it we can also make sure it will not happen again.

Again, we where sorry to hear that you did not enjoyed your stay as much as many other did. Your feedback is taken highly serious and we take action on it.

We hope that we may welcome you once again in the future.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Ditto all past reviews. We stayed at the Andaz, the first 3 nights and while it was lovely, The Banks beats it in every important detail to us. The room cost substantially less at The Banks and the "all inclusive" treats previously mentioned make it a bargain for those of us that are too mature for budget rooms. We will stay here again when we return in September.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view or a bathtub. Seems I had to chose so this time I picked the view, next time, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for this great review. We already liked the fact that you switched from the Andaz to us, but we like it even more that you found the Banks Mansion a better hotel.

We would love to stay in contact with you via Facebook. We are planning on a give-away when we reach the 750 likes. Will you be the winner?

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Had a wonderful few days in this lovely hotel. The staff are very welcoming and friendly. Very good breakfast and lovely extras like the cheese and wine provided in the evening. Location is ideally located -- flower market and lots of eating places just round the corner and shopping and Dam square only 20 mins walk away

Room Tip: canal views are attractive
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for this lovely review.

Do you already like us on Facebook? Via the Banks Mansion we keep in touch with people who are going to visit us or already did and want to keep on seeing what happens in Amsterdam.
By the way: we are planning on a give-away when we reach the 750 likes. Will you be the winner?

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuckfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

I stayed in Banks Mansion for two nights. This hotel is in a great location, so close to the famous Flower Market and Rembrandt square. It's set nicely in between the shopping areas and the museum district.

I'd really recommend this hotel. It's nicely decorated in an art-deco style... my room wasn't huge (the rooms are different sizes as it's an old building) but followed the art-deco styling well, had a good sized and comfy bed, and was incredibly clean. There was a pillow menu with several pillows to choose from, a room safe, an iron and ironing board, hair dryer and a good quality coffee machine (Nespresso I think).

The bathroom was lovely - a big walk in shower and a large basin. All in black and white, and also incredibly clean.

One surprising thing, there was free alcohol - both in the room and in the hotel lounge. I've found this in one other Amsterdam hotel but it's not that common. There were three large decanters in my room (whiskey, cognac and gin) as well as a free fully stocked mini bar. In the hotel lounge there was also an unstaffed bar where you could help yourself to drink (spirits, beers and wine, and soft drinks too) all day if you wanted. From 4pm there was free cheese, pate and bread and there were also big pots of sweets in the lounge. Breakfast was included in my room price and there was continental and cooked options, as well as yoghurt, cereal and fruit - you could eat as much as you wanted here too.

Another great touch were the iPads and laptops in the lounge. Just pick one up and off you go... no signing in. There's also free wifi throughout the hotel which just required you to accept their Ts&Cs. The staff were pleasant and helpful at all times.

So whilst this is quite an expensive hotel, once you factor in the free wifi and the free food and drink, I think it's really good value. Add to this the amazing location, it's my favourite Amsterdam hotel so far!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for writing this perfect review. It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed the hotel and all it has to offer.

Also thank you for recommending us as a hotel everybody should stay in Amsterdam. We of course hope to welcome them all. To make sure they also enjoy their stay as much as you did we always offer special deals on our website. These special offers are not available via other websites, this way we make sure that everybody who books via our website always receive the best rate.

We hope to welcome you again in the future for another wonderful stay.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banks Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.