We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Banks Mansion to your Saves list
Banks Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 351 Hotels in Amsterdam
uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Totally recommend this hotel. Staff were super friendly and helpful, rooms clean and comfortable. Super little touches too, from the free decanted spirits and minibar in room, and free self service bar in lobby. Can't praise this hotel or its staff highly enough. Wifi free throughout too.

Room Tip: Just book, hotel will do the rest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this wonderful review and for recommending us to the rest of Tripadvisor.

To stay in touch with us maybe you want to connect with us on Facebook? We now have 700 likes and are planning on a give-away when we reacht 750! Please like our page for all updates about the hotel and Amsterdam.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,221
    319
    58
    24
    18
See reviews for
158
913
89
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I arrived at the Banks Mansion on the 29th of July after disembarking from a cruise. I had been sick for the entire cruise and continue to be so. The staff at the hotel could not have been more accommodating. A large area next to the lobby, rightfully called the " living room" boasts very comfortable chairs, sofas & tables. There is an espresso/hot chocolate machine, teas, snacks and best of all computers to check mail etc. all included. In the afternoon various cheeses, breads, soup etc are served . A bar and soft drink area is available 24 hours. I had a appointment with the house doctor who was very good. He advised me to rest as much as possible so instead of my original 5 night stay I have added an additional 5 nights. I currently have a room facing the street but will be moving to a canal view. The staff continue to ask about my health, the other guests are very friendly so there is no downside. By the way, a generous breakfast is included, the hotel is very clean and in a great location.

Room Tip: Need to keep window closed at night with street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear guest,

This review was just what we needed! Thank you so much for writing this review.

We are more than happy to have you as our current guest and to help you during these days. I am sure our front-desk team will ask you again if they can be of any help, but also please let me know if I can help you with anything.

Again thank you for this wonderful review and we will make sure the coming five these will be pleasant.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We stayed two nights during mid July. We got a room on a higher floor overlooking the canal. The room was clean, comfortable with a French (Juliet) type balcony. A nice feature of the hotel is free drinks (including alcohol) along with cheese and other snacks at certain times.

Breakfast was superb - a large buffet with options for all.

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would certainly return.

Room Tip: If you're a very light sleeper then perhaps a room on a higher floor (as with any city hotel)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for this wonderful review.

We would love to stay in contact with you. Hopefully you would like to like us on Facebook!
We are almost at 750 likes and at that moment we are planning on a beautiful give-away.

Hope to welcome you again in the future and to connect with you online.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The Banks Mansion Hotel is situated next the canal and if you have the chance ask for a canal facing room. We had an inside facing one, but it did not affect our impression of the hotel or Amsterdam. Our room was on the smallish side with a large well equipped bathroom, which boasted a full sized bath as well as large separate shower. Everything was immaculately clean. Our bed was super comfy and the room boasted its own expresso machine as well as a good size TV. The minbar was free and there were decanters of whiskey and brandy which were replenished every day if necessary. Likewise the hotel has a free bar, which is open 24 hours, stocking any alcoholic or soft drink you require, including good quality wines. In the afternoon there is a great little spread consisting of pate, cheese etc. which is spread buffet style next to the fireplace.
The staff were excellent and made our stay memorable. They were courteous, helpful, efficient and above all down to earth and friendly. Very difficult to pick fault with this gem in Amsterdam. And by the way, if you have forgotten your IPad they have these available for your use in the bar area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing this great review. In my eyes it contains all the best parts of Banks Mansion. From its location in the centre of Amsterdam, the free amenities and unlimited service of our staff. Thank you for noticing this all.

We would love to stay in contact with you. Hopefully you would like to like us on Facebook!
We are almost at 750 likes and at that moment we are planning on a beautiful give-away.

Hope to welcome you again in the future and to connect with you online.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This is an amazing hotel. Very clean, close to everything. The staff were very pleasant, very helpful. We arrived very early in the morning to the hotel, we were greeted by Mariel and Albert, they were nice and cheerful, they informed us that the check in for the hotel is 3pm, they were very accommodating and they were able to give us our room at 11:00AM. If I ever go back to Amsterdam, I will only stay in this hotel, they also have very good quality breakfast. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for this wonderful review and for recommending our hotel to all Tripadvisor readers.

It is very good to read that you will always stay with us when returning to Amsterdam. To stay in touch with us maybe you want to connect with us on Facebook? Please like our page for all updates about the hotel and Amsterdam. We now have 700 likes and are planning on a give-away when we reacht 750!

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samarkand, Uzbekistan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

My husband attended a conference in Amsterdam, and we find this hotel in Tripadvisor. I cant find a complain about it. The front desk is absolutly‎ amazing! They help you in any matter, restaurants, attractions, trams, taxis, etc. They show kindness in every situation. The breakfast is great!!!! The staff at the breakfast room is so nice....so helpful and the food is really good. The evening snacks with wine, is a great idea. Normally, we returned from sightseeing museums and the city and we are looking for a glass of wine and a little rest before dinner. So, at the lobby we find free wine, beers and evening snakcs with very nice cheeses, charcouterie and even more, one day, we found a terrific Tomate soup! :) . So, we go to the lobby and got relax!!!!!! At the end they were very kind to ask a shuttle to the airport. Banks Mansion is an expensive hotel (we got the 4 x 3 nights promotion) but service and quality is worth the money we have paid. The location is very good very near to Rembrandt Plase, and also we have a direct tram to VU University Amsterdam, where was the conference.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear guest,

Wauw! What a wonderful review. This was a great pleasure to read.

We hope that we can welcome you and your husband again in the future. To make sure that you will receive the best personal service during booking I can advice you to always book via our own website. To reward loyal and direct booking customers we have a special discount code. Please use the discount code FEELHOME on our website and receive a 5% discount.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Excellent hotel, very friendly and helpful staff.
The breakfast was OK but could do with a bit more choice.

One thing we did miss in the morning was tea in the room, there was only coffee available.

Overall this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for this great review!

We do hope to welcome you again in the future.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banks Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.