We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT HOTEL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Banks Mansion to your Saves list
Banks Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Delray Beach, Florida
1 review
“EXCELLENT HOTEL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This is an amazing hotel. Very clean, close to everything. The staff were very pleasant, very helpful. We arrived very early in the morning to the hotel, we were greeted by Mariel and Albert, they were nice and cheerful, they informed us that the check in for the hotel is 3pm, they were very accommodating and they were able to give us our room at 11:00AM. If I ever go back to Amsterdam, I will only stay in this hotel, they also have very good quality breakfast. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for this wonderful review and for recommending our hotel to all Tripadvisor readers.

It is very good to read that you will always stay with us when returning to Amsterdam. To stay in touch with us maybe you want to connect with us on Facebook? Please like our page for all updates about the hotel and Amsterdam. We now have 700 likes and are planning on a give-away when we reacht 750!

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,052
    268
    52
    22
    16
See reviews for
132
766
84
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

My husband attended a conference in Amsterdam, and we find this hotel in Tripadvisor. I cant find a complain about it. The front desk is absolutly‎ amazing! They help you in any matter, restaurants, attractions, trams, taxis, etc. They show kindness in every situation. The breakfast is great!!!! The staff at the breakfast room is so nice....so helpful and the food is really good. The evening snacks with wine, is a great idea. Normally, we returned from sightseeing museums and the city and we are looking for a glass of wine and a little rest before dinner. So, at the lobby we find free wine, beers and evening snakcs with very nice cheeses, charcouterie and even more, one day, we found a terrific Tomate soup! :) . So, we go to the lobby and got relax!!!!!! At the end they were very kind to ask a shuttle to the airport. Banks Mansion is an expensive hotel (we got the 4 x 3 nights promotion) but service and quality is worth the money we have paid. The location is very good very near to Rembrandt Plase, and also we have a direct tram to VU University Amsterdam, where was the conference.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear guest,

Wauw! What a wonderful review. This was a great pleasure to read.

We hope that we can welcome you and your husband again in the future. To make sure that you will receive the best personal service during booking I can advice you to always book via our own website. To reward loyal and direct booking customers we have a special discount code. Please use the discount code FEELHOME on our website and receive a 5% discount.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Excellent hotel, very friendly and helpful staff.
The breakfast was OK but could do with a bit more choice.

One thing we did miss in the morning was tea in the room, there was only coffee available.

Overall this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for this great review!

We do hope to welcome you again in the future.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Even before arriving the correspondence with the hotel regarding recommended restaurants and places to see was excellent. The hotel is deco inspired so sheer joy. Wonderful warm staff who couldn't do enough. Absolutely fabulous bed! Extra touches like the cheeseboard at five pm and the all inclusive facilities made this a fabulous stay. We walked the city for two days but couldn't wait to get back to our hotel! Thank you Amsterdam!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for this wonderful review on your stay.

Good to read that you have enjoyed the warm staff of our hotel. As the General Manager this of course makes me proud of my team.

We hope to welcome you again in the future. To make sure you will receive the best personal service during booking and the best available rate (always!) I advice you to book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The Banks Mansion is pretty close to a perfect hotel. I’m a critical guy and I really can’t think of anything to complain about. My wife and I stayed here for five nights while attending a conference in Amsterdam and we encountered no problems in that time. The hotel is expensive but you really do get your money’s worth. The room rate includes all alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks in the minibar as well decanters of cognac, whiskey, and gin. Wine and cheese is available in the lobby each evening and beer and other drinks are available throughout the day. The breakfast includes cooked to order eggs, pancakes, and French toast and a well-stocked buffet. One morning breakfast was accompanied by live music duet—something we had never experienced before as part of any hotel breakfast. We asked why and were told that it just seemed like a nice idea—and it was. The staff were very accommodating and friendly, and the hotel is within close walking distance to several cafes for lunch and more upscale restaurants for dinner. We’ve been to Amsterdam many times and this is by far the best hotel we have stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear guest,

We are truly honored that you found Banks Mansion by far the best hotel you have stayed in Amsterdam.

Banks Mansion always try to offer value for money. This is also why we have special deals on our website. Because we always reward direct bookings we offer a special discount code for when booking direct. Please visit our website and use the discount code FEELHOME.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We loved everything about this hotel except for one important thing. As everyone notes, the staff is exceptionally friendly (Willem was particularly helpful), the free flowing wine and evening snacks were great, and breakfast was very good (though the breakfast room is in the basement). Our corner room (306) was probably one of the larger ones in the hotel and while it was a bit oddly shaped, it was comfortable. Our main issue that you should be aware of is the hotel's location. It is near many of the city's main attractions, but it is on one of the busier commercial streets in Amsterdam. The views of Herengracht are limited and are dominated by the rather imposing city archive (very unlike the typical Amsterdam buildings) across the canal. The best and most quintessential parts of Herengracht are to the northwest of the hotel. For the price we paid at Banks Mansion, we could have had a room at the Ambassade (where we stayed our last visit) with a more classical view of the canal - albeit without the free drinks and breakfast. Depends on what you want.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-5 on each floor probably have the best canal views though they are smaller than the corner r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for this wonderful en honest review.

Thank you for mentioning the fact that our canal view rooms along the Herengracht have the best view on the beautiful canal. When staying in this rooms you truly have a Amsterdam-feeling. Waking up with a view on the canal and a stroll along the many canals is a unforgettable feeling.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Upmarket but not austere, this spotless hotel, with friendly staff, great breakfast and free mini-bar is in walking distance of everything you'll want to explore, eat or shop for! Tip: no ticket for AnneFrank? Go at 8:30am.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for this great review and for the great tips you give. The Anne Frank tip is a good one.

We always try to offer the most value for money as we can. This is also why we offer special offers exclusively on our own website. For example our Rijksmuseum-offer. Just take a look on our website for the best available rate and best special offers.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banks Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.