We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling at home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Save Saved
You added Banks Mansion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banks Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Feeling at home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Banks Mansion is a very special hotel where you can really feel at home. Very good location, perfect staff: cordial, helpful, friendly, allways ready to make your stay pleasant. Generous service offering you daily delicious happy hour with cheeses and wines, and biscuits, sweets, different kind of drinks in the course of the day. Very good breakfast, excellent quality of meal. Very clean, calm and comfortable. Spacious bathroom with excellent shower cabine and plenty of towells. The suite is also spacious, however the very small wardrobe and unnecessary sculptures... A peaceful harbour in this lovely Amsterdam. Bravo!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    953
    245
    50
    22
    17
See reviews for
109
663
76
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was pleased from the moment they opened the door. Helpful staff with excellent restaurant advice. Great morning breakfast included. The free alcohol and happy hour cheese board is well done and better than expected. Location is probably perfect. Room was not big and upgraded view was ok but it was well appointed. It would be hard to return to the city and not stay here.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in the future. To make sure that you will receive the best personal service and always the best available rate please visit our own website. Here we also offer special offers that our exclusively on our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Banks Mansion is like your own personal small hotel in the middle of a great area but away from all of the tourist junk. The staff was EAGER to assist you with what ever your needs were, they even printed my boarding passes for me. The "full service" concept which is more like "all inclusive" meant you started the day and ended the day with some food in your belly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear guest,

Thank you for this wonderful review. Good to read that you have enjoyed our staff.

Did you know that we offer special deals on our website exclusively. At the moment we do have to museum-special offers.

For a possible future booking please book via our own website for the best personal service, best available rate and our website exclusive special offers.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

You really feel at home when staying at the Banks Mansion. From the welcome upon entering, to the extras to be found in every room, there is a little extra of everything at this hotel. The speakers in the bathroom really freaked my partner out at first, as did the extra strength muffin she decided to wolf down in about 2 minutes. The dated nature of some of the styling of the hotel was outshone by the extra special touches you can enjoy when staying here. From the Nespresso machine, to the crystal decanters full of whisky and brandy, bath robes, and a fabulous double door that opens up to a view of the Amsterdam archives, and the canals beneath. I was really happy to stay here on Valentines Day. A really comfortable bed, great staff and an extra friendly service. I like the location too. Just South enough to reach places that are off the beaten track, like Albert Cuyp Market, VondelPark and the more ethnically dominated areas also. I will be back.!!!!

Room Tip: Choose a central room overlooking the front of the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this great review. Great to hear that you will be back.

Did you know that we offer special deals on our website exclusively. At the moment we do have to museum-special offers.

For a possible future booking please book via our own website for the best personal service, best available rate and our website exclusive special offers.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Banks Mansion for three days and wished we could have stayed longer.
Coming from Hawaii, we are familiar with many hotels and options for tourists. In all our experiences, we have never found a hotel that was so exceptional in all ways as this one. Arriving jet lagged after our 20 hour flight, the staff immediately made us feel welcomed and at home. They continued to do so throughout our stay. The open bar, canal view, delicious breakfast and immaculate rooms all contributed to the superior rating we give this hotel.
Best of all was the warmth and aloha of the staff
We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear guest,

Aloha!

Thank you for this wonderful review. So much kind words, it almost made us blush.

We can also not wait for you to return. Did you know that we offer special deals on our website exclusively. At the moment we do have to museum-special offers.

For a possible future booking please book via our own website for the best personal service, best available rate and our website exclusive special offers.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

My boyfriend and I needed a nice night away from boats and hostels and this was absolutely perfect. Classy, sophisticated and friendly atmosphere! All you can drink bar with amazing choices and fresh cooked infront of you breakfast!! A little bit pricey for us however it's in a great location and the only negative thing that can be said is that the water temperature was hard to maintain and it is an older-age vibe of luxury. Eg. Shoe shine available and slippers ;)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear guest,

It is a pleasure to read that you treated your boyfriend and yourself on a luxurues stay in Amsterdam. Thank you for choosing Banks Mansion for that special night. We hope that it lived up to you expectations.

Did you know that we are trying to offer even more value for money by offering special offers exclusively on our own website. At the moment we have two museum-specials!

We hope to welcome you again in the future. For a possible future booking please visit our website for the best personal service, best available rate and our website only special deals.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Three days in Amsterdam: location makes a difference! specially if you have "full-service concept" as Banks Mansion offers: Drinks and appetizers offered in The Living.
Breakfast buffet in "The Kitchen" is a must! And more...complimentary use of private bar, wifi in the rooms and public area: GREAT!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear guest,

First of all, thank you very much for taking the time to write this review.

It is a pleasure to read that you liked to hotel and our unique concept as much as you did.

Did you know that we are trying to offer even more value for money by offering special offers exclusively on our own website. At the moment we have two museum-specials!

We hope to welcome you again in the future. For a possible future booking please visit our website for the best personal service, best available rate and our website only special deals.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banks Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.