We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Location, Quality and Service!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Banks Mansion to your Saves list
Banks Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Ranked #5 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Outstanding Location, Quality and Service!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for our 2nd Anniversary and we were not disappointed.

The staff were extremely helpful and frankly lovely to deal with. Rooms clean and crisp with a lovely view over the canal - with its fairly central location (approx. 1 mile from the Central Station) also an ideal place to stay to explore Amsterdam.

It is fairly pricey but with its city location this should not be surprising however this is offset by the fact breakfast, afternoon cheese / cold meat selection and complementary bar along with the superb staff making it a worthy place to stay.

I was highly impressed and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend Banks to anyone..

Room Tip: Worth the extra to get a canal view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guests,

We were already delighted to read the title of your review, and it only got better reading the review! Thank you very much for these lovely words. We are happy to hear you have thoroughly enjoyed your 2nd Anniversary trip to Amsterdam this much. And thank you for recommending Banks Mansion to other travelers all over the world!

We would be happy to welcome you back for another anniversary trip (or for another reason of course). Please check our website for the best available rates!


With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,018
    261
    51
    22
    16
See reviews for
130
734
83
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Lovely hotel, we were made very welcome and offered drinks on arrival which was nice. The room was excellent and really comfortable. And what's more complimentary mini bar in your room with decanter of whiskey,gin and cognac. In the lounge area you can help yourself to a free bar with top brands. Brilliant and in the centre of everything and walking distance to all the museums and top attractions

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this great review about your recent stay at Banks Mansion. I am happy to hear you felt welcome in the hotel and have enjoyed the proximity to all museums and other interesting attractions in Amsterdam.

Hopefully we will welcome you back in the near future!


With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Having been many times to Amsterdam on business and stayed in the usual corporate hotels, I decided to look for a more boutique hotel when taking my wife for a weekend away. We were pretty hamstrung on choice as we were booking late, but liked to look of the Banks Mansion. However, on trying to book on many sites (including their own) it was saying fully booked for the weekend we wanted. Luckily the last site we looked at had one room showing so we booked up.

The look of the hotel is beautiful and overlooks the magnificent Herengracht canal. You are therefore close enough to everything, but can get away from the madness easily. Everywhere is within walking distance, and in particular there were many great cocktail bars and restaurants within 5/10 minutes walk.
The staff were excellent, and extremely helpful (particular thanks to Willem), and nothing was too much trouble. Very easy to book up trips and tram tickets from reception.

The all inclusive aspect was also very good, although the choice of drinks in the rooms was a bit limited. Not sure the choice matched the clientele (vodka may be a better match for the demographic, and a could of beers wouldn't have gone amiss) but it's a small issue as you are close enough to the help yourself bar to pop out and grab some. The bar is also great in that it never closes, so nice to have a nightcap after soaking up the sights until the wee small hours.
Breakfast as also good, and the cheeseboard at night is a good idea as it made us leave the room a bit earlier than normal to try it and then had the rest of the night to enjoy the city.

The only other negatives I could give were minor ones and explainable. Our room was very small, but it was the last one available so understandable. On the plus side, it was the first room in the hotel so we couldn't get lost! Also, it was really quiet so no idea how anyone could complain about noise.
Also, there was a launch party in the lounge area on the Friday which we were invited along to. This was lovely, but it meant there were no seats available so we had to stand for a few hours.

All in all, this is an excellent hotel for a romantic or fun break and we will certainly look to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this extensive review; I always love to read about the experiences of our guests. How nice to hear that you enjoyed staying along the -indeed magnificent- Herengracht canal. And thank you very much for the amazing compliments toward the staff. I will share your particular thanks to Willem with him.

Regarding the room; all rooms have double-glazed windows, so indeed it should be quiet enough for a great night sleep, I am happy to hear you thought so too!

Thanks again for this great review, we are looking forward welcoming you back in the near future for another romantic and fun break! Please visit our website for the best available prices.


With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

What a great hotel. A real gem and boutique vibe. The staff is just fantastic. Help with everything no matter how minor. Making your stay all the better. Lobby is fun place to hang out. Music, events and guest all chatting. Feels like a home away from home. Room was small but canal view sublime.
Bed was perfect. Food was fantastic. I cant say enough good things about this hotel and I travel ALOT. It's the bend of fun and efficiency. Free booze. Free snacks. Ipads. etc.. just plain making guests feel like home. Thank you staff for going out of your way. Even the fellow who took 30 minutes helping me print my return ticket. You are all world class in what you do. I'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear guest,

We are speechless because of your amazing, lovely words. Thank you very, very much for all these compliments; I will share them with all the staff. It always is our goal to make our guests feel at home – I am proud to hear that we accomplished this during your stay!

We would be delighted to welcome you back soon!


With warm regards,

Esther Boers,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Banks Mansion for one night after a cruise in May, 2014. The hotel is in a very nice location, removed from the tourist areas of the city but still walking distance to wherever you need to go.

The complementary bar in the lobby offering coffees, teas, water, soft drinks and liquor was a really nice feature. It provided a "living room" atmosphere in the lobby. They even furnished complementary iPads for use in the lobby. In the afternoon, they offer a cheese tray for their guests. All of these gave you a very "homey" feeling to the hotel.

The room was the usual small hotel room for Europe but very adequate for two people. Also a nice bathroom and everything was very clean. The bed was wonderful with what we thought was a foam pillow top. The room also had a surprising feature - a bar with crystal decanters with various liquors. Can honestly say - that was a first for us!

I would definitely recommend this hotel. The staff was very friendly and accommodating , the hotel was clean, location was great.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this lovely review about your recent stay at Banks Mansion. I am delighted to hear you thought our Living really felt like a “ living room”, the bed was wonderful and the decanters were a “ first for you” – we always try to surprise our guests with “ little secrets”.

Thank you for recommending Banks Mansion to other travelers all over the world. We would be happy to welcome you back!


With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Our travel agent highly recommended this boutique hotel to us as a central location for our business meetings. He'd mentioned that it was one of his favourite hotels and we could see why. The charming character and architecture of the building, the decor inside, the proximity to the city, restaurants, tours, the nine's shopping district was fantastic and to be located next to the canal was a real bonus.

The staff were incredibly professional and friendly and made us feel at home as soon as we arrived, check-in was seamless, and our deluxe room was very clean, adequately spacious and comfortable.

It was great to return from a day out to an open bar with nibbles to relax in comfortable chairs- a very stylish home away from home. The suggestions from the front desk regarding activities, bar and restaurant suggestions were spot on. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for writing this great review. I am so delighted to hear that this is one of your travel agent’s favourite hotels, and after staying it is yours as well! The proximity to all hotspots in the city really is convenient and the location along one of the three main canals in Amsterdam adds a real bonus to the experience of being in Amsterdam.

We would be happy to welcome you “ home away from home” in the near future! Please check our website for the best available prices.


With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Amazing hotel, great service, amazing breakfast, wine, cheeses and meats everyday at 5:00 and all included in the price! Oh so is beer and spirits all day every day! After travelling through Europe this year this hotel is truly a one of a kind gem!!!!!
LOVE IT - LOVE IT! THANK YOU

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear guest,

Wow! We just LOVE your review! I am so happy that you have enjoyed Banks Mansion this much and thought that of all hotels you have been to in Europe Banks Mansion was the “one of a kind”.

We would love to welcome you back in the near future!


With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banks Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.