We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Homely Mansion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Banks Mansion to your Saves list
Banks Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“A Homely Mansion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Our travel agent highly recommended this boutique hotel to us as a central location for our business meetings. He'd mentioned that it was one of his favourite hotels and we could see why. The charming character and architecture of the building, the decor inside, the proximity to the city, restaurants, tours, the nine's shopping district was fantastic and to be located next to the canal was a real bonus.

The staff were incredibly professional and friendly and made us feel at home as soon as we arrived, check-in was seamless, and our deluxe room was very clean, adequately spacious and comfortable.

It was great to return from a day out to an open bar with nibbles to relax in comfortable chairs- a very stylish home away from home. The suggestions from the front desk regarding activities, bar and restaurant suggestions were spot on. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for writing this great review. I am so delighted to hear that this is one of your travel agent’s favourite hotels, and after staying it is yours as well! The proximity to all hotspots in the city really is convenient and the location along one of the three main canals in Amsterdam adds a real bonus to the experience of being in Amsterdam.

We would be happy to welcome you “ home away from home” in the near future! Please check our website for the best available prices.


With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,051
    268
    52
    22
    16
See reviews for
132
765
84
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Amazing hotel, great service, amazing breakfast, wine, cheeses and meats everyday at 5:00 and all included in the price! Oh so is beer and spirits all day every day! After travelling through Europe this year this hotel is truly a one of a kind gem!!!!!
LOVE IT - LOVE IT! THANK YOU

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear guest,

Wow! We just LOVE your review! I am so happy that you have enjoyed Banks Mansion this much and thought that of all hotels you have been to in Europe Banks Mansion was the “one of a kind”.

We would love to welcome you back in the near future!


With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Well located near the center of the city and the museums are within walking distance and a tram stop was nearby. Service was excellent, as was also the breakfast. Room was quiet, comfortable, and had all of the features one could want, including a bathtub. Only 4 rating because carpet in the room was starting to wear, and the room could use an update / refresh.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for this lovely review. How nice to hear that you have enjoyed the proximity to all hotspots in Amsterdam, the breakfast, service of the staff and facilities in the room. Thank you for mentioning the status of the carpet in the room; we have already planned to do some works during the lower season. Thank you!

We hope to be welcoming you back in the near future! Please check our website for the best available prices.


With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed here at the beginning of June and can honestly say all of the reviews were 100% right. The staff were incredibly welcoming, our rooms lovely and breakfast was fantastic. The omelettes were particularly good. The drinks in the lounge are very welcome on hot days and we especially enjoyed the cheese and wine at 5 every evening. Plenty of restaurants around and very well placed for the museums.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the hotel and its concept. Did you know that we are going to renew the living to make it an even more pleasant place? Also to make the stay in Amsterdam more pleasant we offer special deals on our website only, like a Rijksmuseum-package!

To make sure you will receive the best personal service and best available rate please always book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Recently was in Amsterdam again and stayed for the third time at the Banks Mansion. The staff was friendly and helpful as usual. The daily breakfast, included in the room rate, is a made to order delight. Additionally, the rooms are excellent and the location on the canal is a bonus. Free drinks are included at a full bar in the lobby and additional complementary bottles are in each room. I look forward to my next stay at this amazing hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this nice review. It is a pleasure to read.

It is truly good to read that you are already looking forward to your next stay. Did you know that on our own website we offer special deals. Like the Rijksmuseum-package? These special offers are only on our own website.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in the future.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Banks Mansions for 3 nights and we enjoyed every moment. The many positive reviews are totally true and well written. This is an outstanding, luxury, boutique hotel in great location by the canal. The staff was all warm and helpful. The full breakfast was excellent. The common areas offer tea, coffee and alcohol which allowed us to watch the World Cup games with other guests and talk and share experiences with them. The location could not be any better. The room and bathroom were perfect size and very clean. The complementary bar in our room which included Gene, Whiskey, & Cognac in addition to all the goodies and soft drinks & juices in the mini fridge were exceptional. The only suggestion I have is to replace the carpet in rooms, hallways, and elevator with a more up-to-date plain color. The current carpet looks a bit out-dated and worn-out which downgrades the luxuriousness of the hotel.
All together we will definitely return to this hotel and totally recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear guest,

What a wonderful review! Thank you very much.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the hotel and its concept. Did you know that we are going to renew the living to make it an even more pleasant place? Also to make the stay in Amsterdam more pleasant we offer special deals on our website only, like a Rijksmuseum-package!

To make sure you will receive the best personal service and best available rate please always book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The many enthusiastic reviews are entirely justified. The hotel is outstanding in all respects. The staff was especially warm and helpful and deserves the highest praise. The breakfast was excellent; the location could not be better.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review.

To make sure you will receive the best personal service and best available rate, please always book via our own website. Also for the best web only special offers!

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banks Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.