We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Save Saved
You added Banks Mansion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banks Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Rogers, Arkansas
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

What a fantastic hotel!! Every minute of our stay was great - beginning with the people at the front desk. They stored our luggage for us as we flew in early. They told us how to get to the Keukenhof gardens - what tram, bus, etc. to take - which was so helpful!! The amenities are great - breakfast, drinks in the lobby along with delicious snacks, and drinks in your room. It is truly a lovely place!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for this wonderful review. It is a pleasure to read that you found Banks Mansion a truly lovely place.

We hope to welcome you again in the future. To make sure that you will receive the best personal service and best available rate when booking, please use our own hotel website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    993
    252
    50
    22
    16
See reviews for
126
715
80
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auchterarder, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

As a first time traveller to Amsterdam this Hotel is ideally situated next to the Gentleman's Canal just off Rembrandt Square directly across from the flower market. Stylish interior and rooms to relax in. While the staff were very welcoming and informative helping with attractions taxis flyes ect. One of the best breakfasts for variety so far on my travels, omelletes cooked at your table by chef. Relaxed informal lounge/bar with WiFi drinks included made this a great space to meet other guests or plenty privacy to.. I will certainly stay at Bank Mansion again hopefully real soon. Thanks again for an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing this “amazin review” on your first – and hopefully not last – visit to Amsterdam and the Banks Mansion. I am proud to read your lovely words about the staff and I am delighted to hear you thought the breakfast buffet and the life cooking have been one of the best breakfasts for variety from all places you visited.

We are looking forward welcoming you back in the near future! For the best available rate I can advice you to always book via our own website.


With kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay at Banks Mansion. Really happy with the service at the hotel. Friendly staff and room was ready early.
Unfortunately it rained during the whole stay, but again the hotel were very helpful, lending umbrellas.
All Inclusive option was great, after a day in the rain, it was great to help yourself to a drink.
Breakfast was ok, but no full English I'm afraid!
Cheese and wine was a nice touch in the afternoon and created a lovely atmosphere in the lounge. Room was lovely - we opted for a canal view room - lovely view on the 3rd floor with a free minibar and spirits. A lovely hotel to explore the city - Thanks Banks Mansion!

Room Tip: Canal view on a high floor - great view and little noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Guests,

We were already delighted to read the title of your review, and we only feel better and better while reading your review! Thank you very much for writing these lovely words about your recent stay. Unfortunately we cannot change the Dutch weather; it might be rainy – it might be sunny. We hope to welcome you back soon when the weather is better; the personalized service in Banks Mansion will be the same, but you will probably experience a different Amsterdam!


With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planet Earth
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I can only add what other reviewers have stated, this is a great option in Amsterdam, walking distance to everything, on the canals. This was our first trip to Amsterdam, Banks Mansion did not disappoint. Free coffees, drinks, happy hour cheese snacks, all a nice touch. Front desk help are top notch. I've heard it could get noisy, we opted for the deluxe canal view, it was quiet enough for a central location and pricey, we paid ~$330/night in advance....

We visited on a holiday weekend, as the front desk told us "those are drunk tourists making all the noise"

Room Tip: deluxe canal view, 2nd floor was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review about your recent stay at Banks Mansion!

It is great to read you thought the front desk staff provided “top notch” help. We will share this great compliment with all of them; it will make them love their job even more.

We would be happy to welcome you back in the near future. For the best available rate and best personal service I can advice you to always book via our own website.


With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Overall, this hotel is very nice. Drinks are available for free in the lounge area 24 hr, the selection includes non-alcoholic beverages, wine and good variety of liqueurs. Every day at five, they also bring a few types of cheese. All this is very nice to have available at either the end of a sightseeing day or just before heading out for dinner. The room we had had a partial view of the canal, the size was relatively small but you forget about this when you enjoy the also free whiskey, scotch and gin available in the room. There is also a mini fridge in the room which in our case was rather empty and the two bottles of water were not replaced each day, only on two of the 3 days we were there these were replaced. Also, they only provided one bar soap on 2 of the 3 days we were there, which is inconvenient. Breakfast was very good, wide selection from fruit, cereals, eggs (made to order), bread (different types), cheese, mustards, jams, coffee.
As our room was facing the street, noise from traffic and people could be heard, however the balcony (yes, there is one for just standing), has double windows so that helps. Earplugs solved the problem as well. The bed was a true double bed and very comfortable.

Rijks museum is a short walk away (10 min) and the street along the canal was just very pleasant to walk at night, safe, quite, charming.

Several restaurants (several by the canals) are within a short walking distance.
Staff was friendly and courteous. Thank you!

Room Tip: Rooms facing canal may be quieter than rooms facing the busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for this great review. It is always nice to read about the experiences of our guests.

It is great to hear you have enjoyed the location of Banks Mansion and the full-service concept which includes all the drinks and appetizers in the bar in the Living area, all drinks in the room and the breakfast buffet and the life cooking in the breakfast restaurant. We are sorry to hear you would have liked to have some extra bottles of water and some extra soap bars; we would have been happy to give you some extra during your stay. Next time you are in Banks Mansion, please do not hesitate to ask for it!

Thanks again for your great review. We hope to be welcoming you back in the near future!


With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Banks Mansion is the perfect hotel for exploring Amsterdam. The location is unmatched. The accommodations are fantastic. The full service concept is a great addition to the friendly service and excellent location. The breakfast is great and the rooms are good sized and clean. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a great place to tour Amsterdam from. It is not a 5 star luxury property, so don't expect a Four Seasons. But you're not paying that price either! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Banks Mansion. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed the location of the hotel; Amsterdam has so many nice spots to discover, and all of them are within walking distance from Banks Mansion. Thank you very much for “highly recommending” Banks Mansion to other travelers from all over the world when they will be in Amsterdam.

We would be happy to welcome you back in the near future!

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Everything about our stay was perfect. This is a great hotel in the middle of Amsterdam. We walked everywhere and we're in our 70's. Breakfast couldn't have been better, more abundant. Desk was always helpful and cheerful. Late afternoon buffet completely generous. Free wine, coffee, bottled water. Quiet.The pretty perfect Amsterdam Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for this great review.

We are looking forward to welcome you again. To make sure you will receive the best available rate and best personal service please book direct via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Otel and Venere so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banks Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.