We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost nirvana” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Banks Mansion to your Saves list
Banks Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Manchester, England
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Almost nirvana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Location is very central. Easy walking to all the main attractions. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel adds little touches like free drinks in room, a free self-serve bar with snacks, coffee, soft drinks, beer and wine in the lobby. Free cheese and selection of sausages at tea time in the lobby. Several iPads to use in lobby. Breakfast is included, with omlette/pancake chef and excellent fresh breads, cheeses, fruit, and meats. Rooms are a little small but OK for a central historic hotel. No bath - we like a soak after a day walking, but no big deal really. Very clean. Comfortable beds. Deserves high Tripadvisor rating.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear guest,

What a wonderful review. Thank you very much for writing all these kind words.

We are looking forward to welcome you again. To make sure you will receive the best available rate and best personal service please book direct via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,078
    276
    53
    23
    16
See reviews for
136
787
85
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
jerusalem
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I to Amsterdam for business and stayed at the Banks Hotel. The location is great - right on the water. The hotel is clean but the sheets smelled of smoke. The staff was helpful and nice to deal with. They clearly try hard and want you to be happy. I would stay in the hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is good to read that you enjoyed staying at the Banks Mansion.

We would love to welcome you again in the future. For the best available rate and best personal service I can advice you to always book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

This beautifully run boutique hotel lived up to all it's publicity and reviews. After a warm welcome we were shown to a modern, well appointed room facing the canal. The bathroom was clean and spacious and the air conditioning worked perfectly. All consumables in the room, including wine and hard liquor, are on the house. In the lobby there is, also gratis, an extensive cheese offering at 5 pm as well as other drink and snack service throughout the day. Breakfast, also included, is ample and delicious. The staff was always ready to assist with dinner reservations, directions, and recommendations. To sum it up, this is about as good a small hotel as any we've enjoyed in many years of travel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing this beautiful review. It is much appreciated.

We hope we can welcome you again at the Banks Mansion in the future.
For the best available rate and best personal service I can advice you to always book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We just completed our second stay at the Banks Mansion in Amsterdam (4 nights).

This hotel is just great! From the friendly staff, to the clean comfortable rooms, to the "living room' (aka lobby), to the fast Wifi, this hotel "gets it." The staff is very friendly. The breakfasts are wonderful. And the lobby is stocked with free wine, beer, coffee, soft drinks and juices.

We just love staying at this hotel, and look forward to a future return visit.

To everyone at the Banks Mansion: Thank you!!!

Room Tip: A great choice for Amsterdam.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for this wonderful review about your second stay at Banks Mansion.

We of course enjoy having you as our guest and we hope to welcome you again in the future. For the best available rate and best personal service I can advice you to always book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We booked the night before with booking.com and it had 1 available double room left so we booked it. On arrival we found out sadly that another couple had booked it at the same time. We were greeted by Willem who was very welcoming and told us the problem. The great thing was rather than being left disappointed the hotel had arranged for us to stay in the Albus hotel 3 doors away and had upgraded our room to a suite. We still could use all the facilities at the Banks Mansion and have breakfast there. The booking error was well handled and we had a lovely overnight stay. Willem catered for all our needs as did all the people at the Albus, there are many city hotels out there that could learn a lot from these teams they were all super.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We find it a great compliment that you experienced a inconvience solved properly. We have passed on the compliments to our neighbours.

We would love to welcome you in the future so that you can also experience a night in the Banks Mansion. For the best service and best available rate I can advice you to book via our own website or call the hotel.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

This well located hotel is a few minutes walk from EVERYTHING you will wish to do. The rooms are spacious and the bathroom, dear me, a real shower that my six foot frame easily fits under. The people are wonderful, cheese and wine in the afternoon, drinks at bar included, snacks out and sleek iPads out to browse today's adventures. All around spectacular.

A few blocks from the Rijk and Museums, 8 minute walk to Anne Frank House, restaurants galore around the corner in the Rembrandt square, even a short walk to Ballet. Get here by walk or easier a short ride on tram 16 or 24 via tram stop A at central station.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for this wonderful review.

We would love to welcome you again in the future. To make sure you will receive the best personal service and the best available rate I advice you to book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

I stayed here three nights last week and needed to come back for one more night (tonight). When I checked out, I asked clearly and specifically if I could please reserve the EXACT same room and I was told absolutely yes.

I just checked in and the same woman I booked the room with said that my room was already taken and I'd have to accept a different room on a lower floor. She said it was exactly the same. Apparently she has never been in this room because it is very different. It is noisier and there is are no balcony doors. Same price. I honestly feel very tricked. If I wasn't so travel weary, I would check out of here this instant. For what I am paying, I think they could, and should, do much better than this. Such a shame. Look elsewhere if you are looking for reliability and integrity.

Room Tip: It's very noisy, so look for an upper room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear guest,

We find it very sadly to read this review. During the first three nights we had the feeling that you were enjoying your stay and that there was a relation between yourself and our staff.

Whe are a small hotel with only three executive rooms. This is why we can not promise the exact same room and this is something what should not happen.

Thank you for writing this review as it helps us to make our service even better. We hope that at the end you will look back on a nice stay in the great city of Amsterdam.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banks Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.