We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gorgeous Stay thanks to tripadvisor!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Banks Mansion to your Saves list
Banks Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
San Diego, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Gorgeous Stay thanks to tripadvisor!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Banks Mansion ... from the moment we arrived, Willem took care of us and made us feel at home! He showed us around the hotel and offered great suggestions for each of our days. The hotel sits on a canal with many rooms having views over the water. The rooms are not large, but very well appointed and comfortable for a multi-day stay. The lobby is treated by Banks as the "living room" with comfortable, well-lit seating areas. They have a 24/7 cappuccino/expresso bar with beer and wine available as part of the stay. It was great spending an hour with a cold beer and cheese while surfing the web between day and night. Banks is in a great location for walking to see the city. The Van Gogh and Rijks is roughly two-thirds of a mile walk from the hotel. The Anne Frank and the waterfront is roughly the same in the opposite direction. Our four night stay was a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a canal view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear guest,

It is a great pleasure to read that you felt at home in our hotel.

We would love to welcome you again in the future. To make sure you will receive the best personal service and the best available rate I advice you to book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,189
    312
    57
    23
    17
See reviews for
156
886
88
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

The Banks was such a great place to stay. My friend and I loved the friendly staff, clean rooms, and breakfast. The accessibly to drinks and snacks in the lobby was also really great. The lobby was so comfortable and a relaxing place to regroup during adventures sightseeing. We also utilized the shuttle to the airport arranged by the front desk staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for this wonderful review!

We would love to welcome you again in the future. To make sure you will receive the best personal service and the best available rate I advice you to book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Banks Mansion was absolutely wonderful. Breakfast was bountiful and yummy. The cappuccino machine made the best drinks ever. I wanted to bring it home with me! Very clean and the white linen table clothes and napkins were so special. One hint is to get to the breakfast before closing. Don't sleep in and arrive at 10:30. The ladies must keep on schedule. Don't miss the breakfast it is out of this world! The lounge area is open I think starting at 4pm and is open until about 10 or longer if you drink anything other than wine. Such a relaxing spot....especially when it is raining. Funny thing about Amsterdam is that it rained during the day and cleared up at night. Not sure why but it was May when we went and the weather was not fantastic. Didn't matter because we had a place to call home and what a home it was! Free wifi with ipads and computers throughout the lounge area. Fireplace was wonderful. The cheese, crackers and fresh bread was fabulous. The ladies at the front desk always smiled, were cheerful, helpful and the best I have ever experienced. Always ask for a business card for the hotel prior to leaving this beautiful hotel. We ventured out at night and got lost. The canals all look the same to visitors and it is easy to get lost. My daughter and I did and I will tell you it took us hours to find our way home.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for this wonderful review.

It is a absolut pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay at Banks Mansion.

We would love to welcome you again in the future. To make sure you will receive the best personal service and the best available rate I advice you to book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My husband I just returned from an extended trip in Europe, and our night at Banks Mansion was a highlight! We wished we had more time, was this was just a resting spot after a Rhine River cruise. The staff was great - making us feel at home from the moment we walked in the door. There are many nice touches: the 24 hour coffee and cocktail bar in the lobby, the cognac waiting for us in our room, in a crystal decanter, the lovely breakfast. Oh, and the MOST comfortable bed in all of Europe!! All of that, and a location hard to beat! Minutes from Rembrandt Square and the floating flower market; short walk to Central Station; longer but easy walk to Van Gogh Museum. We WILL be back to this Amsterdam gem!!!

Room Tip: We had an Executive/Canal View room. Couldn't have been happier!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for this wonderful review. It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed our hotel and our wonderful staff.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in the future. For the best personal service and the best available rate, please always book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is undoubtedly a popular hotel given the other reviews - Did we miss something?

Let's start with the positives, yes the hotel is in a great location, the bed was comfortable, you get a menu of pillows to choose from, the curtains keep out a fair amount of light and of course there's the 'free' refreshments. The lounge/bar where you consume your free drinks is a cool contemporary place to chill out after a hard day of sight seeing and the access to ipads and free Wifi very useful in helping you find local restaurant reviews.

However, the 'unparalleled luxury' and 'boutique' nature of this alleged 4 star hotel was somewhat lacking, the rooms were tired with stained carpets and the breakfast basement room (serving average fodder) reminded me of a work's canteen in the early 90s.

The 'customer service' was lacklustre and full of empty platitudes. I'm a light sleeper, see below if you need the detail, and despite expressing obvious distress about noise at no point did any member of staff try to present a solution or demonstrate any concern. Now for me one of the main deal breakers for a hotel is the sleep quality and I've stayed in many city centre hotels in London (and in Amsterdam) where noise isn't an issue.

The rest of the review elaborates on the problems encountered and for those of you who think I'm just having a good moan there's no reason to read on. I can say that all the restaurants we visited whilst on this trip were great and I'll be writing positive reviews about them.

The Sleep/Service Issue:
I'd had reservations about booking a hotel close to a main road, but had read about the rooms being sound proofed and had opted for a canal view just to be sure - Well as the receptionist put it 'All the canal rooms are noisy'. So do bear that in mind before you part with your extra cash. We could have moved to a smaller room at the back (note, they didn’t actually offer to show us any other room and said we’d have to pay an extra 50 Euros to cover the house keeping costs involved in changing rooms. Clearly the complaint was an inconvenience to them and this was my first of 4 in our 5 day stay), but our room was already fairly small, though bigger than other canal view rooms (we managed to sneak views). I braved it out and actually got used to the traffic, Saturday night (our first night) being obviously quite raucous. The problem was that the hotel's ventilation system, that permanent bathroom fan noise (in the bedroom) then kept me awake and at the Banks Mansion it's one of those hotel wide systems that they have no individual control over, so they do that routine where first they pretend they don't know what it is - Is it your air conditioning? (it never is), then they say 'Well it was like that before and it's like that all the time' I even complained that the system was so strong in it's drying out capacity that breathing was difficult. Nothing - The point is dear reception people that you are supposed to do something about your guest's discomfort, not offer lame excuses repeatedly.

In short this hotel is over rated both in accounts of splendour and service, unless of course you're the kind of traveller who can be charmed by as many free glasses of alcohol that you can manage, then you'll love it.

Room Tip: All canal view rooms are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Of course we like to read positive reviews better than negative ones, but it is unavoidably. From critical reviews we always try to learn.

Thank you for pointing out that when a guest has discomfort the key factor is to solve the problem. This is our policy and our staff is trained to listen to the guest and offer a reasonable solution. I do hope you can agree that when damage is done, a solution not always feels satisfying but fact is that the staff is doing their utmost best. The staff remembers this case and feels truly sorry that the offerd solutions (a new room in the back of the hotel) was not sufficient. They felt like they understood your discomfort and were more than willing to help.

We do hope that you do have enjoyed the wonderful city of Amsterdam and will one day return.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Just returned from an enjoyable 3 night break . Very happy with my choice of Banks Mansion- the reviews were spot on.
As others have mentioned it was very relaxing to come back to the lounge for drinks and cheese after a day of sightseeing. The cheese selection was very good and it was lovely to have a glass of prosecco. The iPads were very useful too. Also after going out for dinner in the evening it was good to come back for coffee and a Baileys or amaretto.
All members of staff were very helpful, we mainly dealt with Willem and Felicia who was cheerful and enthusiastic.
One excellent feature for me as a lady who needs to straighten her hair was an English plug socket right next to the mirror so I didn't even need an adaptor!
Breakfast was the usual buffet fare but it was good to have eggs cooked to order.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear guest,

It is good to read that you found earlier reviews on Tripadvisor spot on and that you now have taken the time to share your own experiences with us and possible future guests of Banks Mansion. Thank you for that!

We would of course love to welcome you again in the future. To make sure you will receive the best personal service and best available rate please book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed at the Banks Mansion for two days prior to a river cruise. The staff there is helpful and nice. The breakfasts were good, the room clean. Wonderful atmosphere in the lobby and the open bar for drinks and soft drinks a very nice addition. My husband forgot his sport jacket at the hotel when we checked out for our cruise. The front desk bagged the jacket and put it in a taxi to our ship when we called. The jacket arrived safe and sound within a half an hour. Thank you Banks Mansion.

Room Tip: The nicest rooms face the canal but the rooms are small by US standards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for this wonderful review!

Truly good to hear that your husbands sportjacket arrived safe and sound before you departed on the river cruise. We where of course glad to be of help. Hopefully you had a wonderful cruise.

We would of course love to welcome you again in the future. To make sure you will receive the best personal service and best available rate please book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banks Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.