We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Banks Mansion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Banks Mansion to your Saves list
Banks Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Danbury, Connecticut
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Banks Mansion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

The Banks Mansion Hotel in Amsterdam is the best European hotel at which I have stayed. It is centrally located, very clean, comfortable and attended by a most gracious, knowledgeable and helpful staff. there are iPads in the lounge for use by guests. An open bar with every imaginable drink- hard and soft available to help oneself and a cheese buffet each afternoon. The rooms are on the small side but very comfortable and well appointed.The breakfast is amazing with a cook to take your requests and whip them out for you.

Room Tip: If there is no celebration like King's Day going on, any room is fine although I believe some ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear guest,

"a most gracious, knowledgeable and helpful staff".

Thank you very much for these flattering words!

We hope to welcome you again in the future. To make sure you will receive the best personal service and best available rate please book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,023
    263
    52
    22
    17
See reviews for
130
740
83
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Have just returned from a three night stay at the Banks Mansion. What a lovely hotel. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, nothing was too much for them. The hotel is well located, close to the flower market and in easy walking distance to everything. We found the hotel easily when walking from Centraal station on arrival. The full service concept is a brilliant idea. Included in your room price is breakfast which had a good choice, including having eggs, pancakes and french toast cooked to order and was always being re-stocked; in your room a mini bar with water, beer and soft drinks, three decanters of spirits - cognac, whiskey and gin and a Nespresso coffee machine; in the hotel lounge there is a coffee machine plus a good selection of tea bags, fridges with bottles of beer, water and soft drinks, a selection of spirits, from 4pm red, white and rose wine, prosecco and between 5 and 8pm a selection of cheese and meat. There were also iPads in the lounge area for guests to use and the hotel had free wi-fi throughout. These are all extra touches which make the hotel special. We arrived at the hotel well before check in time. Whilst rooms were available then I had asked for a room on a higher floor and none of these were available yet. Willem who was checking us in did not want us to compromise on our request so said it would be best for us to come back later but were able to leave our luggage. It was nice that our request was being granted and that they didn't want to just get us into another room that was available at the time. Willem then gave us a tour of the communal areas of the hotel, explained their full service concept and provided us wtih a map and leaflets, listing some places which may be of interest. Cannot wait to return,

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this extensive and wonderful review. Your review describes all the point on which we want to exceed.

We hope to welcome you again in the future. To make sure you will receive the same personal service as you did in the hotel and the best available rate I advice you to book directly via us.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
Genernal Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We were extremely pleased with our four day stay at Banks Mansion Amsterdam the weekend before Easter. The staff was super friendly, helpful and welcoming. The included breakfast and late afternoon wine & cheese was perfect. The location on a beautiful canal is central to everything in Amsterdam with a convenient tram stop outside the front door. We liked Room 402, top floor, larger room, very quiet, nice canal view and bathroom with walk-in rain head shower. We really enjoyed Amsterdam and Banks Mansion was a big part in making our trip so memorable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for this friendly en truly nice review. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay.

We would like to welcome you again in the future. For the best personal service and best available rate please always book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
313 helpful votes 313 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Spent two nights at the Banks Mansion on a post-Easter break.

The hotel is superbly situated - arguably the best location in town, overlooking the Herengracht and very close to Rembrandtsplein.

It is a "full service" hotel, which means that breakfast, all drinks and afternoon snacks are included in the price.

Room was on the small side, but well equipped, with a minibar, armchair and flat screen TV. Bathroom was more than adequate, with an excellent shower, but no bath.

Decor was in the Berlage - Art Deco style, and quite pleasing.

Breakfast very good.

The staff were uniformly excellent: welcoming and courteous.

The location alone makes this a "must stay" in Amsterdam. The rest is icing on the cake.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for recommending our hotel and define it als a must stay.

We would like to welcome you again in the future. For the best personal service and best available rate please always book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

I wanted to stay in a somewhat quiet location but still centrally located with a canal view room. This hotel's location is perfect, on the most attractive canal and walking distance to every spot, museums, Dam Square etc. There are numerous restaurants just around the corner. The room we choose is 402, top floor, larger then the typical rooms and with a steam bath and wonderful view. The huge shower with rain attachment is outstanding. There are numerous electrical outlets in the room for all my chargers. The breakfast is actually very good, one of the better I have experienced and I travel a lot to 5 star hotels with weaker breakfasts. The complimentary mini bar in the room is convenient for bottled water but the free alcohol is not a perk that is important to me. The afternoon happy hour in the lobby is modest but nice to have a drink/cheese and crackers before going out to dinner. The service from the staff is excellent so in every respect this hotel deserves the excellent reputation.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear guest,

Great to read that you have enjoyed our hotel and in specific our perfect location. We can not agree more with you.

We would like to welcome you again in the future. For the best personal service and best available rate please always book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This hotel is quite simply superb! If you want white gloved, pomp and ceremony then go to The Hotel De L'Europe which is outstanding. If, however, you want a superbly located hotel with super efficient and friendly staff then look no further. Previous reports have ably captured the virtues of free drinks (24 hrs) and no-nonsense free wi-fi etc so I shall not repeat the known. The rooms are kept very well and all overlook the canal. If you want a larger room book 106, 206, 306 or 406. If you simply want a base from which to explore it really doesn't matter which room you are in. There were no main tourist attractions that could not reached in under 10 minutes walk from the hotel (just watch out for the bikes, cars and trams that seem to appear from every direction randomly!). I would not hesitate to return to this hotel in the future and, based on the excellent weekend my wife and I have just had whilst the grandparents looked after the children, we almost certainly will - and soon!!!

Room Tip: The corner rooms that all end in '6' are the largest. Contact the hotel directly to get the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for this wonderful review.

We agree that Hotel De L'Europe is a good hotel and we also agree with you that Banks Mansion is special in a very different way. We indeed do not offer white gloves-service, but we do offer the best personal service in Amsterdam. It is with great pleasure to read that you also experienced your stay this way.

We truly hope to welcome you again in the future, with childeren or without. All are welcome.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Just returned from a quick two night, three day stay at the Banks Mansion. I spent a lot of time agonizing over where to stay, but I could not have been happier with our final choice. My wife and I loved the central location (all sites, restaurants and nightlife were within walking distance). One of the other nice things about the location was it was close enough to walk to most everything, but not right in the heart of the late night noise that goes along with some of areas of town. The complimentary drinks and snacks were a very nice touch.

The staff was more than willing to help with any of your needs. At check-in, Willem provided us with a map of the city and a personalized itinerary of attractions/restaurants that the hotel suggested based on our answers to a short list of questions. This service was new to the hotel, but was very helpful.

My only regret of the trip was not allowing for another day in the city. If I ever visit Amsterdam again, I will not have to think twice about where to stay.

Room Tip: Had a deluxe canal view room on the fourth floor. Nice view of the canal, and away from the main str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for this great review!

It is our pleasure to read that you enjoyed your personal city guide to make your stay in Amsterdam even more special.

We would love to welcome you again in the future in our hotel. To make sure you will receive the best service and available rate, please book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banks Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.