We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Magnificent weekend without the kids!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Save Saved
You added Banks Mansion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Travelocity
and 11 more sites!
Banks Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 519-522, Amsterdam 1017 BV, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Magnificent weekend without the kids!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel is quite simply superb! If you want white gloved, pomp and ceremony then go to The Hotel De L'Europe which is outstanding. If, however, you want a superbly located hotel with super efficient and friendly staff then look no further. Previous reports have ably captured the virtues of free drinks (24 hrs) and no-nonsense free wi-fi etc so I shall not repeat the known. The rooms are kept very well and all overlook the canal. If you want a larger room book 106, 206, 306 or 406. If you simply want a base from which to explore it really doesn't matter which room you are in. There were no main tourist attractions that could not reached in under 10 minutes walk from the hotel (just watch out for the bikes, cars and trams that seem to appear from every direction randomly!). I would not hesitate to return to this hotel in the future and, based on the excellent weekend my wife and I have just had whilst the grandparents looked after the children, we almost certainly will - and soon!!!

Room Tip: The corner rooms that all end in '6' are the largest. Contact the hotel directly to get the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    884
    229
    45
    21
    16
See reviews for
97
609
72
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Just returned from a quick two night, three day stay at the Banks Mansion. I spent a lot of time agonizing over where to stay, but I could not have been happier with our final choice. My wife and I loved the central location (all sites, restaurants and nightlife were within walking distance). One of the other nice things about the location was it was close enough to walk to most everything, but not right in the heart of the late night noise that goes along with some of areas of town. The complimentary drinks and snacks were a very nice touch.

The staff was more than willing to help with any of your needs. At check-in, Willem provided us with a map of the city and a personalized itinerary of attractions/restaurants that the hotel suggested based on our answers to a short list of questions. This service was new to the hotel, but was very helpful.

My only regret of the trip was not allowing for another day in the city. If I ever visit Amsterdam again, I will not have to think twice about where to stay.

Room Tip: Had a deluxe canal view room on the fourth floor. Nice view of the canal, and away from the main str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Nice clean hotel. Excellent location. Fantastic staff!

All drinks (both non-alcoholic and alcoholic beverages) were totally free flowing - you have an help yourself open bar in the lobby, and 3 full decanters in your room! you also have free snacks in the room, plus free supper in the afternoon of cold meats and cheese cuts.
reception is also full of tablets and laptops free to use.

Would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Our second stay at this hotel and we are glad we returned. The staff are excellent and cannot do enough for the guests; the hotel is very conveniently situated, near to the city centre and some very good restaurants. There is a friendly atmosphere helped by a well stocked, comfortable guest lounge. All drinks, snacks etc. are included in the price as is the mini-bar and decanters of spirits in the room. A good variety of breakfast choices with any variation of eggs cooked to order. Our room overlooked a canal with a "picture postcard" view of the beautiful houses along the banks. We fully intend to visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Just returned from a short break with my wife. The Banks hotel was perfectly positioned for all sights, but also far enough away to get a restful nights sleep. It was about a 20 minute walk to the Anne Frank museum, 10 mins to Dam sq, 15 mins to De Pijp. Williem and Nancy on the front desk we're excellent, really welcoming. Free bar service worked well after a long day of sightseeing. We'd recommend one of the cycle tours and would certainly stay again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skokie, Illinois
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I just completed an 7 night stay at this fine hotel. We went as a family of 4 and I can say that the staff here is like family. We were treated very, very well. The front desk staff was very patient and informative. They were eager to help you at any time. Willem and Jacqueline were fabulous as were the rest of the staff.

The room was perfect. The hotel was very well located. The breakfast was superior and fast and easy. The numerous snacks and little bonuses kept us well fed, happy and ready to explore this great city.

I am ready to go back asap..

Room Tip: Canal view was very nice. Take the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

In the case of this hotel, you not only get what you pay for, you get more than what you pay for. With a gracious staff, complimentary drinks of all kinds at all hours, late afternoon snacks, a full breakfast, comfortable rooms, and nice amenities, this hotel can't be beat. It's a little far from the museum area, but the streetcar is right outside the door. I've never stayed in another hotel that came even close to providing the comfort and service of the Banks Mansion. This is a perfect vacation hotel. A++++++

Room Tip: Our room faced the street, but I think some might face the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear guest,

Thank you for this very kind review. We found it a A++++++ review!

It is flattering to read that you never stayed in another hotel that came even close to providing the comfort and service of the Banks Mansion.

We hope to welcome you again in the future. To make sure you receive the best available rate I can advice you to book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam
Address: Herengracht 519-522, Amsterdam 1017 BV, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banks Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.