We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic 3 night break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Save Saved
You added Banks Mansion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banks Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
cheltenham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic 3 night break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Stayed at Banks Mansion for 3 nights at the beginning of April to celebrate my 50th birthday. It is situated in a brilliant central position close to all attractions, you can walk to all of them however as the weather was quite unpredictable we used the trams quite a lot, number 24 goes from virtually outside the hotel.

The rooms are spacious and well decorated, lovely shower too. Complimentary coffee and a mini bar all included. The staff are polite and helpful. At 4pm everyday the wine, beer and spirits are available to drink in the lounge area, wine is lovely not the usual stuff you get included in your price. Cheese and meat are available from 5pm, this is great if you want a quick snack before your evening meal. Breakfast is delicious, something for everyone and although I didn't have a cooked breakfast my other half assured me it was also delicious, freshly cooked while you wait. There are lots of lovely restaurants around catering for all tastes.

I would recommend a canal cruise and a visit to Anne Franke House.

All in all a great first time in Amsterdam, a lovely city.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for this fantastic review! It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the location, the ammenities and the staff.

We hope we can welcome you once again to enjoy the hotel and the city. For the best personal service and best available rate I can advise you to book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,296 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    966
    243
    49
    22
    16
See reviews for
120
695
80
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

The Banks Mansion hotel is fantastic, right in the centre within easy walking distance of all facilities. The hotel is modern and decorated in a boutique style. The lounge is very comfortable and has a well stocked free bar and coffee/tea facilities open 24 hours. The bedrooms whilst not large are very clean and comfortable, you can even order your own pillow preference from soft to firm and anti snore. Bathroom had a large shower with a built in steam function which was a great way to freshen up and relax. The bedroom also has a free mini bar (gin,whiskey and brandy) fridge and tea/ coffee machine (senso make) television and DVD player. Wifi is free in the room.

The hotel only serves breakfast but this is really enjoyable with freshly made to order omelettes, fried or scrambled eggs. There is a full continental fayre to choose from as well as cereal and breads plus the traditional English style breakfast available. At 4:00pm the free wine bar is served in the lounge with nice red, white wines and pro secco available. The rest of the bar is always available. At 6:00pm a large free cheese and meat platter is available for guests which provides a great pre dinner appetiser.

The hotel also offers free wifi and iPads in the lounge area to plan your trips and evening meals. The staff are really helpful and will recommend good Dutch and other restaurants to suit your taste. I rang the hotel from England to be greeted in Dutch but they quickly spoke fluent English once they realised where I was from. They booked the local 2* Michelin restaurant Bord'Eau for our visit. This is a real experience for a special occasion, not cheap min £100 per head but fantastic. Amsterdam is a great short stay city made all the more enjoyable by the Banks Mansion hotel and staff. If you want to go check this hotel first.

Room Tip: Ask for a rear room as the front of hotel overlooks the main road and could be noisier
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for this wonderful review!

We hope to welcome you again in the future for another great stay.

Always book via our own website to make sure that you receive the best rate.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

To anyone reading the poor or terrible reviews, please don't take any notice as I can imagine that these people are expecting gold plated toilet paper! This hotel is amazing, they have pulled out all the stops to make your stay amazing and the attending to detail is over and beyond what I expected. The staff are so helpful and friendly and the breakfast is fantastic as well as the unlimited free drinks and snacks. They even have I pads to at each individual seated area for you to use. (I could write so much more on their wonderful service!) This was my 15th trip to Dam so I have stayed in many different hotels but i know that all my future trips I will no longer be staying anywhere but Banks mansions!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for this amazing review!

We hope to welcome you again in the future. To make sure you will receive the best personal service and best available rate I advice you to book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Just back from a 3 night city break in Amsterdam book through online travel agent - our second stay in the Banks Mansion. The hotel is well decorated and maintained. The location is very convenient for the city centre both on foot and by tram. Room was large and comfortable. Breakfast buffet was excellent. Lounge/reception area was also very comfortable with free drinks and afternoon snacks. Staff were all very friendly, helpful and professional. In short the perfect hotel for a short city break.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is very nice to read that you found Banks Mansion the perfect hotel for a short city break.

We hope to welcome you again in the future. To make sure you will receive the best personal service and best available rate I advice you to book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Iowa
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

My husband and I have just stayed 6 days here. Our first trip to Holland.
The staff was very helpful, and fun to talk to.
The location is amazing! Only a short walk to most places. We made the walk to dam square and Central Station multiple times with no problem.
The breakfasts are fantastic, with a cook who prepares your made to order food for you.
The rooms were clean and nice.
It is located on a canal so if you enjoy people watching you won't be disappointed.
We would definitely recommend it and hope to stay again.

Room Tip: We choose the room at the front of the hotel which had nice space and two different canal views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for all these kind words and for taking the time to share them with the world.

We hope to welcome you again in the future. For the best personal service and best available price please always book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Everything was great. The service fabulous and the staff prepared.
The room was very nice and modern for the standard of Amsterdam, the bathroom very clean.
The breakfast had a great selection and everything was very fresh and good
We'll be back for sure for business!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for this great review!

We hope to welcome you again in the future. For the best personal service and best available price please always book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We could not have been more pleased with our selection of this hotel. Most attractions (museums, Old Town, and the Red Light District) were within easy walking distance, and those that were not were an easy walk from the canal taxi (also an easy walk).

Like others, we loved the morning breakfasts and afternoon receptions with drinks and cheese boards. Our room was quite comfortable and was stocked with three liquors, which we don't drink, as well as bottled water and snacks in the mini bar -- all complimentary.

The onsite manager and his staff were accommodating in every regard: recommending restaurants for dinner and selling advance tickets for museum vivts and canal rides.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for this review. It is a pleasure to read that you could not have been more pleased with your selection of our hotel.

We hope to welcome you again in the future. For the best personal service and best available price please always book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, Otel and Venere so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banks Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.