We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best Hotels we have ever stayed in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Save Saved
You added Banks Mansion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banks Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“One of the best Hotels we have ever stayed in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We visited Amsterdam in half term in February 2014 and stayed in this picturesque hotel which is perfectly positioned to explore (on foot if you want, although there are plenty of trams if not) all the key areas of this wonderful city. The staff were outstanding, the rooms excellent and the 'all inclusive' drink and snacks a real bonus. We all loved staying here and could not recommend it more highly to anybody thinking of visiting Amsterdam. A real treat.

Room Tip: One of the two rooms we booked did not have a bath. Fortunately the hotel were (just) able to accomo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for all the compliments in your review. We are hapy to hear that you have enjoyed your time in Amsterdam and the Banks Mansion.

We hope to welcome you again in the future, for again a great stay. To make sure you receive the best available rate and personal service I can advice you to book via our own website.

Thanks in advance and with warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    998
    253
    50
    22
    16
See reviews for
127
717
80
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in March. The staff really goes out of their way to help you with anything you need. The complementary breakfast is first rate and the afternoon drinks and cheese gave us a chance to mingle with other guests. The hotel is within easy walking distance of all Amsterdams main attractions and many good restaurants. I have no hesitation recommending Banks Mansion to anyone.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Good to read that you will have no hesitations recommending Banks Mansion to anyone.

We hope we can welcome you or anyone to whom you have recommended us in the near future.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We have just spent five days at this lovely hotel on the canal side. The staff were very friendly, welcoming and efficient. Our room was very comfortable with a view of the canal. Breakfasts were plentiful and varied and we also enjoyed the complimentary drinks and snacks available in the lounge along with the daily international newspapers and ipads. We were impressed by the visits planning available and the knowledge of the staff.The hotel is very well positioned for walks to the central locations, restaurants, tram stops etc.

Room Tip: The best rooms are obviously at the front of the hotel overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, thank you for a brilliant review.

We truly hope to welcome you again in the future. For the best personal service and best available rate I can advice you to book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Banks Mansion is quality and excellence in ALL areas: location (down the street from the glorious floating Flower Market); accommodations (beautiful restored canal mansion with every modern amenity, beautiful rooms fully equipped, impeccable staff professional in every way, sumptuous breakfast buffet---items cooked to your order, relaxing lobby with refreshments at all hours);
and charm (a magnificent way to enjoy this enchanting city!)
Banks Mansion is THE hotel to select for luxury and service.
We cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you! Such a kind review. When a guest calls us quality and excellence in ALL areas, we can only be proud.

We hope to welcome you again in the future for hopefully another great stay. The best way to book a stay is always via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Hotel in very good location for sight seeing right on canal, every thing a walk away. Good restaurants round the corner in Rembrandt Square or a short walk to Leidishplien. Bedroom we had (room 411) was large and well equipped. Bed super comfy also good pillows. No view over canal but that was not an issue for us, very quiet. For us ladies a good magnifying mirror in the bathroom along with hair dryer. Nespresso coffee machine in our room along with free mini bar to include spirits and soft drinks. Staff excellent, a young enthusiastic team, we did not need their help but saw what they did for others. Breakfast good, cooked hot on demand or good continental breakfast. Fresh ground coffee machine and biscuits along with free bar in lounge area, again wines, beers soft drinks and spirits, help yourself. Cheese trolly with excellent Dutch cheese, meats, grapes, breads and port served from 4.00pm until you are finished. Ipads supplied for general use in lounge area along with news papers and magazines and also free wifi for personal use throughout the hotel - seriously, what more could you want?

Room Tip: We had 411 room big but no canal view, this did not matter to us, our room was nice and quiet being...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for celebrating your birthday weekend at Banks Mansion. We are always delighted when someone chooses our hotel for a special occasion. We are even more delighted when that guest shares their experience with us.

I hope we can welcome you again in the future. For another special occasion or just because you miss us and Amsterdam. For the best personal service and best rate available I advice you to book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longyearbyen, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed at Banks Mansion for 5 days in february, and had a wonderful time. The rooms were a bit old, but comfortable. The bed was soft and the minibar was included in the price. We spent a lot of time in the lounge where there also was free bar and cheese and wine in the afternoon. I have actually never spent that much time in a lounge before! There was iPads and computers available, and the staff was very service minded and nice. The breakfast had everything we could want, from croissants, pancakes and omelets, and it was one of our favorite moments of the day. It is also situated close to everything, and Rembrantplein just behind the hotel is a fantastic place to hang out in the evenings. I would definitely come back another time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It pleases us that you will definitely return.

For the best personal service and best rate available I advice you to book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We have always trusted trip advisor and again we were not let down. Banks Mansion was a wonderful spot for our holiday. We stayed over the New Year holiday and even though we weren't booked for a lovely night the people and Banks Mansion made the perfect arrangements of us. The room was beautiful and the service was superb. There simply are not enough adjectives available to describe this place - try it out for yourself and you'll understand. This is the only place we'll be staying when we visit and I encourage any and everyone to stay - it was brilliant!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear guest,

Perfect review of Banks Mansion! Really!!!

Thank you very much for writing this nice review. Now people can trust on your review and visit Amsterdam and the Banks Mansion.

I hope to welcome you once again in the future. For the best personal service and best rate available I advice you to book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Otel and Venere so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banks Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.