We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel in a perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Save Saved
You added Banks Mansion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banks Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel in a perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

This hotel was the most comfortable hotel that I have found in Amsterdam. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to make your stay perfect. The cooked to order breakfast was great and I really appreciated the coffee machine and snack bar that was available 24/7. A great base for exploring Amsterdam and very close to everything. . The rooms were great with the pillow menu and the VERY comfortable bed. From now on, I will only stay here in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

What a honour that you found our hotel the perfect hotel in perfect location. With Banks Mansion in the city centre of Amsterdam it is a perfect resting place in the hustle and bustle of the city.

We hope to welcome you again soon. For the best available rate and best personal service I can advice you to book direct via our website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,255 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    935
    235
    47
    22
    16
See reviews for
111
672
77
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

We booked our 3 day trip based on a strong recommendation from a Dutch friend. How right he was. Everything is thought of, with the reception team all doing everything they can to help, especially, in our case, Willem. It may be a little more expensive, but it's worth every penny, just for all all the special touches.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing this review and thank you for listening to your Dutch friend.

We are very happy to have you as our guest and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

For the best available rate and best personal service always book directly via our website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Wow, this is really a great hotel! At first sight, the hotel is a bit expensive, but it is really worth it because of the wines in the afternoon, the mini bar and lovely breakfast are all included! Moreover, the staff are so nice and helpful! In addition, I think it is not possible to find a better location in Amsterdam. Finally, I would recommend renting the wooden bikes (warning: when you drive around in Amsterdam you have become a touristic attraction! ;)).

Have a nice stay!
Ruud

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is much appreciated by me and the staff.

We try to give value for money with all the free amenities as the wine, cheeses and extensive breakfast. It is our pleasure to read that you have experienced it this way.

We hope to welcome you again in the future. For the best available rate and best personal service always book directly via our website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New city, ny
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

From the moment I booked our stay, the staff were wonderful and thorough until the end of our trip. We stayed for 9 nights over the Christmas/NYE holidays and it was fantastic! They checked which restaurants would be open for Christmas dinner and made reservations for us which we arranged via email (we arrived Christmas Day). They were very knowledgeable about the area, events, museums and restaurants, and if they couldn't answer a question they quickly googled until they did.

There was a complementary beverage/spirits/cheese bar in the lounge that they kept stocked 24 hours. Because it was the holidays, besides local cheese, they had fresh house made ollibollen! In the lounge they also had an iPad and a VAIO Tap available for any guest to use. Oh and complementary breakfast with fresh omelets, pancakes and eggs made to order!

The rooms. Rooms in Europe are notorious for being small. By European standards it was roomy, but by American standards it is a bit on the smaller side. But we werevery comfortable for the duration of our stay. The room also comes with a stocked complementary mini bar as well!

The location. 1 blocks from the Floating Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt). Shopping is 2 blocks away. Dam Square, Red Light District, & Chinatown are a 10-15 min walk. Jordaan, Central Station and Leidseplein 15-20 min walk. There is no need for a Cab in Amsterdam! You can walk everywhere; it's like being in NYC but with a much cleaner prettier atmosphere. Plenty of late night food 1-2 blocks down from the hotel as well. We were there for the Christmas Markets along Dam Square and it was fantastic! Tons of yummy local foods, holiday treats and mulled wine!

However, you need to notify the cleaning lady if you want your sheets changed. I google translated and left a note on the bed asking for new sheets.

The WiFi is free, but a little irksome because every time your phone/laptop goes to sleep, you have to access your main browser and accept the conditions of use in order to get online again.

Word of Advice? Don't smoke in your room! On our last night at BM, a new couple next door to us set off the fire alarm. Apparently they were smoking a blunt in the room. Just don't do it inside your room. The front desk was not happy. There are plenty of coffee shops and shady alley's to smoke in!

Would I rec? Yes! They crowd was a bit older, but it meant there were no small children at all which I found wonderful! It was a quiet and cozy atmosphere, perfect for the holidays. The staff truly made BM feel like our home away from home!

Still Can't decide? Ummm...Free alcohol, bottled water, soda, breakfast, & WiFi! Practically unheard of in any hotel that isn't all-inclusive! Pillow menu! And the staff were excellent! Professional, fluent in English, friendly and very warm! <3

Room Tip: We actually had a room on the ground floor near the entrance. I wasn't too happy about it at fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

What a heartwarming and extensive review. We hope that all our future guests will read you review so that they know what goods the hotel has to offer. And also the "don't smoke in the room" tip is a great one. Just outside of the hotel everybody can smoke with a beautiful view over the canal, much better.

We hope to welcome you soon. And remember: for the best available rate and personal service always book direct via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

From the moment you enter the hotel
you're left in no doubt that your stay is going to be fantastic. The reception staff are so friendly and super helpful. The living room area is great with all drinks complementary and various snacks served throughout the day. The room was excellent with a huge bathroom, free mini-bar and three decanters with Whisky, Cognac and Gin in. Breakfast was typical fare no complaints at all on that score.
The hotels location is brilliant a 5 minute walk to Dam square and about 15 minutes to the Rail Station. I can't recommend the Banks Mansion enough and we will certainly be returning as soon as we can.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for this simply splendid review!

We hope to welcome you soon. And remember: for the best available rate and personal service always book direct via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bullhead City, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

WOW! WOW! WOW! I have stayed at several Ritz-Carlton resorts all over the United States and I can tell you categorically that the service at this facility wipes the floor with the Ritz-Carlton!

I did a lot of research on hotels in Amsterdam. Sure there were the Hilton's and Marriot's and all that usual stuff, but I didn't want to pay $200-300 a night for small and boring and normal.....so when I found the Banks Mansion I thought it would be a nice change. From the moment we walked in and were greeted by Wilhelm we knew we made the best decision. He greeted us and made us feel like part of the family. The "Living" is the name they give to the main lobby; there is a fire, loads of seats and sofa's and iPads, and a MAC computer, and magazines, and wine, and coffee, and beer and soda and other drinks and it is all part of the price. Each night at 5pm they offered cheese and crackers (my favorite) and wine to go with it. The "living" was a place that we spent many an evening in. It was just so relaxed. We had an awesome room on the fourth floor with a window that opened up over the street and the canal. The room had a coffee makers, four decanters of hard liquor, a DVD player and much more! The beds are super comfortable and we loved the room! The breakfast was to die for! Everything from omelets to scrambled eggs, granola, other cereal, yogurt, toast, fruit, waffles, bacon, ham, cheese, coffee, OJ, croissants. Oh it is not your typical "continental breakfast!" We LOVED the Banks Mansion and all the staff including Wilhelm and Loneka (sp? ) who were AWESOME and treated us as part of their family! When we return to Amsterdam we will 100% stay at the Banks Mansion! Do not hesitate to stay here! AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: 4th Floor is a great choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this more than lovely review! It was a joy to read that you have enjoyed your stay this much.

We always try our service to be our flagship. To read that an experienced traveller could appreciate this makes us very happy.

We hope to welcome you again soon. And remember: for the best available rate and personal service always book direct via our website.

Again, thank you!

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Walking around the grachts of Amsterdam and what do you do alone?
So bring your significant other. I was there alone, and it was good, but would have been great with my spouse along.
I had booked a large corner room, free booze in the room and downstairs - However, when one is more focused on fitness it was perhaps not great with no gym... One can of course run around Amsterdam, but ...See my review of Marriott Amsterdam.

However, this hotel is close to great dining places, it's just plain nice walking around the grachts - watch out for bikes...
Breakfast is very good quality as always in Amsterdam top hotels.

Room Tip: Pick a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this wonderful review. It was a pleasure to read.

We hope that we can welcome you again in the future and this time with a partner to make your stay even more special.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Otel and Venere so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banks Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.