We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother booking anywhere else” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Banks Mansion to your Saves list
Banks Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
New city, ny
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Don't bother booking anywhere else”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

From the moment I booked our stay, the staff were wonderful and thorough until the end of our trip. We stayed for 9 nights over the Christmas/NYE holidays and it was fantastic! They checked which restaurants would be open for Christmas dinner and made reservations for us which we arranged via email (we arrived Christmas Day). They were very knowledgeable about the area, events, museums and restaurants, and if they couldn't answer a question they quickly googled until they did.

There was a complementary beverage/spirits/cheese bar in the lounge that they kept stocked 24 hours. Because it was the holidays, besides local cheese, they had fresh house made ollibollen! In the lounge they also had an iPad and a VAIO Tap available for any guest to use. Oh and complementary breakfast with fresh omelets, pancakes and eggs made to order!

The rooms. Rooms in Europe are notorious for being small. By European standards it was roomy, but by American standards it is a bit on the smaller side. But we werevery comfortable for the duration of our stay. The room also comes with a stocked complementary mini bar as well!

The location. 1 blocks from the Floating Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt). Shopping is 2 blocks away. Dam Square, Red Light District, & Chinatown are a 10-15 min walk. Jordaan, Central Station and Leidseplein 15-20 min walk. There is no need for a Cab in Amsterdam! You can walk everywhere; it's like being in NYC but with a much cleaner prettier atmosphere. Plenty of late night food 1-2 blocks down from the hotel as well. We were there for the Christmas Markets along Dam Square and it was fantastic! Tons of yummy local foods, holiday treats and mulled wine!

However, you need to notify the cleaning lady if you want your sheets changed. I google translated and left a note on the bed asking for new sheets.

The WiFi is free, but a little irksome because every time your phone/laptop goes to sleep, you have to access your main browser and accept the conditions of use in order to get online again.

Word of Advice? Don't smoke in your room! On our last night at BM, a new couple next door to us set off the fire alarm. Apparently they were smoking a blunt in the room. Just don't do it inside your room. The front desk was not happy. There are plenty of coffee shops and shady alley's to smoke in!

Would I rec? Yes! They crowd was a bit older, but it meant there were no small children at all which I found wonderful! It was a quiet and cozy atmosphere, perfect for the holidays. The staff truly made BM feel like our home away from home!

Still Can't decide? Ummm...Free alcohol, bottled water, soda, breakfast, & WiFi! Practically unheard of in any hotel that isn't all-inclusive! Pillow menu! And the staff were excellent! Professional, fluent in English, friendly and very warm! <3

Room Tip: We actually had a room on the ground floor near the entrance. I wasn't too happy about it at fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

What a heartwarming and extensive review. We hope that all our future guests will read you review so that they know what goods the hotel has to offer. And also the "don't smoke in the room" tip is a great one. Just outside of the hotel everybody can smoke with a beautiful view over the canal, much better.

We hope to welcome you soon. And remember: for the best available rate and personal service always book direct via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,076
    275
    53
    23
    16
See reviews for
136
785
85
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

From the moment you enter the hotel
you're left in no doubt that your stay is going to be fantastic. The reception staff are so friendly and super helpful. The living room area is great with all drinks complementary and various snacks served throughout the day. The room was excellent with a huge bathroom, free mini-bar and three decanters with Whisky, Cognac and Gin in. Breakfast was typical fare no complaints at all on that score.
The hotels location is brilliant a 5 minute walk to Dam square and about 15 minutes to the Rail Station. I can't recommend the Banks Mansion enough and we will certainly be returning as soon as we can.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for this simply splendid review!

We hope to welcome you soon. And remember: for the best available rate and personal service always book direct via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bullhead City, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

WOW! WOW! WOW! I have stayed at several Ritz-Carlton resorts all over the United States and I can tell you categorically that the service at this facility wipes the floor with the Ritz-Carlton!

I did a lot of research on hotels in Amsterdam. Sure there were the Hilton's and Marriot's and all that usual stuff, but I didn't want to pay $200-300 a night for small and boring and normal.....so when I found the Banks Mansion I thought it would be a nice change. From the moment we walked in and were greeted by Wilhelm we knew we made the best decision. He greeted us and made us feel like part of the family. The "Living" is the name they give to the main lobby; there is a fire, loads of seats and sofa's and iPads, and a MAC computer, and magazines, and wine, and coffee, and beer and soda and other drinks and it is all part of the price. Each night at 5pm they offered cheese and crackers (my favorite) and wine to go with it. The "living" was a place that we spent many an evening in. It was just so relaxed. We had an awesome room on the fourth floor with a window that opened up over the street and the canal. The room had a coffee makers, four decanters of hard liquor, a DVD player and much more! The beds are super comfortable and we loved the room! The breakfast was to die for! Everything from omelets to scrambled eggs, granola, other cereal, yogurt, toast, fruit, waffles, bacon, ham, cheese, coffee, OJ, croissants. Oh it is not your typical "continental breakfast!" We LOVED the Banks Mansion and all the staff including Wilhelm and Loneka (sp? ) who were AWESOME and treated us as part of their family! When we return to Amsterdam we will 100% stay at the Banks Mansion! Do not hesitate to stay here! AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: 4th Floor is a great choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this more than lovely review! It was a joy to read that you have enjoyed your stay this much.

We always try our service to be our flagship. To read that an experienced traveller could appreciate this makes us very happy.

We hope to welcome you again soon. And remember: for the best available rate and personal service always book direct via our website.

Again, thank you!

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Walking around the grachts of Amsterdam and what do you do alone?
So bring your significant other. I was there alone, and it was good, but would have been great with my spouse along.
I had booked a large corner room, free booze in the room and downstairs - However, when one is more focused on fitness it was perhaps not great with no gym... One can of course run around Amsterdam, but ...See my review of Marriott Amsterdam.

However, this hotel is close to great dining places, it's just plain nice walking around the grachts - watch out for bikes...
Breakfast is very good quality as always in Amsterdam top hotels.

Room Tip: Pick a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this wonderful review. It was a pleasure to read.

We hope that we can welcome you again in the future and this time with a partner to make your stay even more special.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcata, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This hotel is one of a kind in my experience. From free mini-bar drinks/snacks to lavish wine and cheese hour each evening, this stay was full of nice surprises. Location is central and pleasant. Room was comfortable though a bit quirky. A bit more storage space for suitcases and coats would improve functionality. Tram ran directly underneath our window, but soundproofing was adequate. We enjoyed view during day and uninterrupted sleep at night.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Although Banks Mansion is in the middle of the city of Amsterdam, which brings some noise with it, we are glad to hear that you had an uninterrupted night.

I hope we can welcome you again in the future. For the best personal service and best prices guaranteed please visit www.banksmansion.nl

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We have recently returned from a weekend stay at Banks Mansion and cannot praise this hotel enough. From the minute we walked through the doors the service was exemplary. Nothing was too much trouble and Joost on reception took great care on arrival to ensure that everything was perfect for us. On getting to our room our expectations were again surpassed. The room was beautiful, we had a pretty view of the canals and everything spotlessly clean. We also enjoyed the complimentary minibar, fresh nespresso coffee and thought the pillow menu was a great touch too. After a day of sightseeing we later returned to the hotel to find that we could enjoy a fully stocked bar with lovely cheeses, hams and artisan breads in the lobby completely for free...what a great idea!! And a perfect way to relax whilst deciding where to head out for the evening. Overall we cannot fault the Banks Mansion. A great team of staff, a great hotel and one of the comfiest beds we have ever slept in! We will definitely be back on our next visit to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: The Canal view rooms are great, perfect to complete the Amsterdam experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. It was our pleasure to read all these kind words. When a guest is satisfied and shares it with us and the world it always is heartwarming.

Next to all the kind words, the fact that you will definetly will be back during your next visit also makes us happy. Please reminder: Always book directly on www.banksmansion.nl for the best garanteed price available and the best personal service.

We hope to welcome you soon.

With kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights and had a great trip.

The staff were very helpful and professional.

The breakfast was good with great freshly cooked eggs.

The selection of cheese available in the evening was a really nice touch.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Good to hear you had a great trip in Amsterdam. Thank you for writing this review on your experience in the Banks Mansion.

The selection of cheeses that we serve every evening is a selection made on the Albert Cuyp Market, which is the most famous street market of Amsterdam. Holland is famous for it cheeses, so we always try to serve some of the best Dutch cheeses.

Thank you again for writing this nice review and we hope to welcome you again.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banks Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.