We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perhaps it should be kept a secret - the best hotel in Amsterdam!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Banks Mansion to your Saves list
Banks Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Leeds
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Perhaps it should be kept a secret - the best hotel in Amsterdam!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

One of the best kept secrets in Holland so I am inclined not to provide a positive review as this is my favourite hotel ever but the more people that know of it will mean I wont always be able to stay. It is ideally located for Rembrandt Square, the flower market and has easy access to the tram system and canal boat.
There is really nothing you could say that is negative about the wonderful Bank's Mansion. The staff are the friendliest and most helpful you could find, offering brilliant service at all times. The rooms are clean and well presented; the beds are the comfiest I have ever slept in with a choice of pillow menu. There are quality toiletries in the bathroom in sufficient quantities for a couple of nights stay, fluffy towels and bathrobes.
All the general good points then we add the special touches that include recognising that you are a previous client with a wonderful warm welcome both from reception and kitchen staff; greeted with a lovely open fire on a cold winter's evening; the concept of complimentary hot drinks, alcoholic beverages and nibbles both in the bar lounge (all day and in the evening) and in your room; the fabulous freshly cooked breakfast (eggs anyway you want), pancakes(!), a wide selection of bread/rolls, cold meat/cheeses and the best raspberry jam I have ever tasted.
It wouldn't be fair to single out any of the staff specially for individual praise because they are all wonderful.
I am already looking forward to my next visit in May.

Room Tip: Canal views are great if you have time to spend enjoying the outlook but all rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for this great review.
Secondly, thank you for deciding to keep your experiences at Banks Mansion NOT a secret. We would found it a shame if we had not read this review.

We loved your review and are also looking forward to welcome you again in May.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager

PS we loved your review so much, we shared it on our Facebook (facebook.com/banksmansion519)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,078
    276
    53
    23
    16
See reviews for
136
787
85
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Overall top class hotel. The rooms are comfortable, well kept and equipped to a high standard. Exceptional service from the staff who take a great interest in their customers. The lobby with free drinks, cheese and biscuits is a nice touch. Full breakfast is good. Excellent location close to all the attractions. Its a great atmosphere in Amsterdam for celebrating Christmas and New Year. Would recommend the hotel to anyone wanting a good quality stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Mullens,

Overall top review! We enjoyed it very much, so thank you very much.

Amsterdam is transforming more and more into a "Christmas-City". But I can tell you that it is also a great city to visit during summertime.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We just stayed at Banks Mansion during the week of Christmas. Nicest front desk staff of any hotel ever. They were always helpful with advice. I emailed several times prior to our arrival and they were helpful in the planning process as well. They serve snacks and drinks all day long. There is a coffee and hot chocolate machine in the lobby lounge, later in the afternoon they pull out a cheese cart and wine. Guests were always hanging out in lobby which is very comfortable. They serve a full breakfast daily. The rooms are very nice. I would definitely stay at the hotel if we return.

Room Tip: We were in room 10, on the first floor. The room is quiet but you can hear the trolly car going past...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

"Nicest front desk staff of any hotel ever" - Thank you for starting your review this way. We are proud of our staff and the fact that you experienced our staff this way makes us very happy.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we truly hope to welcome you again.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middelburg, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Service, service, service! The building itself is nothing special but the hotel experience is great. Home away from home. After a day of shopping in terrible weather some cheese and a nice glass of wine next to the fireplace. The only 'all inclusive' hotel I visited in the Netherlands.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing your review. It is always a pleasure to read the experiences of our guest.

Especially when that guest find the hotel experience great. We always try to make our guest feel home away from home, luckely you also felt this way.

Again, thank you.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoxall, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

2nd visit for new year. Amsterdam is a great city for the new year. The hotel continues to offer brilliant service where the staff cannot do enough to make you welcome . The breakfast is wonderful and the free bar concept so useful at this time of year . Rooms are clean and comfortable. Only issue for us was the unfriendliness of other guests but that was not the hotels fault ... Just some people who needed to smile more - overall loved every minute

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

A new year, a new stay AND a new review! Thank you very much for your second, wonderful review.
It is a pleasure to read that also this year the staff was something you could appreciate. Unfortunate that not all guest where as cheerful as someone should be during their Amsterdam trip and their stay at the Banks Mansion.

Hopefully we can welcome you again next year during the holidays!

Thank you for choosing Banks Mansion.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This was our 1st visit to Amsterdam and was my birthday treat from my wife as part of my 50th celebrations. On arrival at this old bank premises, Guest Advisor Willem immediately put us at ease with a short tour of the hotel facilities (lounge area, free bar/coffee, iPads etc etc) and then he proceeded to give us ideas on where we may like to visit during our stay. He was most informative and very helpful. Our bedroom included a steam room within the shower was really comfortable and overlooked the canal. Again there was a free mini bar if required. At 4pm free wine was served in the lounge area followed at 5pm by a free cheese trolley. This was good timing for us when we arrived back at the hotel after a hard days sightseeing. Breakfasts were excellent with a wide variety of food on offer to suit all nationalities staying at the hotel. All in all a really great place to stay, well situated and good value for money. We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing this great review on your first (and hopefully not last) visit to Amsterdam and the Banks Mansion.

When I see the staff of the Banks Mansion interact with our guests it always make me proud. Proud that we have great guests (like you!) and that we have great staff (like Willem!)

Again thank you for this review.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We just got back from staying at the Banks. FIrst off, the hotel was very nice. The included breakfast was WAY above average.. both hot and cold. The living room concept where they have a full bar open all day (included in the price), sizable cheese tray in the early evening, IPADS and comfortable places to sit is really a good deal. We had wondered if we might use it as we would rarely sit in a hotel lobby and hang out. But it was big fun and it was nice to have some wine, cheese, some cocktails after walking around in the cold. Nice touch.

The location is prime. Right on the nicest residential canal but still very close to many town squares, shops, cafes, sights, boat tours, biking.. We walked ALL OVER Amsterdam and don't think we saw anywhere in terms of location we'd have rather been located. 5-10 minute walk to everything in a town where you walk.

All in all, we loved this place. We were a family and got two rooms but I wouldn't hesitate to just go as a couple. It worked out exceptionally well. Got a little loud from the street on a couple nights with some drinkers out having fun during vacation but nothing terrible. We were treated well. The staff was exceptionally helpful and gave great recommendations.

We would stay here again in a minute. Value for money was very high..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure reading your review. Thank you for taking the time to write it.

Thank you also for appreciating the location of the hotel. All the hightlights of Amsterdam are indeed within walking distance and Amsterdam is a great city to walk through.

The fact that you enjoyed sitting in the living in the evening makes Banks Mansion a good hotel for you and your family. We always enjoy a full livingroom with friendly people.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

With kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banks Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.