We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money at a prime location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices from these 12 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Banks Mansion to your Saves list
Banks Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Lennik
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great value for money at a prime location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

A summary of the good things and the bad things that we experienced while staying at this nice hotel:

Positives:

- great value for money
- prime location with plenty of dining posibilities close by
- friendly and professional staff
- offering of free upgrade to canal view as part of the Expedia VIP programm
- posibility for late check-out as part of the Expedia VIP propgramm
- all inclusive concept is just great: breakfast, minibar, lounge with drinks and snacks, use of Ipad, ... all included in the price
- great pillows and great matrasses
- all our special requests were honoured
- cosy and warm athosphere

Negatives:

- check-in took way too long, we do understand that the hotel wanted to have our room ready so that we could check-in but they should have asked it to us instead what we prefer. The kind lady just asked us if we could have a seat because it was busy at that time at the front desk but nobody came to us to check us in when it was calm. So I went to the reception myself to check us in and there they finally told us that the room was not yet ready and kindly asked us to wait a little bit longer...so we waited but again nobody informed us so we had to step to the front desk once more yo ask for the status of the room.Finally, after a long time we could check-in but found out in the room that the minibar was not fully stocked and that a filthy glass has not been replaced. We informed the front desk and they immediately took action, For me, the hotel front desk staff failed on this occasion where they could have reacted more pro-actively during the check-in process. This is the only negative point though but worth mentioning it to avoid similar situations in the future.

Although, I strongly recommend this hotel for a stay in Amsterdam! You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for writing this review.

It is good to read all the positive points you name in your review.

We are sorry that you check-in took this long. We appreciate you mentioning it, so we can (as you write) avoid similar situations in the future.

Again thank you!

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,002
    256
    50
    22
    16
See reviews for
127
721
82
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

My wife was in Amsterdam on business and stayed here because of the location and the included amenities. I tagged along for a quick visit to the city. We were not disappointed.

The service was excellent with a very friendly staff who were able to give great recommendations. The breakfast was good and the evening reception was a nice way to unwind. The fact that you can snag a quick beer out of the refrigerator is a very nice convenience.

One thing to be aware of is that you will have to pay an additional fee for an extra person staying in your room. This wasn't apparent on the booking site that we used. I understand why the charge is added but it was a bit of a surprise as I assume most people who stay here travel as a couple.

With that being said, we loved our stay here and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, good to read that your wife stayed with us during her business trip. Next to being suited for leisure guest, Banks Mansion is also suited for business guest.

Thank you for writing this review and pointing out the positive things you experienced in the hotel. It is true that at the Banks Mansion the second person pays an additional fee. We are sorry that it was not clear while making the booking. This is why we always recommend to book directly trough our own website.

Again, thank you for these kind words.

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Moved here after checking out of the Sofitel, which didn't do the job for me. This hotel was much better, it has the wow factor that separates the run of the mill top flight hotel from the real gem. I'd rate this place in the top 10 of places I have ever stayed

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear guest,

It makes us proud to hear you first stayed at The Sofitel and switched to us. It makes us even prouder that you likes us as much as you did. Thank you for that and for taking the time to write this review.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

This hotel has just about the best location in Amsterdam - downtown, the museum district and Rembrandt Square (amongst others) were an east walk, yet it was quiet at night. One block north and you were surrounded by restaurants, movie theatres and crowds, yet the Mansion was sedate. The staff were quick to learn our names and made excellent recommendations for walking tours, restaurants - check out Nacht Wacht (the Night Watch) on Rembrandt Square for perfect steaks (also the Fried Mussels were incredible).

It was nice that the hotel didn't have a restaurant which forced us to go exploring, but with the location there was always something close. The hotel does have a breakfast room and breakfast was above par (I recommend the omelettes with everything).

I am used to 5 star hotels, but whatever the rating, I would stay at the Mansion again without question.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear guest,

"I am used to 5 star hotels, but whatever the rating, I would stay at the Mansion again without question."

Such kind words to end a review with. Thank you for that!

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

My partner & I have just returned from a four night stay at Banks Mansion – we loved it. The staff are really friendly, always happy to help, always wishing you a good day and seeing what your plans are to see if they can help in anyway.. and totally genuine with it.

We stayed in a basic room which was fine – I’ve seen a few reviews with people calling the rooms small.. compared to London, the room was quite large!! You get your whiskey, gin & cognac in the room.. none of which my boyfriend nor I like, but it’s still a nice touch – we did ask if we could swap one of them vodka which they said no… thought it was worth a try!

As everyone else has already mentioned, you get the free drinks downstairs in the ‘lounge’ which is a really nice touch – as was the wine & cheese! Only made it to breakfast once & it was really good – great omelette!

The hotel is in a brilliant location – this was our first visit to Amsterdam and we literally walked everywhere. Everything seemed to be within about a 10 minutes walking distance.

We will be back in Amsterdam one day soon and we will definitely return to Banks!

Thanks guys!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear guest,

We really, really loved your review.

It is good to hear that you enjoyed all the aspects of Banks Mansion, which distinguish us from other hotels.

After reading your review we are working on extra decanters, so when you stay with us the next time we can provide you with a decanter vodka.

We hope to welcome you in the near future.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I have stayed in many hotels around the world and the level of service and friendliness at this hotel is the very best I have seen - comparable to what we see in Asia, but to me it was even better than that. It is shocking. Truly was a shock to me, also because I have lived in Amsterdam for a long time. Everything in this hotel is perfect: service, location,..., even the breakfast was very nice. I have advised my friends who work in Amsterdam to book this hotel for their corporate guess and I would highly recommend it to anyone. If it has a swimming pool / spa then it would just be paradise.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for this lovely review. It is much appreciated by me and the entire staff of Banks Mansion.

We hope to welcome you again at Banks Mansion in the future. For the best personal service and best available rate, please visit our website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washingtoin DC
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Good location. Staff superb. All inclusive format. So drinks and nibbles and breakfast will not break the bank. I did like it. I would go again and would recommend for couples and tourists in particular.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for this lovely review. It is much appreciated by me and the entire staff of Banks Mansion.

We hope to welcome you again at Banks Mansion in the future. For the best personal service and best available rate, please visit our website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banks Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.