We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Save Saved
You added Banks Mansion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Banks Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 519-522, Amsterdam 1017 BV, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
bexleyheath
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“weekend break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

had a fantastic time hotel was excellent as were the staff décor was warm and homely breakfast was great had everything you needed nice lady cooked omelettes pancakes French toast eggs ect cereals hams sausage bacon...you help yourself to hot drinks throughout the day and spirits at the bar with snacks nothing is too much for the staff they were wonderful bedrooms cosy and hotel in easy walking distance of all attractions

Room Tip: 409 street and canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    878
    230
    45
    21
    16
See reviews for
97
606
72
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This was our trip to Amsterdam and we stayed in Banks Mansion 3 nights (July 3 – 5, 2013) based on Trip Advisor’s reviews and information obtained from the hotel’s website and others. Based on our experience and the other hotels we saw, this was the perfect choice.
Hotel/location: Great location along the quite Herengracht canal, close to shops, flower market, and practically within 15-30 minutes walking distance from most if not all major attractions… e.g. Anne Frank’s house (approximately 15 min.), Heineken Experience museum (approximately 30 min.) Rembrandt Square (less than a 10 min. walk,) etc. Yes, it is pricy but its all- inclusive-concept (breakfast, private in room bar, Wi-Fi, etc., etc.) IS unbelievable! And it is great and delicious! … Excellent buffet breakfast, drinks, whiskey, wine, cheeses, snacks, cappuccinos, etc. etc. It has nice quite not-crowded lobby perfect to relax after a long day of walking…
Room:
#307 has the best of both worlds: It faces the main street – my wife and I were not bothered by any noise - and has a nice side view of the canal. Very spacious, nice bathroom, very comfortable bed/pillows, etc. (We had to report a ceiling light in the room that was not working.) IF you are traveling with children remember Cable TV includes free-adult channels.
Staff:
ALL! wonderful, courteous and always ready to assist you - with a sincere smile… Paul was a great help, Jacqueline, Nicole and Manuela extremely pleasant and all crowned with the virtue of patience. Thank you so much everyone! Hope to see you soon!
Recommendation:
The hotel’s great location, its warm and friendly environment along with its precious staff, definitely makes Banks Mansion our preferred choice in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear guests,

First of all, thank you very much for taking the time to write this extensive review! It is much apreciated, as we always love to read how our guests experienced the hotel.

So good to read that you have enjoyed Amsterdam and the Banks Mansion hotel to it's fullest.

We truly hope that we can welcome you in the future once again.

With kind & warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion

PS We enjoyed your review so much, that we have shared it on our Twitter and Facebook!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the end of our APT tour, the building, staff and service are excellent.
It was nice to sit in the lobby and have a quiet drink and some cheese at the end of a long day of touring. This is all part of the service and yes it is free. There is a very good range of drinks to choose from as well as some snacks.

The staff were very good in arranging pick-up for tours and tips for all types of travel.

The rooms were very good and if you can ask for a canal view room that will make your stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed for the 3rd timr at Banks Mansion, and again I loved it!!
Always a warm welcome and recognizable check in. I love the full service concept as it feels like home, to select some wine and cheese or tea and cookies unlimited, either to enjoy in the cozy lobby or comfy hotelroom.
Also the relaxing bath and heavenly beds are great to rest after a hard day of work. The breakfast is healthy and fresh, with front cooking, love these eggs.
In short, it feels like my home away from home, either for business or pleasure!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltspring Is.
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We asked for a canal view and ended up in a most spacious suite with views up and down the canal. The fridge was stocked with drinks and munchies that were free for the taking. There were also spirits available but as we don't drink, I'm afraid they were left untouched. The bathroom was well stocked with two sinks, a walk in shower and a deep bathtub. Fluffy robes and slippers were laid out for us. Two TV's. It was hard to leave our room and visit the sights of Amsterdam.
The breakfast had pancakes, omelettes, and French toast if ordered. There was bacon, sausages, cereal, fruit, and yogurt as well as breads, toast, jams, cheese and more food than I could take in. The staff were always friendly and more than willing to make life easier for us. In the lounge was a coffee machine available at all times and usually a snack of some sort. At 5 the wine and cheese came out and usually stayed out for more than an hours or so. And the location is ideal. It is 5 minutes to Rembrandt square, 5 minutes to the flower market, right on the tram line and within easy walking distance to the museums and shopping.

Room Tip: Best room in the house is 406, a corner suite with views of the canal. But it comes with a higher pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Please Note ~ This is NOT a review of the Banks Mansion as we never made it there :( . In August 2013 we made a reservation for a room for September 10 - 17. On August 13th I fractured my ankle and had to remain in a non-weight bearing cast for 3 months. My Dr said I could not fly. We contacted the hotel to see if we could get a credit if we gave them a letter from our Doctor. Despite several phone calls they would not accommodate us and said they would charge us the full amount of the reservation.

The lack of compassion on the part of the Banks Mansion has been very disappointing. We understand what "non -refundable" means but at the same time things do happen that are beyond one's control. It is especially frustrating because I know they re-booked the room because it was a Convention Week and a Fringe Festival Week.

Personally, I like to be aware of a hotel's attitude about this type of thing. And so I'm sharing our experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Mr Fred Milhorn,


We have read your review on Tripadvisor. We are very surprised that you feel the need to share your experience about a Standard Hotel Policy, instead of a real service experience in Banks Mansion.

Banks Mansion offers two different kind of rates:
1. Flexible rate: the Flexible rate can be cancelled 24 hours upon arrival;
2. Best Buy rate: the Best Buy rate is a DISCOUNTED RATE for which a full deposit is requested at the time of booking. It is clearly stated, on our website and in the reservation confirmation, that this rate is therefore NON REFUNDABLE and NON CHANGEABLE

In the beginning of September, you have contacted us by phone and by email, to inquire regarding a possibility to change your reservation which leads us to believe, that you are fully aware of the limitations of your booking.

During our email conversation, we have shown our sincerest sympathies for your wife and hoping for a good recovery. We also advised you to contact your insurance provider for this matter since the “non refundable and non changeable” policies applies to all the reservations of all our guests.

We do value our guests very much and it is our goal to make sure that every guest has a pleasant experience with Banks Mansion. In this matter we feel sorry for you that we were unable to live up to your expectations which has nothing to do with our unlimited hospitality but with the hotel policy.


With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

What a great stay! Where do we begin?

It's a wonderful hotel in a great location. Easy access from the train station to hotel via tram. Upon arrival from a long journey, we were greeted with an abundance of kindness and attentiveness from the staff and this did not stop the entire stay! They were so helpful in suggesting lunch and dinner choices and even making dinner reservations for us. We were able to purchase all of our tickets to the sights around the city and our transportation passes for the tram and canal tours from the front desk. Very convenient! Thanks Lonneke for all your help in taking the time to provide us with hand written instructions for a great tour of the city and attractions!

The room was very clean and well appointed. We had a large bathroom with soaking tub and separate shower with waterfall head. Nice toiletries, bath robes, slippers, very comfortable bed and linens, fridge and mini bar restocked everyday.

Complimentary buffet breakfast included bacon, sausage, eggs cooked a la carte, pancakes, french toast, meats, cheeses, fresh fruit, cereals and more..... Plenty of choices.

The hotel had a complimentary coffee and tea bar in the lobby which included cold beverages (water, juices, sodas, beer, etc.) and a shelf above the bar of complimentary spirits 24/7. Each evening around 5:00 pm there was a nice cheese, meat and bread cart set up by the fireplace which we could enjoy into the evening hours. Oh and don't forget about the jars of candy by the fire. Yummy!

Definitely stop by Winkel's for the best AmsterDAM apple pie. Thanks Willem for the great suggestion!

We can't wait to return to the Banks Mansion and couldn't imagine staying anywhere else!

Thanks to the Hotel staff for a wonderful stay! Our deepest gratitude from Delaware.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam
Address: Herengracht 519-522, Amsterdam 1017 BV, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Amex, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banks Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.