We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another pleasant visit to Banks Mansion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Save Saved
You added Banks Mansion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banks Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Walsall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Another pleasant visit to Banks Mansion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Second visit this year with a welcome back letter from the hotel staff on our table when we arrived.

We spent this time with friends who came on our recommendation, needless to say everything was up to expectations. Just as last time the hotel and all the staff were all as we hoped, just as friendly and pleasant, the usual mine of useful information.

I cannot speak to highly of this place, we love Amsterdam and the people, this hotel is the icing on the cake.

Finally a thank you to Esther who provides a reply to all reviews.

Thank you to you all.

Room Tip: Canal view rooms worth the views. A bit of traffic noise but part of the character of the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear returning guests,

How amazing to read that you have returned after a first joyfull stay and it is even better to read that all expectations were met again duiring the second stay! Thank you for all your great compliments. We hope to be welcoming you for a third visit at Banks Mansion.

Thank you for the compliment for me, I am answers all the reviews with much pleasure!

With kind & warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    975
    247
    49
    22
    16
See reviews for
122
701
80
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My wife booked us in for a two night stay as a surprise 40th birthday present. From start to finish the staff were amazing and nothing was too much for them. Advice, directions, booking tickets, helping us with a cancelled flight and always so courteous and polite. We couldn't thank them enough in the end. It wasn't even just one or two members of staff. We must have seen six or seven different employees always in teams of two on the front desk and they were all equally helpful, always going beyond the call of duty to help with whatever was required. The hotel ideology of complimentary drinks and snacks in the main lounge plus the room was also a fantastic idea and really made you feel at home. Rooms were luxurious and had absolutely everything you needed and more. Location is maximum 10 to 15 minutes walk from any of the major attractions and is right on a tram route if you preferred not to walk. Again, we really can't thank them enough for helping to make it such a great weekend!

Steve & Lucy Showell

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Mr & Mrs Showell,

First of all, it is good to hear that you managed to get home safely after all the storms in the Netherlands. Next to that we would truly like to thank you for the great review you have written about your stay at Banks Mansion. We have shown your review to all our staff members and they were all very happy reading these great words you have written about them.

We hope we can welcome you again when you visit Amsterdam for another time.

With kind & warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Just back from 4 nights at this excellent hotel. It's been 3 years since we've been (this was our 4th stay) and there have been some noticable changes (iPads free to use in reception etc). The concept with a free bar and wifi / breakfast all included is wonderful and the staff are as knowledgable and as friendly as ever.

Room was a bit smaller this time (212) due to a late booking and the lack of canal view rooms but everything was top-class.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear guests,

It is great to read that you keep returning to Banks Mansion, we are happy that it is becoming a second home to you! How nice that you noticed the new iPads, but also our rare wooden bikes and brand new touch screen computer.

It is unfortunate to read that your room was a little bit to small, but on the other hand this room had a big bath room with bath tub! If you come a next time please let us know your preference regarding rooms, so we can do our utmost best to attend to this.

We are looking forward to your next stay!

With kind & warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in a deluxe canal view room.

Great central and walkable location. Check in and check out were quick and easy. All the staff was friendly and those at the front desk (no dedicated concierge) were very helpful making suggestions and reservations for dinner and excursions. Special thanks to Paul for all his assistance. Breakfast had a decent selection, including a chef to cook eggs the way you like them. Since breakfast, afternoon snacks, and liquor were all included, cocktails and night caps became a great way to "regroup" or wind down.

Rooms were small, but adequately appointed. Bathroom had basic toiletries, was decent but limited on storage. The shower had a nice rain shower head but could use a bit more attention to cleaning. It also had the hottest water I've ever experienced anywhere.

There is no business center, but they provide a computer and multiple iPads in the lobby. If you need something printed, though, you need to email it to the desk. WiFi worked well most of the time, but occasionally we had trouble connecting.

Overall, the hotel has a definite boutique hotel vibe with a friendly staff. What was lacking in formal luxury was compensated for by friendliness, courtesy, and attentiveness.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for this great and honest review. Your kind words are greatly appreciated by all our staff members and by my colleague Paul in particular. How nice to read that you have enjoyed so many of the treats at Banks Mansion; the extensive breakfast, the free hispeed internet, the use of state-of-the-art touchscreen computer and many more.

We hope to be welcoming you again at Banks Mansion.

With kind & warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OMAHA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I found this place by cross referencing several websites-Decided on this and it was a good decision. THe location is perfect for walking this city and is esp. close to the museums and the Flower Market. You could not ask for better staff at the front desk. They were helpful in so many ways- booking our canal cruise, making reservations, computer problem solving and more.
The open bar both in your room( limited) and in the lounge/lobby was a really nice perk. THe 5 o'clock appetizer and wine bar was also very nice- though as some reviewers noted- the cheese etc gets cleared out pretty fast - so if planning on it - be there by 5:30 or so.
Rooms were comfortable - even spacious by European standards.And the included breakfast was very nice and could hold you all day .
The price of this place is a bit of an ouch- but for European prices- you do get a lot for your money. I would recommend this place to anyone..

Room Tip: ask for quiet room- might not get canal view but still a decent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for the sincere and joyful review! It is great to read that you have enjoyed your stay at Banks Mansion. Thank you for the complements about the wonderful breakfast. We are looking forward to your return at Banks Mansion.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed here for two days as we acclimated to the time change from the USA to Europe. By arriving in Amsterdam at 9 a.m. on a Thursday morning, we were prepared to leave our baggage at the hotel and find something to do until we could officially check in. But, Banks Mansion let us know that there was an available room similar to what we had reserved and allowed us to check in at that early hour. The room was comfortable and the hotel staff was efficient and informative and responsive to any request we had. We especially liked the all-inclusive nature of this hotel. The evening reception was lovely with drinks and snacks and the morning breakfast was wonderful. The staff had great recommendations and information about sightseeing, maps, restaurant recommendations, general directions, etc... When we are in Amsterdam again, we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Wow, you have created huge smiles on our faces by writing this amazing review. Thank you very much for these great compliments about many of these great features that are part of Banks Mansion’s ‘Home, away from home’ concept; the complementary drinks in both the Living as in your private mini-bar, the ‘live-cooking’ breakfast restaurant, the free use of iPads, hispeed wireless internet, Nespresso coffee machines and amazing rain showers. These were only a few parts of the concept!
We have printed out your review and all my colleagues would like to thank you for all the writings!

We are looking forward to welcome you again at Banks Mansion, to make your stay as great as your last one!

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Another great stay here, not much has changed here over the last eight or nine years, there's not much they could do to improve what is a terrific concept, delivered very well indeed.

Rooms are compact but well thought out, beds big and comfortable, bathrooms well equipped and spotless. Location is great, breakfast plentiful, staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. Inclusive drinks, snacks & coffee most welcome.

I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are slightly larger but have a little more street noise. Rooms furthest from the corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear returning guest,

It is really makes our day, reading that you would not stay anywhere else than at Banks Mansion when you are in Amsterdam! Thank you for the terrific compliments about the concept and towards our staff.

We hope to be welcoming you once more at Banks Mansion in the (near) future.

With kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, Otel and Venere so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banks Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.