We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as always” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Save Saved
You added Banks Mansion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banks Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Edinburgh, UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“As good as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Just back from 4 nights at this excellent hotel. It's been 3 years since we've been (this was our 4th stay) and there have been some noticable changes (iPads free to use in reception etc). The concept with a free bar and wifi / breakfast all included is wonderful and the staff are as knowledgable and as friendly as ever.

Room was a bit smaller this time (212) due to a late booking and the lack of canal view rooms but everything was top-class.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear guests,

It is great to read that you keep returning to Banks Mansion, we are happy that it is becoming a second home to you! How nice that you noticed the new iPads, but also our rare wooden bikes and brand new touch screen computer.

It is unfortunate to read that your room was a little bit to small, but on the other hand this room had a big bath room with bath tub! If you come a next time please let us know your preference regarding rooms, so we can do our utmost best to attend to this.

We are looking forward to your next stay!

With kind & warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,247 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    928
    234
    47
    22
    16
See reviews for
110
667
77
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in a deluxe canal view room.

Great central and walkable location. Check in and check out were quick and easy. All the staff was friendly and those at the front desk (no dedicated concierge) were very helpful making suggestions and reservations for dinner and excursions. Special thanks to Paul for all his assistance. Breakfast had a decent selection, including a chef to cook eggs the way you like them. Since breakfast, afternoon snacks, and liquor were all included, cocktails and night caps became a great way to "regroup" or wind down.

Rooms were small, but adequately appointed. Bathroom had basic toiletries, was decent but limited on storage. The shower had a nice rain shower head but could use a bit more attention to cleaning. It also had the hottest water I've ever experienced anywhere.

There is no business center, but they provide a computer and multiple iPads in the lobby. If you need something printed, though, you need to email it to the desk. WiFi worked well most of the time, but occasionally we had trouble connecting.

Overall, the hotel has a definite boutique hotel vibe with a friendly staff. What was lacking in formal luxury was compensated for by friendliness, courtesy, and attentiveness.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for this great and honest review. Your kind words are greatly appreciated by all our staff members and by my colleague Paul in particular. How nice to read that you have enjoyed so many of the treats at Banks Mansion; the extensive breakfast, the free hispeed internet, the use of state-of-the-art touchscreen computer and many more.

We hope to be welcoming you again at Banks Mansion.

With kind & warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OMAHA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I found this place by cross referencing several websites-Decided on this and it was a good decision. THe location is perfect for walking this city and is esp. close to the museums and the Flower Market. You could not ask for better staff at the front desk. They were helpful in so many ways- booking our canal cruise, making reservations, computer problem solving and more.
The open bar both in your room( limited) and in the lounge/lobby was a really nice perk. THe 5 o'clock appetizer and wine bar was also very nice- though as some reviewers noted- the cheese etc gets cleared out pretty fast - so if planning on it - be there by 5:30 or so.
Rooms were comfortable - even spacious by European standards.And the included breakfast was very nice and could hold you all day .
The price of this place is a bit of an ouch- but for European prices- you do get a lot for your money. I would recommend this place to anyone..

Room Tip: ask for quiet room- might not get canal view but still a decent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for the sincere and joyful review! It is great to read that you have enjoyed your stay at Banks Mansion. Thank you for the complements about the wonderful breakfast. We are looking forward to your return at Banks Mansion.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed here for two days as we acclimated to the time change from the USA to Europe. By arriving in Amsterdam at 9 a.m. on a Thursday morning, we were prepared to leave our baggage at the hotel and find something to do until we could officially check in. But, Banks Mansion let us know that there was an available room similar to what we had reserved and allowed us to check in at that early hour. The room was comfortable and the hotel staff was efficient and informative and responsive to any request we had. We especially liked the all-inclusive nature of this hotel. The evening reception was lovely with drinks and snacks and the morning breakfast was wonderful. The staff had great recommendations and information about sightseeing, maps, restaurant recommendations, general directions, etc... When we are in Amsterdam again, we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Wow, you have created huge smiles on our faces by writing this amazing review. Thank you very much for these great compliments about many of these great features that are part of Banks Mansion’s ‘Home, away from home’ concept; the complementary drinks in both the Living as in your private mini-bar, the ‘live-cooking’ breakfast restaurant, the free use of iPads, hispeed wireless internet, Nespresso coffee machines and amazing rain showers. These were only a few parts of the concept!
We have printed out your review and all my colleagues would like to thank you for all the writings!

We are looking forward to welcome you again at Banks Mansion, to make your stay as great as your last one!

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Another great stay here, not much has changed here over the last eight or nine years, there's not much they could do to improve what is a terrific concept, delivered very well indeed.

Rooms are compact but well thought out, beds big and comfortable, bathrooms well equipped and spotless. Location is great, breakfast plentiful, staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. Inclusive drinks, snacks & coffee most welcome.

I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are slightly larger but have a little more street noise. Rooms furthest from the corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear returning guest,

It is really makes our day, reading that you would not stay anywhere else than at Banks Mansion when you are in Amsterdam! Thank you for the terrific compliments about the concept and towards our staff.

We hope to be welcoming you once more at Banks Mansion in the (near) future.

With kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Incredible experience! Great location...Stayed for 4 days with my lovely wife of 16 years for our annieversary. The Banks Mansion staff was exceptional. Originally had a room facing the street but was upgraded to a corner room facing the canal and street free of charge. The breakfast provided each morning was more than enough to keep us going throughout the whole day until dinnertime. Ola's omelettes were great! The staff provided unconditional assistance from dinner reservations to printing our boarding passes. Thanks Peter...thank you Banks Mansion for an unforgettable 16th anniversary!

A and K

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear anniversary guests,

How amazing to read that you have chosen Banks Mansion to celebrate this special occasion! It is even better to read that you actually enjoyed your stay so much! A huge ‘thank you’ from all the members of our staff for the nice compliments you have written about them. A special thank you from Ola and Peter!
We are already looking forward to welcome you again at Banks Mansion. Maybe for your 17th anniversary?

With kind & warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This hotel sets the standard for hotels in this city. The is operated and serviced VERY well. Manned by a team of professional staff at all times who are happy to assist and serve to your enquires and requests. The rooms are very comfortable and the beds very comfy indeed.

The only recommendation i would make is to perhaps close the bar downstairs at a timely manner or manage it better whereby no disruption is caused to guests who want to enjoy a 'quiet' drink.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for your pleasant review! How amazing that you enjoyed the hotel so much, we appreciate your nice compliments towards our team of staff. We are happy to read that you experienced our rooms and beds as very comfortable.
Also we would like to thank you for your recommendation. We have a full service bar, which is open 24 hours, so our guests can feel like they are at home, but not at home. It could be that some guests come to have a drink at the same time, so this can make it busy and cozy in our Living. But this gives our guests also the chance to meet other guests!

We hope to have you as our guest another time!

With kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banks Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.