We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Save Saved
You added Banks Mansion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banks Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Florence, Italy
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very Good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I remained four days in this hotel for a congress and I was very happy for my choice.
the standard of the room is higher than the other similar hotel and the possibility to access overtime to the bar is a great idea!
The Young staff is very helpful and the breakfast is very good and plantiful.

Room Tip: The rooms along the channel are more quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear congress guest,

It is great to read that you enjoyed our hotel during your congress in Amsterdam. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed the comfort of the room and the extensiveness of the breakfast. A thank you for the compliments to our (young) staff.

With sincere and kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    992
    252
    50
    22
    16
See reviews for
126
714
80
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Neat hotel ideally situated in central Amsterdam -- an easy walk
from either the museum district with Rembrandt and Van Gogh
or to the Anne Frank Huis (most memorable), and to numerous
quite good restaurants and lovely walks by the canals. We had
a front center room looking out over the hotel entrance -- the
room comfort easily made up for the evening noise. The staff
was always helpful, and came up with a wonderful substitution
for dinner when we realized that we had reserved at a spot that
was not easy for us to find. That was the nearby Italian
restaurant Incanto which I would highly recommend. The flavor
of the hotel is art deco with some Mackintosh motifs.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guests,

How great to read that have enjoyed your stay at Banks Mansion so much. We are happy that you made good use of the proximity of all great hotspots of Amsterdam to the hotel. Thank you for the compliments towards our staff, we hope to be of service to you another time when you visit Amsterdam and Banks Mansion.

With kind & warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gauteng
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

I was in Amsterdam for business and decided to stay here as it seemed a bit.more personal that a typical business hotel. This was indeed the case. It was an absolute pleasure having everything included. I loved the nespresso machine in the room and the evening snacks. I would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear business guest,

Thank you for this nice review. It is great to read that also you, as a business guest, enjoyed the athmosphere at Banks Mansion so much. We hope to welcome you during another business trip or when you visit Amsterdam as a leisure guest.

With sincere regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had a lovely time at the hotel, the rooms were clean and very comfortable. The staff were all helpful over any query and so friendly. The home from home was so pleasant, nothing extra to pay and great to be able to relax with a drink or nibbles downstairs. We loved the breakfast, fresh cooked or a good selection of other choices.
Good location, central enough but not in a noisy neighbourhood. Easy to get around by foot or on the tram lines.
Would thoroughly recommend to people looking to spend a few days in the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear guests,

We are dazzled by your great review, thank you sincerely for taking the effort writing such great compliments about us! It is amazing that you have enjoyed all the great features of the ‘home, away from home’ concept; the cozy Living room in Art Deco style, the complementary drinks, snacks and candies, the extensive breakfast, hi-speed wireless internet and the ability to use the iPads. We would also like to sinceley thank you for the great compliments towards all our staff, they appreciate this very much!
We hope we can welcome you again for another Total Hospitality experience at Banks Mansion.

With kind & warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

What a lovely hotel. The hospitality is wonderful. Staff are very helpful and friendly. You can sit in the lounge and help yourself to drinks at any time. We went when it was snowy...it was so nice to go back and warm up in front of the fire. Breakfast was great. Location was great. Easy to get around. Yep...thumbs up!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very, very much for this lovely review! We are delighted to hear you thought the hospitality provided by the helpful and friendly staff was wonderful, the breakfast was great and the location as well; such amazing compliments!
It would be nice to welcome you back in the near future; maybe during summer time, when you can come back after a warm day in the city to cool down in the Living.

Thanks again for the great compliments!


With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Britain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had the most wonderful time at Banks Mansion! It was my husband's 60th birthday and I had booked a trip to Amsterdam as a surprise treat. As it was a special occasion, I emailed the hotel ahead to arrange a few things and to our delight we were upgraded free of charge to a beautiful 4th floor suite with amazing views overlooking the canal! The room was modern, spacious and spotless. The bathroom was luxurious and had a generous sized walk in shower which doubled up as a sauna! The bed was huge and very comfy with lovely crisp linen sheets. Room service attended daily with fresh linens/towels/toiletries etc. Rooms also include a free mini bar, which was replenished when running low as well as three crystal decanters containing gin, whiskey and cognac.... a lovely added luxury! Breakfast was included in the price and you had your choice of continental (fruit, cereal, breads etc) or eggs cooked to your liking along with bacon and sausages. The hotel is in a lovely affluent area but just 15-20 minutes walk from Dam Square and other attractions. The daily flower market is less than 10 minutes walk away and the Red Light District (which you have to see, even just once!) is about 20 minutes walk away. In the hotel lobby there is a coffee machine, a fridge containing soft drinks/beer/water and a range of alcoholic drinks which are all complimentary for guests so after a day of sightseeing you can come back, relax in one of the big comfy chairs, chat to other guests or browse the internet and help yourself to a drink of your choice. Every evening a selection of chilled wines and snacks are provided for guests, again all complimentary! The staff go out of their way to ensure guests are happy and well provided for - nothing is too much trouble for them. We would highly recommend Banks Mansion and look forward to returning again - we wouldn't even think of staying anywhere else! Thank you Banks Mansion for a wonderful, memorable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear guests,

What a superb review! Reading these kind words made our day! We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay so much and that Banks Mansion is your first hotel of choice when coming to Amsterdam. How great that you enjoyed the proximity of Banks Mansion to many great hotspots and restaurants so much! A thank you for all the nice compliments about which you write in your review.

We are truly looking forward to be of service to you again during another visit.

With kind, sincere and warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We booked a deluxe double room with canal view which looked out on the Herengracht and the architecturally much vaunted Golden Bend via the double French-windowed vestigial balcony. When closed, the windows cut traffic noise to a murmur and removed draughts. The bed was comfortable with excellent pillows, chairs well-designed and comfortable, wardrobe (with lovely lit stained-glass panels, like the bedside cabinets) adequate and with safe, television with lots of English-language channels and free minibar (water, beer, strange energy drink, pop and nuts) with decanters of gin, whisky and brandy, free and topped up daily. The bathroom was pleasant with a standup shower (a little twitchy to set up). Downstairs was "The Living", a complimentary and very well-stocked bar with spirits, beers, wines (of all types), waters, coffee, teas, snacks, sweeties, etc. etc.; tables had several tablet computers with free wifi and reading matter - all meant to encourage guests to mingle. The courteous staff all had excellent English and were always so ready to help, even at busy times. Breakfast was included and was served in a stylish area; menu was extensive and the wide range of delicious cooked-to-order egg dishes (not poached) was wonderful. Location was within 15mins walk of the museum quarter (via the arts & antiques shop area), Rembrandt square and museum, the edge of the redlight district, the Ledseplein (lots of eating, music and theatres), opera house, etc. There are good restaurants very nearby and trams pass the hotel for travelling further afield. We loved this hotel!

Room Tip: The canal view is worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

How great to read this review. Thank you very much for the time and effort taken to write this review. It is good to read that you have enjoyed so many features of our ‘home, away from home’ full service concept; the luxurious and comfortable hotel rooms, the complementary drinks in both The Living as your private minibar, the free usage of state-of-the-art tablets (iPads) and computer, the extensive breakfast in The Kitchen, our breakfast restaurant and many more. Also a big ‘thank you’ from all the Banks Mansion staff for the great compliments towards them!

We will be looking forward to welcome you at Banks Mansion.

With kind & warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banks Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.