We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a fantastic expierence !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Save Saved
You added Banks Mansion to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banks Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Had a fantastic expierence !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

It statrted with a beautiful hotel..a warm welcome from the lovely and a smashingly stylish staff! Our room was divine !!!!!
Everything about Room 306 and the banks mansion was fantastic ! Thanks for the memories!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very, very much for your incredibly nice words. We are especially touched by your last sentence; we always try to create a memorable stay for our guests, and it sounds like we succeeded!
We would be happy to welcome you again at Banks Mansion in the near future.

Thanks again for your review!

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    989
    252
    49
    22
    16
See reviews for
126
713
80
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
267 helpful votes 267 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at the Banks Mansion from Sept 21-Sept 25, and it was fantastic! The location in central Amsterdam makes the Banks Mansion perfect for visiting all of the major attractions and museums that Amsterdam has to offer. Everything we wanted to do and see is within easy walking distance of the hotel, plus plenty of cafes and restaurants are situated nearby.

Our room was a Deluxe with a canal view. Even though the Banks Mansion is located on a busy street, the room was always quiet and we never had any problems with noise from outside or other rooms in the hotel. The room was spacious by European standards and we never felt cramped at all. The bathroom was a good size with a rain-shower that had just the right amount of water pressure. The room was spotless and the furniture and fixtures well-appointed.

We enjoyed the "home away from home" concept offered by the Banks Mansion. It was lovely to relax in the main lobby after a long day of sightseeing, with a glass of wine and some nibbles. Some other postings on Trip Advisor have pointed out that the Reception staff also handles replenishing the food, drink and general clean-up of the lobby, and it is true. Surely the Banks Mansion can hire an extra person to take care of the food and drinks and cleaning of the lobby area and let the Reception staff concentrate on booking rooms, checkout/check-in of guests and general Reception duties? It seemed a bit strange and I know the Staff tried their hardest to do everything they could.

Breakfast was included in our package at the Banks Mansion, part of the "home away from home" concept. Breakfast was generous and good quality, with a great selection of fresh breads, fruits and cereals, and even a make-to-order omelette station.

We highly recommend the Banks Mansion for anyone visiting Amsterdam. It is definitely worth the price and we had a fantastic stay!

Room Tip: The Deluxe Canal Rooms have a good view and are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for this ‘fantastic review’! We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed all the aspects of your stay at Banks Mansion; including the proximity to all great attractions of Amsterdam, the quietness of the room with the view over the lovely canal “Herengracht”, the breakfast in the breakfast room with the buffet and live cooking, the complementary drinks and snacks in the Living.

It is nice to read that you noticed that the staff of the reception takes care of the entire living room. At Banks Mansion the staff working at the reception, are called our “Guest Relation Officers”. They are responsible for everything that happens in the Living; which means doing the reception tasks like checking-in and checking-out guests, helping guests with all their questions regarding their stay in Amsterdam, teaching the trainees and also making sure the Living room is clean and the bar is refilled on time. The Guest Relations Officers have an all-round function at the hotel because of this, which makes their days at the hotel very interesting.

Thanks again for your lovely review and for recommending Banks Mansion to other travelers!

We hope we will welcome you again in the near future!


With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in a double room and a double room + extra bed configuration. The hotel is located as central as can be in walking distance from all the major attractions of Amsterdam. Really, we could walk to any place we wanted including the museums, Anna Frank huis, Rembrandtplein with all it's restaurants without even taking the tram.
The staff was lovely, eager to help with anything we needed. We bought museum tickets at the hotel to save us time at the enormous lines at the museum and bought tram tickets when we got tired from the walking.
The hotel has a "full service concept", which means there are free drinks and snacks at the lobby at all times, a cheese and wine complimentary afternoon snack and all the minibar refreshments and snacks are completely free. This is very nice and adds a touch of hospitality to the place. Also wifi is free (not easy to find in Europe luxury hotels).
Breakfast is very diverse and tasty with eggs, fresh fruit, yoghurt, cheeses, cold cuts, etc.
Rooms aren't big but very comfortable with all the amenities you could wish for and more. My only criticism is that they are obviously built for tall people (mirrors are hung high, shower taps are too high to reach for children).
All in all, an excellent hotel, which made our vacation even more wonderful and I would come back to again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear guests,

With only the title of your review, you already created a huge smile on all our faces! Thank you for this great and positive review! We appreciate it very much that you have taken the effort to write about your stay at Banks Mansion.
We are delighted to hear that you and your family have enjoyed your stay this much; with all the aspects of our ‘full-service concept’, the proximity to all major attractions and the hospitality provided by the helpful staff.
You are right that it might be hard for children to see themselves in the mirror in the bathroom! The rooms are not decorated for children, because Banks Mansion is a boutique hotel. But we are very happy to hear that this was your only comment on your stay.
We would be happy to welcome you and your family back in the near future!

With warm and kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
currumbin
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Booked this based on other reviews and have to say the place actually feels a bit seedy and certainly not 5 star. the rooms are quite small and look just like any other hotel room. The bathroom is poorly designed so you have to use it one at a time as just too awkward for 2 at once. The towels are quite small too, not really hotel quality. The room lighting is quite dim so it is hard to see as well. The room was clean enough but not spotless and the carpet could do with a good clean. Sleep quality wasn't that great, you could hear everything from all the rooms around and above us as well as the trams. The lobby is a nice area to have a drink and the added snacks and drinks a nice touch. breakfast was good, fresh fruit, yoghurts and the egg station provided perfectly cooked food. Front desk staff helpful though one of the gave the impression that he thought he was above serving tourists. We just really didn't feel at home in this hotel, it was fine for a short stay but not up to the standard we had experienced for a similar price in the rest of Europe both in terms of service and amenities.

Room Tip: bring ear plugs and take a sleeping tablet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guests,
We appreciate your extensive review very much! Your review is very valuable for us, because we always strive to achieve the best we can and we will try to improve within our process wherever we can!
We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed our full service concept in our Living area with the complementary drinks and snacks throughout the day, as well as the breakfast provided in our breakfast room.
How unfortunate to read that you feel that Banks Mansion is the same as any other four star hotel, while we do our very best to be different from other hotels by, for example, having the Art Deco style based on the ideas of the renown Dutch architect Berlage and the American Frank Lloyd Wright. The rooms that the guest can reserve are in fact of European standard. We provide the guest with a set of small and a set of big towels. To make a nice atmosphere in the room, we have chosen to place nice small lamps in the room instead of one big light coming of the ceiling. If we knew that you did not sleep very well, then we would have offered you a pillow from our pillow menu. The advantage of the hotel is the location in the middle of the city centre, but we cannot guarantee complete silence. We do our very best to place guests in a more silent room when we receive a request for a quite room. It is unfortunate to read that you had the feeling that one of our employees gave you the feeling that he was above serving tourists. With a lot of pride I can honestly say that the employees of Banks Mansion are hired because they have a passion for the hospitality branch and a passion for the different nationalities and the people that come to us. We keep the comfort of our hotel up-to-date so our guest can have the total hospitality experience at Banks Mansion for the full 100 %. Unfortunate to hear that we did not achieve this feeling with you. I do hope that we can welcome you again to try and give you the right feeling of Banks Mansion and its team.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Very happy with our business trip to Amsterdam, staying at Banks Mansion! 5 nights x 8 people and we loved it, hope to stay again next year. Nancy the manager is amazing and introduced us to a new restaurant, which was 5 minute walk from the hotel and well worth it. Nothing negative to say as nothing is too much trouble. Thank you to all the staff.

Room Tip: Room 111 was a nice room but they are all pretty similar. Very quiet and a decent size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Business Guest,

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay at Banks Mansion! A business trip is totally different than a holiday – but it definitely is nice to visit some great restaurants in the area of the hotel after a busy day at a congress or at the office. I am glad to hear your have enjoyed an evening at a restaurant our lovely Nancy recommended to you.
We would be happy to welcome you and your colleagues back at Banks Mansion next year!


With warm regards,

Eshter Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
642 reviews 642 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
301 helpful votes 301 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Very good location is not enough to make a great hotel - the old rule works here as well and although staff tries hard, the rooms are small, lobby lounge quite strange and the concept of "home away from home" they try to promote clearly doesn't work well - by afternoon "free snack corner" (apparently some cheese and cold cuts) is empty, as at home when you do refill the fridge while '"free bar", great as a concept, flies against the rightful concern for the bottom line, so don't expect miracles there.
Staff is nice and service good but overall feeling rather short of expectations

Room Tip: Avoid lobby level on the street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all, thank you sincerely for the honest review. We appreciate this, it is a nice opportunity for us to continue to improve our service. We are happy to hear that you thought the staff was nice, and that they were able to provide nice service.
The lobby lounge is called “the Living”, where guests can enjoy complementary drinks and snacks throughout the day. Next to the all day drinks in the fridge, coffee and tea and alcoholic liquors; early in the morning you will find a small breakfast of some croissants and fruit for guests who need to check out early for example, during the day some candies, chocolates or cookies and during the evening we offer peanuts or chips and the cheese table. Many guests like to wind down after a day of visiting museums, sightseeing and strolling around the city in this Living, which gives them a nice, comfortable feeling – like being at home. We actually receive quite a lot of compliments about the home-away-from home feeling that the guests feel while sitting in our Living. After reading your review it is clear that this is a very personal feeling that the guest has yes or no.
I do hope that we can welcome you again to try and give you the right feeling of Banks Mansion and its team.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

we stayed in Banks Mansion last Easter and it was fab. Clean, classy, extremely comfortable bed and soft pillows... most friendly and helpful hotel staff. Would definitely recommend it and most definitely will be back in the future.
many thanks.
Agnes

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear guests,

What a “fantastic review”! We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us at Banks Mansion during Easter, with our comfortable beds and soft pillows. Thank you for the compliments towards the staff and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future!

With warm and kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, Otel, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banks Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;