We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't get a better location. Excellent stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Banks Mansion to your Saves list
Banks Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Haifa, Israel
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Can't get a better location. Excellent stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in a double room and a double room + extra bed configuration. The hotel is located as central as can be in walking distance from all the major attractions of Amsterdam. Really, we could walk to any place we wanted including the museums, Anna Frank huis, Rembrandtplein with all it's restaurants without even taking the tram.
The staff was lovely, eager to help with anything we needed. We bought museum tickets at the hotel to save us time at the enormous lines at the museum and bought tram tickets when we got tired from the walking.
The hotel has a "full service concept", which means there are free drinks and snacks at the lobby at all times, a cheese and wine complimentary afternoon snack and all the minibar refreshments and snacks are completely free. This is very nice and adds a touch of hospitality to the place. Also wifi is free (not easy to find in Europe luxury hotels).
Breakfast is very diverse and tasty with eggs, fresh fruit, yoghurt, cheeses, cold cuts, etc.
Rooms aren't big but very comfortable with all the amenities you could wish for and more. My only criticism is that they are obviously built for tall people (mirrors are hung high, shower taps are too high to reach for children).
All in all, an excellent hotel, which made our vacation even more wonderful and I would come back to again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear guests,

With only the title of your review, you already created a huge smile on all our faces! Thank you for this great and positive review! We appreciate it very much that you have taken the effort to write about your stay at Banks Mansion.
We are delighted to hear that you and your family have enjoyed your stay this much; with all the aspects of our ‘full-service concept’, the proximity to all major attractions and the hospitality provided by the helpful staff.
You are right that it might be hard for children to see themselves in the mirror in the bathroom! The rooms are not decorated for children, because Banks Mansion is a boutique hotel. But we are very happy to hear that this was your only comment on your stay.
We would be happy to welcome you and your family back in the near future!

With warm and kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,080
    277
    53
    23
    16
See reviews for
136
790
85
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
currumbin
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Booked this based on other reviews and have to say the place actually feels a bit seedy and certainly not 5 star. the rooms are quite small and look just like any other hotel room. The bathroom is poorly designed so you have to use it one at a time as just too awkward for 2 at once. The towels are quite small too, not really hotel quality. The room lighting is quite dim so it is hard to see as well. The room was clean enough but not spotless and the carpet could do with a good clean. Sleep quality wasn't that great, you could hear everything from all the rooms around and above us as well as the trams. The lobby is a nice area to have a drink and the added snacks and drinks a nice touch. breakfast was good, fresh fruit, yoghurts and the egg station provided perfectly cooked food. Front desk staff helpful though one of the gave the impression that he thought he was above serving tourists. We just really didn't feel at home in this hotel, it was fine for a short stay but not up to the standard we had experienced for a similar price in the rest of Europe both in terms of service and amenities.

Room Tip: bring ear plugs and take a sleeping tablet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guests,
We appreciate your extensive review very much! Your review is very valuable for us, because we always strive to achieve the best we can and we will try to improve within our process wherever we can!
We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed our full service concept in our Living area with the complementary drinks and snacks throughout the day, as well as the breakfast provided in our breakfast room.
How unfortunate to read that you feel that Banks Mansion is the same as any other four star hotel, while we do our very best to be different from other hotels by, for example, having the Art Deco style based on the ideas of the renown Dutch architect Berlage and the American Frank Lloyd Wright. The rooms that the guest can reserve are in fact of European standard. We provide the guest with a set of small and a set of big towels. To make a nice atmosphere in the room, we have chosen to place nice small lamps in the room instead of one big light coming of the ceiling. If we knew that you did not sleep very well, then we would have offered you a pillow from our pillow menu. The advantage of the hotel is the location in the middle of the city centre, but we cannot guarantee complete silence. We do our very best to place guests in a more silent room when we receive a request for a quite room. It is unfortunate to read that you had the feeling that one of our employees gave you the feeling that he was above serving tourists. With a lot of pride I can honestly say that the employees of Banks Mansion are hired because they have a passion for the hospitality branch and a passion for the different nationalities and the people that come to us. We keep the comfort of our hotel up-to-date so our guest can have the total hospitality experience at Banks Mansion for the full 100 %. Unfortunate to hear that we did not achieve this feeling with you. I do hope that we can welcome you again to try and give you the right feeling of Banks Mansion and its team.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Very happy with our business trip to Amsterdam, staying at Banks Mansion! 5 nights x 8 people and we loved it, hope to stay again next year. Nancy the manager is amazing and introduced us to a new restaurant, which was 5 minute walk from the hotel and well worth it. Nothing negative to say as nothing is too much trouble. Thank you to all the staff.

Room Tip: Room 111 was a nice room but they are all pretty similar. Very quiet and a decent size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Business Guest,

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay at Banks Mansion! A business trip is totally different than a holiday – but it definitely is nice to visit some great restaurants in the area of the hotel after a busy day at a congress or at the office. I am glad to hear your have enjoyed an evening at a restaurant our lovely Nancy recommended to you.
We would be happy to welcome you and your colleagues back at Banks Mansion next year!


With warm regards,

Eshter Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
822 reviews 822 reviews
122 hotel reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
390 helpful votes 390 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Very good location is not enough to make a great hotel - the old rule works here as well and although staff tries hard, the rooms are small, lobby lounge quite strange and the concept of "home away from home" they try to promote clearly doesn't work well - by afternoon "free snack corner" (apparently some cheese and cold cuts) is empty, as at home when you do refill the fridge while '"free bar", great as a concept, flies against the rightful concern for the bottom line, so don't expect miracles there.
Staff is nice and service good but overall feeling rather short of expectations

Room Tip: Avoid lobby level on the street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all, thank you sincerely for the honest review. We appreciate this, it is a nice opportunity for us to continue to improve our service. We are happy to hear that you thought the staff was nice, and that they were able to provide nice service.
The lobby lounge is called “the Living”, where guests can enjoy complementary drinks and snacks throughout the day. Next to the all day drinks in the fridge, coffee and tea and alcoholic liquors; early in the morning you will find a small breakfast of some croissants and fruit for guests who need to check out early for example, during the day some candies, chocolates or cookies and during the evening we offer peanuts or chips and the cheese table. Many guests like to wind down after a day of visiting museums, sightseeing and strolling around the city in this Living, which gives them a nice, comfortable feeling – like being at home. We actually receive quite a lot of compliments about the home-away-from home feeling that the guests feel while sitting in our Living. After reading your review it is clear that this is a very personal feeling that the guest has yes or no.
I do hope that we can welcome you again to try and give you the right feeling of Banks Mansion and its team.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

we stayed in Banks Mansion last Easter and it was fab. Clean, classy, extremely comfortable bed and soft pillows... most friendly and helpful hotel staff. Would definitely recommend it and most definitely will be back in the future.
many thanks.
Agnes

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear guests,

What a “fantastic review”! We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us at Banks Mansion during Easter, with our comfortable beds and soft pillows. Thank you for the compliments towards the staff and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future!

With warm and kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Great location, excellent and helpful hotel staff, included breakfast, afternoon cheese and wine, very clean rooms - need I say more? Oh yes, let me not forget, all drinks are included in your room rate.

I stayed in this marvelous and convivial hotel for a glorious seven days when I was in Amsterdam. Frontdesk staff, in particular a man named Joust, were very cheerful and eager to answer all your questions.

Will definitely stay here again when I visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you sincerely for the kind review that you have written about your stay at Banks Mansion. Thank you for the compliments toward our staff, our colleague Joost appreciated the special compliment for him as well.

We are looking forward to be able to welcome you again at Banks Mansion.

With sincere & warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellagio62
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The Banks Mansion feels like a home away from home for me. I've stayed in 20+ properties around the wonderful city of Amsterdam and I am done looking. I always arrive early, around 7am, and there has always been a room available, which I know can be luck of the draw. The staff is also very friendly and helpful and they always greet me with a smile whether I'm checking in or returning from an excursion. The breakfast has a great selection of fresh items and there is always enough to fill you up for a good part of the day. I can honestly say this is the only hotel where I've actually enjoyed spending time in the lobby. I've had some great conversations with like minded travelers/strangers in the lobby of the Banks. The all inclusive concept is a added bonus. It's nice to be able to have a drink, beer, coffee, etc. before going out or upon returning from an excursion and not having to worry about where your wallet is. You simply grab what you want and call it good! Also, the location of the Banks can't be beat. It's an easy couple stops from Central Station on the tram. It's also located on one of the main canals which makes for great viewing. Even with the tram access you can walk to all major attractions from the hotel. I don't ever plan to use another hotel in Amsterdam.

Cheers

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for creating huge smiles on all our faces. This is what we are striving for, you choosing Banks Mansion as the only hotel to stay in Amsterdam! Thank you for all the kind words and compliments toward our hotel and staff.
How amazing that you have enjoyed all the features of our ‘home, away from home’ full service concept so much and that you enjoyed your time in our Living.

We hope to be welcoming you again during another visit to Amsterdam and Banks Mansion.

With kind & warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banks Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.