We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit disappointing.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Banks Mansion to your Saves list
Banks Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
currumbin
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Bit disappointing.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Booked this based on other reviews and have to say the place actually feels a bit seedy and certainly not 5 star. the rooms are quite small and look just like any other hotel room. The bathroom is poorly designed so you have to use it one at a time as just too awkward for 2 at once. The towels are quite small too, not really hotel quality. The room lighting is quite dim so it is hard to see as well. The room was clean enough but not spotless and the carpet could do with a good clean. Sleep quality wasn't that great, you could hear everything from all the rooms around and above us as well as the trams. The lobby is a nice area to have a drink and the added snacks and drinks a nice touch. breakfast was good, fresh fruit, yoghurts and the egg station provided perfectly cooked food. Front desk staff helpful though one of the gave the impression that he thought he was above serving tourists. We just really didn't feel at home in this hotel, it was fine for a short stay but not up to the standard we had experienced for a similar price in the rest of Europe both in terms of service and amenities.

Room Tip: bring ear plugs and take a sleeping tablet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guests,
We appreciate your extensive review very much! Your review is very valuable for us, because we always strive to achieve the best we can and we will try to improve within our process wherever we can!
We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed our full service concept in our Living area with the complementary drinks and snacks throughout the day, as well as the breakfast provided in our breakfast room.
How unfortunate to read that you feel that Banks Mansion is the same as any other four star hotel, while we do our very best to be different from other hotels by, for example, having the Art Deco style based on the ideas of the renown Dutch architect Berlage and the American Frank Lloyd Wright. The rooms that the guest can reserve are in fact of European standard. We provide the guest with a set of small and a set of big towels. To make a nice atmosphere in the room, we have chosen to place nice small lamps in the room instead of one big light coming of the ceiling. If we knew that you did not sleep very well, then we would have offered you a pillow from our pillow menu. The advantage of the hotel is the location in the middle of the city centre, but we cannot guarantee complete silence. We do our very best to place guests in a more silent room when we receive a request for a quite room. It is unfortunate to read that you had the feeling that one of our employees gave you the feeling that he was above serving tourists. With a lot of pride I can honestly say that the employees of Banks Mansion are hired because they have a passion for the hospitality branch and a passion for the different nationalities and the people that come to us. We keep the comfort of our hotel up-to-date so our guest can have the total hospitality experience at Banks Mansion for the full 100 %. Unfortunate to hear that we did not achieve this feeling with you. I do hope that we can welcome you again to try and give you the right feeling of Banks Mansion and its team.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,078
    275
    53
    23
    16
See reviews for
136
786
85
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Very happy with our business trip to Amsterdam, staying at Banks Mansion! 5 nights x 8 people and we loved it, hope to stay again next year. Nancy the manager is amazing and introduced us to a new restaurant, which was 5 minute walk from the hotel and well worth it. Nothing negative to say as nothing is too much trouble. Thank you to all the staff.

Room Tip: Room 111 was a nice room but they are all pretty similar. Very quiet and a decent size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Business Guest,

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay at Banks Mansion! A business trip is totally different than a holiday – but it definitely is nice to visit some great restaurants in the area of the hotel after a busy day at a congress or at the office. I am glad to hear your have enjoyed an evening at a restaurant our lovely Nancy recommended to you.
We would be happy to welcome you and your colleagues back at Banks Mansion next year!


With warm regards,

Eshter Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
819 reviews 819 reviews
122 hotel reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
384 helpful votes 384 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Very good location is not enough to make a great hotel - the old rule works here as well and although staff tries hard, the rooms are small, lobby lounge quite strange and the concept of "home away from home" they try to promote clearly doesn't work well - by afternoon "free snack corner" (apparently some cheese and cold cuts) is empty, as at home when you do refill the fridge while '"free bar", great as a concept, flies against the rightful concern for the bottom line, so don't expect miracles there.
Staff is nice and service good but overall feeling rather short of expectations

Room Tip: Avoid lobby level on the street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all, thank you sincerely for the honest review. We appreciate this, it is a nice opportunity for us to continue to improve our service. We are happy to hear that you thought the staff was nice, and that they were able to provide nice service.
The lobby lounge is called “the Living”, where guests can enjoy complementary drinks and snacks throughout the day. Next to the all day drinks in the fridge, coffee and tea and alcoholic liquors; early in the morning you will find a small breakfast of some croissants and fruit for guests who need to check out early for example, during the day some candies, chocolates or cookies and during the evening we offer peanuts or chips and the cheese table. Many guests like to wind down after a day of visiting museums, sightseeing and strolling around the city in this Living, which gives them a nice, comfortable feeling – like being at home. We actually receive quite a lot of compliments about the home-away-from home feeling that the guests feel while sitting in our Living. After reading your review it is clear that this is a very personal feeling that the guest has yes or no.
I do hope that we can welcome you again to try and give you the right feeling of Banks Mansion and its team.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

we stayed in Banks Mansion last Easter and it was fab. Clean, classy, extremely comfortable bed and soft pillows... most friendly and helpful hotel staff. Would definitely recommend it and most definitely will be back in the future.
many thanks.
Agnes

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear guests,

What a “fantastic review”! We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us at Banks Mansion during Easter, with our comfortable beds and soft pillows. Thank you for the compliments towards the staff and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future!

With warm and kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Great location, excellent and helpful hotel staff, included breakfast, afternoon cheese and wine, very clean rooms - need I say more? Oh yes, let me not forget, all drinks are included in your room rate.

I stayed in this marvelous and convivial hotel for a glorious seven days when I was in Amsterdam. Frontdesk staff, in particular a man named Joust, were very cheerful and eager to answer all your questions.

Will definitely stay here again when I visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you sincerely for the kind review that you have written about your stay at Banks Mansion. Thank you for the compliments toward our staff, our colleague Joost appreciated the special compliment for him as well.

We are looking forward to be able to welcome you again at Banks Mansion.

With sincere & warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellagio62
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The Banks Mansion feels like a home away from home for me. I've stayed in 20+ properties around the wonderful city of Amsterdam and I am done looking. I always arrive early, around 7am, and there has always been a room available, which I know can be luck of the draw. The staff is also very friendly and helpful and they always greet me with a smile whether I'm checking in or returning from an excursion. The breakfast has a great selection of fresh items and there is always enough to fill you up for a good part of the day. I can honestly say this is the only hotel where I've actually enjoyed spending time in the lobby. I've had some great conversations with like minded travelers/strangers in the lobby of the Banks. The all inclusive concept is a added bonus. It's nice to be able to have a drink, beer, coffee, etc. before going out or upon returning from an excursion and not having to worry about where your wallet is. You simply grab what you want and call it good! Also, the location of the Banks can't be beat. It's an easy couple stops from Central Station on the tram. It's also located on one of the main canals which makes for great viewing. Even with the tram access you can walk to all major attractions from the hotel. I don't ever plan to use another hotel in Amsterdam.

Cheers

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for creating huge smiles on all our faces. This is what we are striving for, you choosing Banks Mansion as the only hotel to stay in Amsterdam! Thank you for all the kind words and compliments toward our hotel and staff.
How amazing that you have enjoyed all the features of our ‘home, away from home’ full service concept so much and that you enjoyed your time in our Living.

We hope to be welcoming you again during another visit to Amsterdam and Banks Mansion.

With kind & warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Overall this is a pleasant boutique hotel with a good center city location, but it does not rate the 5 stars others are giving this hotel.

We had a snug but adequate room which had good air conditioning for our summer stay. The bathroom was nicely sized. The hotel is pricey but a reasonable value for what you get, including an open bar (if you wish to take advantage of that) and a generous breakfast buffet complete with an omelet station. The older but functional lobby could perhaps use some updating, but it included a comfortable seating area with an open bar and tables with iPads for guest use. The hotel Wifi was satisfactory.

On the other hand, the walls around our upper floor room’s window angled into the room, and you had to be careful not to bang into it when walking to and from the window side of the bed. For the multiple “accidents” by the window that occurred, it was too bad our room did not have at least have a canal view. There is also no bell staff and we arrived with considerable luggage for a cruise departing from Amsterdam. The front desk staff helped lift the bags from the entrance door to the front desk. There was also one luggage cart which fortunately was available so we managed to get the bags to our room via the small elevator.

The staff is friendly, but most disappointing their numbers are severely limited and they are surprisingly expected to cover most hotel services including providing breakfast and address some maintenance and housekeeping requests. It took 4 visits to the room by one front desk staff member to fix a water faucet that was falling off its handle, and this was not addressed as requested while we were out touring since they were “too busy” to get to it during the day. We therefore had to watch them come and go in and out of our room after we returned. The front desk staffer was well-intentioned but certainly not a plumbing maintenance expert, and it seemed unfair to him as well that they don’t have more staff.

Despite some inconveniences, Banks Mansion’s pluses outweighed the minuses and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the canal avoiding the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear guests,

We would sincerely like to thank you for the comments about your stay at Banks Mansion. These keep us alert in striving to be a 5 out of 5 star hotel for all our guests. First of all, we appreciate the kind words about our staff; this is a joy for them to read.

It is nice to read that you have enjoyed the open bar in our Living area. About the Living area I can tell you that the last few months we have had a thorough update of our Living. New furbished chairs, brand new reading table with a state-of-the-art touch screen computer. Carpeting in the entrée is new and soon we will have new carpets in the entire Living. So we hope to show you our ‘new’ Living during another visit.

We are a small 4star deluxe boutique hotel, so this means that we do not have a bell boy, but instead our Guest Relations Officers are always willing to help you carry the luggage up the 3 stairs in our entrée. For carrying the luggage to the room we have a big luggage cart ready for your use.

It is unfortunate to read that you have experienced a malfunctioning water faucet. We always try to fix a problem right away, even during the hours that our maintenance employees are not in the hotel. So our apologies about not directly fixing the problem when you were outside the hotel. Of course we need to give our attention to all the guests staying with us, so we can never assure that we can fix it right at the spot, but we will always do the best we physically can.

Again thank you for the extensive review and we are happy to read that you would be coming back to Banks Mansion in the future. We hope we can show you our improvements regarding your comments during this next visit.

With sincere and kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banks Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.