We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Banks Mansion to your Saves list
Banks Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Basildon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This was my first visit to Amsterdam, and first stay at this hotel. From the time we checked in to the time we left the service was fabulous. We were greeted by a very nice gentleman (who's name I did not take) he showed us a map of Amsterdam pointing out places of interest, then explained the concept of the hotel, that all drinks throughout the hotel are free, even the mini-bar.
Our room was decorated in art-deco style, with a large comfy bed along with a pillow menu. There were all the facilities in the room you could need, lovely shower products, dvd player, iron, hairdryer and flat screen television with a choice of film channels.Breakfast was also included in the price offering an extensive range of food.
The Hotel was located on the south of the city, but within easy reach of all the main attractions.
I would definately stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear guests,

We are thrilled to read that your first experience with Amsterdam and Banks Mansion was a fantastic one. Thank you for the great compliments about the service offered to you by the staff of our hotel. These words are greatly appreciated by them!
It is also very nice to read that you enjoyed the proximity of Banks Mansion to many great places to visit in Amsterdam, as we are conveniently located in the southern part of the downtime city centre, right along one of the main canals.

We hope to be welcoming you again in the near future.

With kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,074
    275
    53
    23
    16
See reviews for
136
784
85
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed at The Banks Mansion after a Rhine Cruise. Great Location,very helpful staff, fantastic concept with the "Living", excellent breakfast. Room was very comfortable in size and accomodation, great view of the canal, minimal street noise.Would stay again on next trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for the nice review. It is great to read your lovely words about your stay at Banks Mansion. We are happy to have been of service to you and we hope to be doing this again during your next visit to Amsterdam and Banks Mansion.

With kind & warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We loved our stay at the Banks Mansion before our Rhine Cruise! (After a trying trip, it was the perfect place to unwind and explore.) With the all-inclusive concept, it is truly like being home -- going to the fridge for a beer or glass of wine. The in-room minibar; the beverages (wine/beer/etc.) and snacks in the lobby; internet access and lobby iPads, etc. -- are all no charge (and the breakfast, of course). The staff are friendly and very helpful with recommendations and ticket purchases. We will definitely go back again.

We could relax in our room, or lounge with wine in the lobby. From our window, we could watch canal boats drifting by, picking up the city's easy-going vibe. Another day we saw a moving crew hoisting furniture from the street curb up through a person's fifth-story apartment window!

This hotel is located south of the central area on a canal and major street (leading to Rijksmuseum, etc.). The Anne Frank house or Dam Square are about a 10-15 minute walk; the Kalverstraat shopping street and floating flower mart are even closer. There are various restaurants within a five-minute-or-less stroll, especially on the nearby Rembrantplein, Thorbekeplein, or other surrounding streets.

Room Tip: West-facing rooms may tend to get warm in the summer. Fortunately, the A/C works great. (If you d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear guests,

We would like to give you our sincere appreciation for the effort of writing such a great review about your stay in Amsterdam and at Banks Mansion. How amazing that you have enjoyed all the features of our ‘home, away from home’ concept so much; the complementary drink is the Living and in your room, the day round snacks and evening cheese table, the complementary use of the newest Apple iPads and of course the extensive breakfast in our Kitchen.

It is great to read that you enjoyed the view from your room, so you were able to experience some old-fashioned Amsterdam style moving. We thank you for your review and hope to see you again at Banks Mansion.

With kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed, we don`t usually return to the same hotel twice but we enjoyed it so much 18 months ago, we decided to see if it still lived up to our expectations. It did!

Perfect relaxing location on the Golden Bend Herengracht canal, staff more than helpful, absolutely nothing was a problem to them.

The hotel kitchen serves all freshly cooked eggs of every type you could image. 5 pm sees the trolley of cheese, sausage, olives bread etc rolled out just in time to have a complimentary glass of prosecco, port, wine (or two) or whatever you desire! It may seem an expensive hotel but the adult only principles and complimentary drinks, snacks and fresh breakfasts are worth every penny. The hotel itself is 1930`s in style.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the canal if possible - perfect views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear guests,

How nice to read that you have returned to Banks Mansion after your first stay has been such a great one. It is even more delightful that again you enjoyed your stay so much. Thank you for the compliments towards our staff, this is highly appreciated.

We will be looking forward to welcome you for the third time at Banks Mansion.

With kind & warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skegness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

It is a couple of years since I stayed here and having stayed in many hotels in various countries (including Holland) before and since, I can honestly say this is my favourite place to stay. It's well positioned, comfortable, has excellent facilities and great food, but by far it's most outstanding asset is it's staff. I have never been made to feel more welcome in a hotel, everyone is so friendly & approachable and absolutely nothing is too much trouble - they will always go the extra mile. Wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear enthusiastic guests,

For these lovely and beautiful words and of course for writing review number 1001, we want to reward you with a free upgrade during your next stay! Congratulations.
We always try to make our guests feel at home away from home at Banks Mansion; we are absolutely delighted to hear that we managed to make you feel at home during your last stay – your words just make us love our job even more! We are looking forward to welcome you in the near future. Please contact us at desk@banksmansion.nl, so we can make sure that you will receive a free upgrade during your next stay.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We arrived for a 1 night stay (sadly) last November and due to our morning flights, we were 6 hours early for check-in. We found the hotel easily and decided to see if they had somewhere for us to store our bags. Imagine our delight when they told us our room was ready for use AND they had upgraded us to a junior suite!!!
We were taken through by a lovely member of staff (sorry didnt take your name) after having the Home concept explained to us- more later- to a beautiful room with a HUGE bad complete with comfy pillows. We also had an enormous bath and a shower that could fit 4 people!
We went back out into the lobby to have a look at the home concept, which includes complimentary hot, cold and alcoholic drinks, some snacks and biscuits (ALL DELICIOUS!)
We went off for a wander in the city, and returned around 5pm for a break to find wine, cheese and meats in the lounge area, again all complimentary!
The hotel is quite simply fantastic, which excellent service, lovely comfotable rooms and a relaxing experience.
The only downside to my enitre visit was that the beds were SO comfortable, we missed breakfast!!!

I can only give praise to this fantastic hotel, it is well worth a visit!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear guests,

You just wrote the official review number 1000!! A milestone in the TripAdvisor history of Banks Mansion. Thank you so much for that, with all the lovely words. Our beds are notorious for their softness, but I can assure the breakfast deserves the same credits. So we have two good reasons for you for another stay at Banks Mansion: making the breakfast on time and of course your free upgrade! Please contact us at desk@banksmansion.nl, so we can make sure that you will receive a free upgrade during your next stay.

Thank you again for your lovely words. We are looking forward to welcome you in the near future!

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Montana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

REVIEW NUMBER 1 0 0 0
My stay was a few years ago and as a single woman traveling alone I found Banks Hotel an unexpected delight. Friendly, secure and helpful with my every need. Not only did I feel safe but every question was answered and insured easy travel through your marvelous city! Kudo's to Banks Mansion, their staff and Amsterdam! I can't wait for my next trip to Amsterdam, I will definitely be staying, without hesitation, at the Banks Mansion!

Room Tip: I was fortunate to be offered a room on the 2nd floor with a step out balcony which enabled me to pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

So much enthusiasm needs to be rewarded, whether it is review number 999 or number 1000. Thank you for this lovely review, filled with so much nice words! We are delighted to hear that your still remember the friendly and safe feeling you received from the staff, even after two years.
Please contact us at desk@banksmansion.nl, so we can make sure that you will receive a free upgrade during your next stay.

With warm and kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banks Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.