We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Save Saved
You added Banks Mansion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banks Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Skegness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Simply the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

It is a couple of years since I stayed here and having stayed in many hotels in various countries (including Holland) before and since, I can honestly say this is my favourite place to stay. It's well positioned, comfortable, has excellent facilities and great food, but by far it's most outstanding asset is it's staff. I have never been made to feel more welcome in a hotel, everyone is so friendly & approachable and absolutely nothing is too much trouble - they will always go the extra mile. Wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear enthusiastic guests,

For these lovely and beautiful words and of course for writing review number 1001, we want to reward you with a free upgrade during your next stay! Congratulations.
We always try to make our guests feel at home away from home at Banks Mansion; we are absolutely delighted to hear that we managed to make you feel at home during your last stay – your words just make us love our job even more! We are looking forward to welcome you in the near future. Please contact us at desk@banksmansion.nl, so we can make sure that you will receive a free upgrade during your next stay.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    998
    253
    50
    22
    16
See reviews for
127
717
80
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We arrived for a 1 night stay (sadly) last November and due to our morning flights, we were 6 hours early for check-in. We found the hotel easily and decided to see if they had somewhere for us to store our bags. Imagine our delight when they told us our room was ready for use AND they had upgraded us to a junior suite!!!
We were taken through by a lovely member of staff (sorry didnt take your name) after having the Home concept explained to us- more later- to a beautiful room with a HUGE bad complete with comfy pillows. We also had an enormous bath and a shower that could fit 4 people!
We went back out into the lobby to have a look at the home concept, which includes complimentary hot, cold and alcoholic drinks, some snacks and biscuits (ALL DELICIOUS!)
We went off for a wander in the city, and returned around 5pm for a break to find wine, cheese and meats in the lounge area, again all complimentary!
The hotel is quite simply fantastic, which excellent service, lovely comfotable rooms and a relaxing experience.
The only downside to my enitre visit was that the beds were SO comfortable, we missed breakfast!!!

I can only give praise to this fantastic hotel, it is well worth a visit!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear guests,

You just wrote the official review number 1000!! A milestone in the TripAdvisor history of Banks Mansion. Thank you so much for that, with all the lovely words. Our beds are notorious for their softness, but I can assure the breakfast deserves the same credits. So we have two good reasons for you for another stay at Banks Mansion: making the breakfast on time and of course your free upgrade! Please contact us at desk@banksmansion.nl, so we can make sure that you will receive a free upgrade during your next stay.

Thank you again for your lovely words. We are looking forward to welcome you in the near future!

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Montana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

REVIEW NUMBER 1 0 0 0
My stay was a few years ago and as a single woman traveling alone I found Banks Hotel an unexpected delight. Friendly, secure and helpful with my every need. Not only did I feel safe but every question was answered and insured easy travel through your marvelous city! Kudo's to Banks Mansion, their staff and Amsterdam! I can't wait for my next trip to Amsterdam, I will definitely be staying, without hesitation, at the Banks Mansion!

Room Tip: I was fortunate to be offered a room on the 2nd floor with a step out balcony which enabled me to pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

So much enthusiasm needs to be rewarded, whether it is review number 999 or number 1000. Thank you for this lovely review, filled with so much nice words! We are delighted to hear that your still remember the friendly and safe feeling you received from the staff, even after two years.
Please contact us at desk@banksmansion.nl, so we can make sure that you will receive a free upgrade during your next stay.

With warm and kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I booked 5 rooms for a trip with some friends. It was unanimous. It's in a great location with quick access to Rembrantsplein, the local plaza. Other spots are on every point of the compass. Booze is on the house 24/7. Breakfast was restaurant quality with made to order egg dishes. Cozy rooms with great bath facilities. Happy hour with assorted wines and cheeses. And the best part is that it was a steal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guests,

We greatly appreciate the lovely review about your stay at Banks Mansion. We are delighted to hear that you and your friends have enjoyed your stay with us! It is nice to read that you also enjoyed the proximity of the hotel to many of the great hotspots. Most museums are only a 10 minute walk away, so is the main square Dam square and the Rembrandtplein, as well as the most known shopping street of the Netherlands, the Kalverstraat.

Again, great to read that you have enjoyed your stay. We hope to be welcoming you and your friends as our guest again in the near future.


With kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool / London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed with my wife for a weekend break

The staff where great as usual and the room overlooked the canal

The breakfast was gorgeous as usual and I never ate till 4pm it was so filling

Great hotel

Great staff

Great room and great location

Don't waste your time looking at other hotels

It's not cheap but you get what you pay for

Room Tip: Get a £7.50 travel card for the trams, it's a great way to seethe dam
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear guests,

We are dazzled by your great review, thank you sincerely for taking the effort writing such great compliments about us! It is amazing to read that you have enjoyed your stay at Banks Mansion ‘as usual’. And thank you very much for your recommendation to others.

We are looking forward to your next visit!

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Great hotel in the heart of Amsterdam! The rooms are very nice and well appointed. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Excellent breakfast buffet each morning with basically anything you could want. The included drinks and snacks are a very nice touch. It seems that all of the guests congregate in the lounge late afternoon for drinks and a pre-dinner snack--it creates a nice atmosphere. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for the great and joyful review! It is great to read that you have enjoyed your stay at Banks Mansion. Thank you for the complements about the wonderful breakfast and the friendly and helpful staff. We are looking forward to your return at Banks Mansion.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

You get a relaxed and pleasant atmosphere at this centrally located hotel.
A pillow menu is offered but we were happy with the ones already selected for us. The shower also doubled as a steam room which was a lovely surprise. Spacious clean room and comfy bed made us have to drag ourselves away to undertake the cornucopia of things to do in this lovely city.
A huge choice at breakfast including smoked salmon, cold meats, cheese, fancy breads or full 'English' and fresh fruit, yogurts, juices etc etc had us full up for the day.
Our first trip to Amsterdam, and we were delighted with this hotel and the very pleasant helpful staff. We would certainly recommend to family, friends and strangers alike.

Room Tip: Ask for an L shaped larger room over looking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear guests,

How amazing only to read the heading of your review. We are delighted that you thought the staff was friendly and helpful, enjoyed the proximity to all the hotspots in Amsterdam and that you liked the room that much – that it was difficult to get out of the comfortable beds! Thank you very much for your recommendations to other travellers.

We hope we will be welcoming you back at Banks Mansion for your second trip to Amsterdam.

With warm and kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Otel and Venere so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banks Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.